Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.361874
High school totally bites when you’re half human, half vampire.

Freshman year sucks for Vlad Tod. Bullies still harass him. The photographer from the school newspaper is tailing him. And failing his studies could be deadly. A trip to Siberia gives “study abroad” a whole new meaning as Vlad connects with other vampires and advances his mind-control abilities, but will he return home with the skills to recognize a vampire slayer when he sees one? In this thrilling sequel to Eighth Grade Bites, Vlad must confront the secrets of the past and battle forces that once again threaten his life. Find out why author D. J. MacHale calls The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod “Gruesome, heartwarming, spellbinding.”

Watch a QuickTime trailer for this book.

Paperback, 278 pages
Published on January 22, 2009 by Speak
ISBN-10: 0142413429
ISBN-13: 9780142413425
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jungkookvibes
    jungkookvibesThursday, January 17, 2019 at 3:33 pm
    :O I want to read it now if it involves vampires :D I'm a 5th grader and I do NOT care if it's inappropriate.,
    • bookstory13
      bookstory13Friday, January 18, 2019 at 5:03 am55 stars
      It's not really, but it IS SUPER AWESOME!!! It interests people of all ages!!
    • raven772
      raven772Thursday, January 17, 2019 at 1:01 pm55 stars
      This book is the best in the series! Its true this book really slays!
      • bookstory13
        bookstory13Friday, January 18, 2019 at 5:02 am55 stars
        There should totally be a series of movies for the Vladimir Tod books!!!
      • bacon_bitzz
        bacon_bitzzTuesday, January 15, 2019 at 3:10 pm55 stars
        I just finished reading it, and I just gotta say on thing... Read it. It is a wonderful book! And I'm not in 9th grade yet!
        • shootingstars
          shootingstarsThursday, January 17, 2019 at 7:08 am
          LOL!
          • bookstory13
            bookstory13Wednesday, January 16, 2019 at 3:12 pm55 stars
            Yay! 👏😁 Are you going to keep reading the series?
            • bacon_bitzz
              bacon_bitzzThursday, January 17, 2019 at 5:11 pm55 stars
              Oh, Deffinetly!! They're awesome!!😃👍👍💜✌👊☝
          • ajg15
            ajg15Saturday, January 12, 2019 at 11:47 am55 stars
            Vladimir Tod is back and he is now in Ninth grade and it is gonna be an interesting year. . . Bill & Ton are still total jerks/ Bullies (Which I so don't get vlad is totally awesome.). Henry is still his best friend and he is now a "Drudge" (meaning basically Vlad can control Henry easy, read the first book) Henrys cousin Joss is coming to stay (🤔) for awhile. He and Vlad hit it of pretty good and easily become friends. Oh and can't forget about about the photographer of the school newspaper notices Vlads purple shine in his eyes and becomes a little suspicious/scared. Otis, Vlads Uncle, invites him to come to Siberia and train and connects with other vampires. And with all this happening can Vlad recognize the vampire slayer that's hunting or why he is hunting him or even find out who hired the slayer? Absolutely Amazing Book! I couldn't stop reading, I love the mix of humor and the characters are so life-like. Anyways thanks for reading - Ajg15's Reviews 🤓✍
            • bookstory13
              bookstory13Sunday, January 13, 2019 at 12:17 pm55 stars
              Great book review! I'm thrilled that you are continuing to read the series!!
              • ajg15
                ajg15Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 11:40 am55 stars
                Thank you, and I'm absolutely addicted to them! 😂
            • kitty12
              kitty12Thursday, November 10, 2016 at 11:07 am
              I am in love with this book and this series i just finished it and now i'm on the third book now.no spoilers.<3
              • mintshine
                mintshineFriday, September 20, 2013 at 1:35 pm
                not allowed to read because is inappropriate
                • ajg15
                  ajg15Saturday, January 12, 2019 at 11:28 am55 stars
                  It's really not inappropriate unless like blood or whatever is considered inappropriate (but I mean it is a vampire book So...)
                  • bacon_bitzz
                    bacon_bitzzTuesday, January 15, 2019 at 3:11 pm55 stars
                    Yeah. Makes sense...😂
                • jovi01153
                  jovi01153Friday, September 20, 2013 at 9:34 am
                  this book is awesome!!!!!
                  • hharley
                    hharleyWednesday, February 6, 2013 at 3:56 pm55 stars
                    best series ever

                    Our Apps and Plugins