Chase's memory just went out the window.

Chase doesn't remember falling off the roof. He doesn't remember hitting his head. He doesn't, in fact, remember anything. He wakes up in a hospital room and suddenly has to learn his whole life all over again . . . starting with his own name.

He knows he's Chase. But who is Chase? When he gets back to school, he sees that different kids have very different reactions to his return.

Some kids treat him like a hero. Some kids are clearly afraid of him.

One girl in particular is so angry with him that she pours her frozen yogurt on his head the first chance she gets.

Pretty soon, it's not only a question of who Chase is--it's a question of who he was . . . and who he's going to be.

From the #1 bestselling author of Swindle and Slacker, Restart is the spectacular story of a kid with a messy past who has to figure out what it means to get a clean start.
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on May 30, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1338053779
ISBN-13: 9781338053777
34 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • applebutter
    applebutterFriday, June 14, 2019 at 4:08 pm44 stars
    this sounds like a really good book cant wait to read it.
    • e2006
      e2006Tuesday, May 14, 2019 at 10:51 am55 stars
      This is my favorite book ever
      • callie_b
        callie_bTuesday, May 7, 2019 at 6:58 pm44 starsFeatured
        How many people want a restart on life? A clean slate, a fresh page, a do-over? Chase Ambrose got exactly this. Chase fell off the roof of his house-- but he barely remembers doing it. He hit his head at the bottom of his fall and got amnesia, and he can't remember ANYTHING. His family, friends, and past life? Forgotten. Gone. So Chase is more than a little confused when at school, everyone keeps their distance from him, except two kids named Aaron and Bear, who were apparently his best friends in his life before amnesia. But they're very confused with the way he acts, and tell him that he's a lot different now then he used to be before his fall. Chase soon finds out he was a bully and a jerk to everyone in the life he can't remember, but he doesn't want to be one in his new restart on life. It will take a lot of work to show everyone he's changed, though. Through finding real friends in video club, exploring his unknown past, and even a court trial, Chase discovers the importance of being true to himself. This is definitely a book you won't forget (unlike Chase :D) and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a lot of laughs, a middle school setting, and an amazing story. This book kept me on the edge of my seat, and it's one of the best books I've read this year so far! I recommend this great read to ages 8+
        • aly_spoon675
          aly_spoon675Tuesday, May 7, 2019 at 6:16 pm55 stars
          What an incredible book! I absolutely loved this book and all of the characters in it! This story starts out with Chase Ambrous, he wakes up in the hospital with... amnesia (for those of you that don't know, that means he doesn't remember anything) He couldn't even recognize his own mother! As he goes back to school he figures out how awful he was to other people and then almost "restarts" his life! He turns his no-good self into someone everyone can look up too! This book also shows many how a simple change (like being kind) can go a long way! I loved reading this book and watching him transform into a better person. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone! It's an interesting and exciting book to read and you should read it ASAP!
          • my name JEFFMonday, April 22, 2019 at 10:43 am
            it is a amazing book and btw love the cliffhangers
            • JessyMonday, March 25, 2019 at 4:48 pm
              This book is so cool, this kid loses his memory and restarts but everybody hates him and doesn't know why, so cool
              • GuestThursday, November 15, 2018 at 11:18 am
                this book is amazing! A boy that used to bully ppl, now turned into someone that is nice, after falling off a roof! GORDAN KORMAN BOOKS ROCK!! you guys should read slacker or ungifted, you'll like it!
                • fortnite god Thursday, November 15, 2018 at 10:28 am
                  i like this book better than any other
                  • lindsagatasabad
                    lindsagatasabadMonday, October 29, 2018 at 2:58 pm44 stars
                    I think every bully should fall off a roof and tots ma goats change into a very splendid nice person. By the way, it’s a great book!
                    • foodreviewz
                      foodreviewzMonday, October 8, 2018 at 12:01 pm55 stars
                      This book is awesome. Restart is about a bully named Chase who fell off the roof and got amnesia. He has to relearn his life, but he changes. The book is like guacamole. It's beautiful, touching, and it teaches you to not judge. Please follow me. I'll follow you back.