Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5R3.931368
A heartfelt and witty debut about feeling different and finding acceptance--beyond the rules.

Twelve-year-old Catherine just wants a normal life. Which is near impossible when you have a brother with autism and a family that revolves around his disability. She's spent years trying to teach David the rules-from "a peach is not a funny-looking apple" to "keep your pants on in public"-in order to stop his embarrassing behaviors. But the summer Catherine meets Jason, a paraplegic boy, and Kristi, the next-door friend she's always wished for, it's her own shocking behavior that turns everything upside down and forces her to ask: What is normal?
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on September 1, 2008 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0439443830
ISBN-13: 9780439443838
118 Book Reviews
  • zellydia
    zellydiaTuesday, January 26, 2021 at 7:45 am55 stars
    I loved this book because I love helping special needs people, and I loved how she was helping Jason, like helping him feel like he is running and giving him words. I think it was also kind of hard for Catherine because she wants to protect her brother, David, from people that think he is weird, and then again she does not want her brother to embarrass her and she gets mad at him. Also, the reason it is called Rules is because she keeps making rules for her brother like " if someone is late it does not mean they are not coming." or "no toys in the fish tank." If you like heartwarming cute books that make you a little mad you will like this book.
    • carmen28259
      carmen28259Thursday, November 5, 2020 at 8:31 am55 stars
      when i got into the book i really liked it. i took a long time to read the whole thing though. but i belive in you!
      • AdalynnFriday, October 2, 2020 at 6:27 am
        I am so happy I got this book
        • lillyFriday, October 2, 2020 at 6:27 am
          i havent read it
          • blossomreader
            blossomreaderThursday, May 21, 2020 at 1:03 pm33 stars
            I liked this book. It's about a girl named Catherine and her little brother, David, who has autism. Her family seems to care more about David. Catherine tries to teach David the rules so he an act like a mature person and not embarrass himself and his family, but he's an annoying brat. Things have changed a little. Catherine meets Jason, a new friend. Kind of. And she meets Kristi, her new neighbor. The thing is, Catherine begins to wonder about an important question.....
            • applemango
              applemangoSaturday, May 16, 2020 at 4:09 pm55 stars
              Catherine has a brother with autism named David. Sometimes Catherine hates David because he ruins everything. He needs many rules and he goes to OT. One of his rules: Sometimes people laugh when they like you, but sometimes they laugh to hurt you. Catherine blames David because she has to bring him along every time she wants to go to a party or playdate. David is different and no everyone accepts him as he is. At David’s OT Catherine meets a boy named Jason. As she was sitting in the waiting room with her mom reading she beings to sketch Jason. At first his mom, Mrs. Morehouse misunderstands and think Catherine is making fun of Jason. However, when Catherine gives the drawing to Jason he likes it and they become friends. Meanwhile Catherine has problems of her own...
              • zzayumi
                zzayumiMonday, May 20, 2019 at 12:44 pm
                This book is really good! It is about a girl named Catherine. She wants a normal life, but she has a little brother named David. He has autism, so Catherine is always tired of him.
                • james Monday, January 14, 2019 at 6:15 pm
                  i was really intreaged about this book as reading it at a younger age and will support this book and share it to people
                  • zykelilahufuxe
                    zykelilahufuxeTuesday, November 20, 2018 at 11:19 am55 stars
                    Really good book
                    • BigWinniePoohMonday, November 19, 2018 at 4:37 pm
                      In this book, Catherine is really wanting a normal life. It shows how you should be kind to those who have mental diseases