Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.461156
This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. New York Times Bestselling author Liesl Shurtliff "spins words into gold [Kirby Larson, Newbery Honor winner]."

In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she’s right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse.

To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—he just might triumph in the end.

A Texas Bluebonnet finalist and winner of the ILA award for middle grade fiction, Rump is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted or Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark and Grimm. And don't miss Liesl Shurtliff's other fairy tale retellings: Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk and Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood.

"A fresh riff on the Grimm Brothers' Rumpelstiltskin, told with wit from the impish point of view of the troublemaker himself." —People

"Lighthearted and inventive, Rump amusingly expands a classic tale." —Brandon Mull, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fablehaven.
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on April 22, 2014 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 030797796X
ISBN-13: 9780307977960
104 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • watercolrwonder
    watercolrwonderWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 5:00 am55 stars
    I read this book for my 5th grade battle of the books, and have read it many times since! It is such an interesting perspective on the old fairy tale of Rumpelstiltskin. All that "Rump" knows is the first half of his name, and he will only be freed from his curse if he can find out what the other half of his name is!
    • sugarbaby13
      sugarbaby13Monday, February 11, 2019 at 2:50 pm55 stars
      Its very good and I recommended it to a lot of friends and its really funny and shares a really good life lesson.
      • paintlover13
        paintlover13Tuesday, August 21, 2018 at 6:42 pm55 stars
        In a world where names determine destinies, the orphaned Rump does not have a chance. But when Rump discovers a remarkable talent, he is entangled in a sticky web of magic. Before long, he begins on a journey both dangerous and wonderful that may just end happily ever after... Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin is a hilarious yet heartfelt tale of discovery and growing up suitable for all ages.
        • soyster
          soysterThursday, August 16, 2018 at 8:09 pm33 stars
          I found the story really intriguing. It was nice to read and I found the story sort of relaxing in its own way. It surprised me.
          • jwarne
            jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 4:56 pm55 stars
            I felt really bad for Rump. I didn't want him to get made fun of for his name anymore, and I was really sad that he lost his mom when he was so little. But, it has a happy ending! So I really enjoyed it.
            • lefty908809
              lefty908809Monday, August 6, 2018 at 4:56 pm55 stars
              I loved it. Shurtliff adds a lot more to the original rumpelstiltskin.
              • bailey2005
                bailey2005Thursday, August 2, 2018 at 9:26 am44 stars
                This was such a funny book! It's so different from other Rumpelstiltskin stories. I always think it's interesting when authors do spins on fairy tales.
                • mybooksandi
                  mybooksandiMonday, July 30, 2018 at 10:04 am55 stars
                  This is a fluffly fantasy that everyone should read. It's not like the ordinary. Sure it has magical creatures and a hero at the end, but there are twists and turns that I have never seen in a middle-grade fantasy novel before. This novel is about Rump, a boy who finds out that he can weave straw into gold. But every time he does so, he weaves himself into a curse. The entire plot just speaks to me. Fractured-fairytales have this, this thing that just attracts me to read it. Rump was this goofy character that was the, "Butt of everyone's joke." He keeps making these mistakes that his friend, Red (Little Red Riding Hood), keeps warning him about. And this Rumpelstiltskin meets Little Red Riding Hood concept going on is too much for my heart to handle. So yes, I love this book. And yes, I will read the rest of Liesl Shurtliff's fractured-fairy tale books.
                  • lumos
                    lumosSunday, July 29, 2018 at 2:15 pm33 stars
                    Um. I guess this book was okay, considering that it’s a fairy-tale fantasy kind of book. This book is about Rump, who I’m guessing is probably about 10 years old (I’m not sure if it said in the story). Rump found a magical spinning wheel, but soon discovers magic is dangerous.
                    • snicker9
                      snicker9Friday, July 27, 2018 at 7:06 pm44 starsFeatured
                      This story is about 12 year old Rump-who was only given half his name before his mother died. In his town your name is your destiny - and his name is a joke. Orphaned young Rump lives with his elderly grandmother and must work in mines to find gold like everyone else. Then Rump discovers that he has inherited his mother's ability to spin straw into gold - something that his grandmother hid from him. Rump experiments with his magic, but soon find that a price comes with it. Soon Rump is forced to go on a journey and find his name and try to fix the mistakes his magic has caused. This book is a twist on the fairy-tale Rumpelstiltskin. I found it very entertaining, and there were plot twists at every corner-even though I was familiar with the classic tale and knew the general outcome of the story. The author was very creative in how she stayed true to elements of the original, but also put her own spin on the story. I recommend this book to anyone who loves fairy-tales and even those who don't. This book is great for middle grade aged kids who love adventures and fantasy, although I believe older people will also enjoy it. Overall, I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars