Fourteen-year-old Ronan Boyle is the youngest and lowliest recruit to the secret Garda, an Irish police force that handles the misdeeds of numerous magical creatures. Ronan’s parents are in jail, but Ronan is convinced that they were framed by the wee people. So, despite his small size, poor eyesight, and social awkwardness, he’s determined to learn all he can in the Garda in order to prove his parents’ innocence. To show he’s got what it takes, he’ll have to confront a fiery leprechaun, a sinister harpy, and a whole world of monsters hidden in plain sight next to real-life Ireland. Fast paced, action packed, and completely hilarious, this is the start to an exciting new middle-grade series by actor and writer Thomas Lennon.

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on March 5, 2019 by Amulet Books
ISBN-10: 1419734911
ISBN-13: 9781419734915
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • romeoTuesday, March 12, 2019 at 8:10 am
    this book is so interesting becuse recruts
    • smartgirl_303
      smartgirl_303Thursday, March 7, 2019 at 4:58 pm55 stars
      This story is amazing! Mostly because I LOVE The land of stories series, so I just had to love this story too!!!
      • selina
        selinaMonday, March 4, 2019 at 1:56 pm33 stars
        Ronan Boyle is a kind young boy in need of some sort of miracle. His parents were framed for the disappearance of an ancient mystery and it's up to him to get them out of jail. He joins the secret garda, an Irish police force the misdeeds of numerous magical creatures, in hope to find some answers and get his parents out despite his small size, poor eyesight and social awkwardness. Can Ronan handle what it takes to be a detective or will he break from all that pressure being put on him?
        • jeffdaboss
          jeffdabossSaturday, March 2, 2019 at 8:22 pm44 starsFeatured
          Ronan Boyle and the Bridge of Riddles is a pretty good book. It's about Ronan Boyle, an Irish teenager who works for the police. Ireland is a magical place, full of tricky leprechauns, odd humans, deceiving clurichauns, and more mysterious creatures. Ronan is awkward and scrawny, but he is smart and determined. He gets promoted to work in the Garda Special Unit of Tir Na Nog. While training at an exclusive police station, Ronan juggles multiple issues. Ronan works to free his parents from a crime they didn't do, learn the various ways to excel as a police officer, and understand the more mystical parts of Ireland. When Ronan is requested by Captain de Valera on a mission in the dark region of Tir Na Nog, he is thrown into a wild and unexpected adventure. This book is a bit slow at first, but it picks up and keeps readers wondering about what will happen next. It is filled with jokes and real-world references that almost everyone will understand!
          • colto404
            colto404Friday, March 1, 2019 at 5:44 pm55 starsFeatured
            First off I want to say this is my favorite book and I read a lot of books. Ronan Boyle is a kid who works in the Garda (Irish police) trying to get his parents out of jail. But while working at the Garda he encounters mythical creatures, goes on many adventures, and has a lot of fun. He enters the land of Tir Na Nog (Which before he thought was a totally made up land and all of the creatures there were nice) where he meets many creatures which he thought were fake but are actually real and love to do mean tricks. Ronan Boyle and the Bridge of riddles is really an amazing book that I would definitely recommend, especially for people who enjoy reading Harry Potter, but Ronan Boyle is definitely less scary and takes you on more of an adventure!
            • hummingbird1
              hummingbird1Thursday, February 28, 2019 at 11:02 am44 starsFeatured
              When I received Ronan Boyle and the Bridge of Riddes, it looked like a super fun and exciting book. It turned out to be just that! When Ronan Boyle's parents are put into jail, he is determined to do whatever he can to prove them innocent and get them out. So when he joins the Garda- the Irish police who deal with magical creatures, he decides to use the opportunity to learn all he can about the plot that put his parents in jail. Throughout the book, he goes on many fun and hilarious adventures as he tries to fit in and find his place in the Garda. Ronan Boyle and the Bridge of Riddles is such a fun and great read. Thomas Lennon did a great job writing an entertaining story and getting you so caught up in the book and the characters. I really enjoyed reading it and is definitely recommended!
              • callie_b
                callie_bSunday, February 24, 2019 at 6:40 pm44 starsFeatured
                Ronan Boyle is a hilarious, unlikely hero in his country of Ireland. He is part of the Galway garda (the Irish word for police) and after being used to squeeze through a tiny oubliette (the French word for 'to forget,' thus a shaft where people would drop things and they would end up in there, forgotten) during a garda case (because Ronan is known for being gangly) he gets promoted to the Special Unit overnight! Suddenly his life is changed FOREVER. First off, he had always heard the legends of the mythical creature-filled town Tir Na Nog, but when he started training with the garda Special Unit, he discovered that Tir Na Nog is not a legend at all, but a real town! And yes! It WAS filled with faerie folk, leprechauns, you name it! And Ronan Boyle is the good guy amongst the crime-filled streets of Tir Na Nog, faced with new cases every day. But there is one ultimate thing Ronan wants to accomplish: clearing his parents' names. His bookish, museum curator parents were *SUPPOSEDLY* involved in a business of finding artifacts that could be considered Irish national treasures, and selling them to shady art dealers for da big bucks. But Lord Desmond Dooley accused Ronan's parents of *again, SUPPOSEDLY* stealing the "Bog Man," which was an artifact they found that ended up testing out to reveal it was over 4,000 years old, meaning it was Ireland's OLDEST KNOWN ARTIFACT. Ronan's parents were thrown into the slammer, and much to Ronan's dismay, barely seemed unhappy there, as they had BOTH joined GANGS at the jail!!!!! YES. PRISON GANGS. Yet Ronan still wants to clear their names regardless of their experience. In this laugh-out-loud funny novel, Ronan tries to find his place in the Tir Na Nog Special Unit, and all in all, the world. I thought this book was incredibly funny, the author Thomas Lennon has a great sense of humor when it comes to writing! Ronan was a very relatable character at times, and I stressed, smiled, and gasped with him along his journey throughout the book. This was a great book, and I recommend it to anyone who likes comedic, adventure, or folklore books!
                • belle252
                  belle252Wednesday, February 20, 2019 at 4:23 pm55 stars
                  Okay so just to start off i love this book its actually amazing, this is going to be straight forward but this book is truly a work of art. Learn the truth about leprechauns and Irish animals. This book immediately caught my attention and i did not want to put it down. Ronan Boyle wants revenge from Lord Doodley for falsely accusing his parents of stealing. I think a part two for this boo is needed and i assure you it is a great book and it makes me wonder is Tir Na Nog really a place.

                  Our Apps and Plugins