Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.461156
This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. New York Times Bestselling author Liesl Shurtliff "spins words into gold [Kirby Larson, Newbery Honor winner]."

In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she’s right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse.

To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—he just might triumph in the end.

A Texas Bluebonnet finalist and winner of the ILA award for middle grade fiction, Rump is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted or Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark and Grimm. And don't miss Liesl Shurtliff's other fairy tale retellings: Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk and Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood.

"A fresh riff on the Grimm Brothers' Rumpelstiltskin, told with wit from the impish point of view of the troublemaker himself." —People

"Lighthearted and inventive, Rump amusingly expands a classic tale." —Brandon Mull, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fablehaven.
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on April 22, 2014 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 030797796X
ISBN-13: 9780307977960
79 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • applemango
    applemangoSunday, June 17, 2018 at 6:02 pm55 stars
    To me this book just seemed uninteresting, it didn't seem like a book that I liked and read often. But something way deep in my heart and in the back of my mind told me to read this book so finally I gave in to this mindless urge. This book was actually amazing full of triggering twists and plots and wisps of magic and glory!
    • eybook2018
      eybook2018Friday, June 15, 2018 at 4:11 pm
      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin is a book of Rumpelstiltskin in a funny way that older readers enjoy reading. and it is really funny to read.
      • awesomessb
        awesomessbWednesday, June 13, 2018 at 10:39 am33 stars
        Ever heard of Rumpelstiltskin? You know the guy who could turn straw into gold. Well, as the story goes, there was miller who was poor, and in order to make himself seem superior, he said that he had a beautiful daughter who he claimed can spin straw into gold. The king said to bring her tomorrow. If she cannot spin straw into gold, she would die. The next day came, and the daughter was locked in a dungeon to spin the straw. She could not do this, and knew it was impossible. However, the door opened, and said that he could do this if she wold give him something in return. She gives him a gold necklace. The man succeeds, but the daughter is asked to repeat this task again the next day. This time, she gives the man her ring in exchange for his service. The king is pleased, and once more asks for the task to be repeated. This time though, she has nothing to give. She promises the man her first born child. The miller's daughter is chosen to marry the king. Later, she has a child with the king. The man comes to take the child, but the new queen refuses. The man decides that if she can guess his name in 3 days, the child will be hard. She could not get it right, till on the 3rd day a messenger tells her that deep in the forest, he heard a man singing a song, in which he reveals his name to be Rumpelstiltskin. This indeed is his name, and the queen gets her child back. In the tale, you may think that Rumpelstiltskin is the villain. But Liesl Shurtliff convinces you that you have not heard the full story. In her adaptation, the main character's name is Rump. His mother died giving birth ti him, and he never found out his full name. Ever since then, he has only had his grandma. The other villagers tease him because of his name. A cow's rear end is a rump. It is believed that your name is your destiny. The closest he has had to a friend is a girl named Red. He mines in The Mountain everyday in search for gold. He never finds any though. The annoying pixies always bother him, because pixies love gold. One day his grandmother is about to throw out his mother's old spinning wheel, but Rump says that it is the only remnant of his mother. He eventually finds out that he can spin straw into gold, just like his mother. Others tell him that it will only cause trouble, and it does. He gets into trouble with the greedy miller and his unfair bargains. He finds out that his mother is from Yonder. He ventures into the forest to find Yonder, and any remaining relatives. Rump meets trolls on his adventures, too. Through his adventures, he learns that maybe your name doesn't determine your destiny. He also becomes braver, and gains the support of some other people too. This was an interesting take on this tale. It was very interesting. However, it was sometimes a little too slow. I like how the author still kept me glued to the book. It is a good read for grades 4-5 and up!
        • jeffdaboss
          jeffdabossSunday, June 10, 2018 at 3:29 pm55 stars
          Rump is quite a remarkable book and is loosely based on the author's struggles. It's about a boy, Rump, living in the gold-mining part of a kingdom. He doesn't know much about his family history, due to his grandmother never really telling him. He doesn't even know his whole name, only that it begins with "rump", and that makes him a target of bullying. But when his grandmother dies, he is pushed to the edge. He learns of his magical powers to spin straw into gold, and he goes on an incredible adventure. He faces many obstacles over the period of a year, but he ends up with a satisfying conclusion. This book was great and it tells the amazing story of Rumpelstiltskin, some of which was never included in the original (or boring) versions.
          • bunny_ball
            bunny_ballWednesday, June 6, 2018 at 10:58 am33 stars
            I liked that this book was about a fairytale character. I like books with different stories about fairytale characters. It was interesting to see what Rumplestiltskin was like as a boy. I would like to read the other books by this author, especially Red.
            • spykitten
              spykittenTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 5:17 pm33 stars
              This book was OK. It was about a boy named Rump who is bullied because of his name and then he finds a mysterious spinning wheel. And after that, pixies won't stop bothering him. I liked that this book was a retelling of a fairy tale but it could have been written much better than it was. Fans of the fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin might like this book.
              • hufflepuffbell
                hufflepuffbellSunday, June 3, 2018 at 8:19 am44 stars
                This book is about a boy named Rump and his best friend red to put it short he is bullies because of his name ,then later he goes on a awesome adventure ,I recommend this to anyone who likes or loves fairy tales
                • super10
                  super10Saturday, June 2, 2018 at 9:24 am55 stars
                  At first glance, I had judged the book by its cover. I had read the fairy tale this book was based on, and it was quite boring. Now that I’ve read this book, I’ve absolutely fell in love with it. The constant theme it had was really amazing, and I loved this book. In this book, a boy named Rump struggles because of his name. He is laughed at by many people, and becomes the “butt” of all jokes. Because of this, he believes that his destiny is terrible, and thinks he won’t have a good life. He then discovers a spinning wheel, and uses it to find out he can make gold. This leads him into a lot of trouble, as the miller he is enemies with uses him to his advantage. After that, he goes on a journey, and through this, he finds the true power and destiny of his real name, I loved the format, and everything this book offered really satisfied me. I would recommend it to 3rd to 6th graders, because the plot sometimes gets complicated, and the book includes deaths of people close to Rump. But all in all, I feel this book is a must-read!
                  • rrwwnn
                    rrwwnnSaturday, May 26, 2018 at 6:43 am55 stars
                    This is about a boy called Rump and his best friend Red Ridinghood. After Rump finds a wheel and stars spinning straw into gold he feels his luck has turned for the better. Red Ridinghood warned him that it is dangerous to play with magic. Rump soon finds out the more he spins the more he weaves himself into a curse. Rump has to fight a sots of monsters to lift the spell.
                    • jhx7
                      jhx7Friday, May 25, 2018 at 11:45 pm55 stars
                      This is kind of like the book, Land of Stories. IN the second book of Land of Stories, Rump saves Alex, the hier of magic from being killed by the enchantress. I think rump is good.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      extrememsb
                      extrememsb wrote:

                      Ever think if trees can talk? Me...
                      Wishtree

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I really enjoyed reading this bo...
                      Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane G...

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I always enjoy reading these boo...
                      Bad Kitty

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      This was a fun book to read. It ...
                      Two's A Crowd (Pug Pals #1)