JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany. With the threat of concentration camps looming, he and his family board a ship bound for the other side of the world . . .

ISABEL is a Cuban girl in 1994. With riots and unrest plaguing her country, she and her family set out on a raft, hoping to find safety in America . . .

MAHMOUD is a Syrian boy in 2015. With his homeland torn apart by violence and destruction, he and his family begin a long trek toward Europe . . .

All three kids go on harrowing journeys in search of refuge. All will face unimaginable dangers -- from drownings to bombings to betrayals. But there is always the hope of tomorrow. And although Josef, Isabel, and Mahmoud are separated by continents and decades, shocking connections will tie their stories together in the end.

This action-packed novel tackles topics both timely and timeless: courage, survival, and the quest for home.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on July 25, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545880831
ISBN-13: 9780545880831
38 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gocasihe-160798470756
    gocasihe-160798470756Tuesday, December 15, 2020 at 10:03 am55 stars
    This book was amazing! I loved how each chapter would stop on an exciting part so you were anxious to read more! I also loved how everyone's point of view and time in the story later tied together!
    • pokiloho-160798470756
      pokiloho-160798470756Tuesday, December 15, 2020 at 10:01 am44 stars
      Its about people who want to be free and able to walk without running aways from people that want to bring the back to Cube.
      • vonyfeso-160798470878
        vonyfeso-160798470878Tuesday, December 15, 2020 at 10:00 am44 stars
        It was good, but i've read better books
        • evasch1920
          evasch1920Wednesday, April 1, 2020 at 7:51 am55 stars
          I love how Alan Gratz includes everything that had happened to these kids from Nazi Germany to sharks. I think he did an amazing job!
          • purpledoggie810
            purpledoggie810Monday, March 16, 2020 at 12:22 pm44 stars
            At times you almost feel like your in the book. Alan Gratz is an amazing author and I strongly recommend this book and all his others too!
            • olive_tree18
              olive_tree18Monday, March 9, 2020 at 12:56 pm55 starsFeatured
              This book is amazing! It is about three different kids escaping their home countries to freedom. Isabel, a Cuban girl, is escaping in a small boat with her pregnant mother on board. The boat is built by family friends that were willing to lend a helping hand. Mahmoud, a Syrian boy, is escaping by foot and boat. He goes through many hard times on his long journey to Europe. Josef, a Jew, is escaping Nazi, Germany with his mother, father, and little sister Ruthie. He goes through challenges regarding his father who was captured and taken to a concentration camp where he was scarred for life. I made a connection to this book because I have read other books by Alan Gratz and with similar war-like themes. I would give this book a five-star rating because it is so enticing and makes you want to keep reading. I would recommend this book to 5th-7th graders.
              • zuhasypa-157615959178
                zuhasypa-157615959178Thursday, December 12, 2019 at 7:01 am44 stars
                If you like adventure and people who go threw hard times read this book
                • heth24
                  heth24Saturday, November 30, 2019 at 7:28 am55 stars
                  Refugee is an awesome book to read. It was a heartbreaking story but it kept driving you into the book for another page. It was a real page-turner. Everyone should read this book at least one time in there life. The book also tells some history because the story that are in the book are all real. It shows us what it would be like to live in that age.
                  • BookwormFriday, November 8, 2019 at 6:54 pm
                    Refugee is a great book. It is a mixture of suspense, sad moments, and worst of all reality! This book can help its readers learn about the past and what people have been through. It is very emotional but you will be stuck in the story word for word.
                    • Sny SnyWednesday, August 28, 2019 at 11:26 am
                      I love this book so much I think you should read it if you haven't already