JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany. With the threat of concentration camps looming, he and his family board a ship bound for the other side of the world . . .

ISABEL is a Cuban girl in 1994. With riots and unrest plaguing her country, she and her family set out on a raft, hoping to find safety in America . . .

MAHMOUD is a Syrian boy in 2015. With his homeland torn apart by violence and destruction, he and his family begin a long trek toward Europe . . .

All three kids go on harrowing journeys in search of refuge. All will face unimaginable dangers -- from drownings to bombings to betrayals. But there is always the hope of tomorrow. And although Josef, Isabel, and Mahmoud are separated by continents and decades, shocking connections will tie their stories together in the end.

This action-packed novel tackles topics both timely and timeless: courage, survival, and the quest for home.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on July 25, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545880831
ISBN-13: 9780545880831
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • KeatonRFriday, November 30, 2018 at 10:27 am
    Three kids… one mission… escape. These three kids will share an emotional journey full of surprises, sadness, joy, and triumph. They are all working for one thing, freedom. Mahmoud is trying to escape the Syrian army, rebels, and even the Taliban, all for the freedom of him and his family. Isabelle is a Cuban girl trying to escape hunger and the brutalities of the government by sailing on a boat to Florida with her family, friends, and her already nine month pregnant mother. Josef is a Jewish boy trying to escape the horrors of the Nazis along with his mother and sister. I would recommend this book to fourth through twelfth graders. If you like historical books or other books from Alan Gratz, this should be at the top of your list. I personally am a big fan of this book because it shows that you don't have to be an adult to be a hero. This book is around a sixth grade reading level.
    • tryakshara
      tryaksharaWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 2:41 pm55 stars
      I've decided to read this book as my whole class is reading it but now after I've gone thought quarter of the book I can't stop myself from reading it. It is a sad story but a great book
      • shaniqwaMonday, November 12, 2018 at 8:21 am
        i dont like reading but this book seems cool
        • AlabamaTuesday, November 6, 2018 at 1:12 pm
          This book is great
          • ShatterstarMonday, November 5, 2018 at 7:12 am
            This book is awesome. The best part is that it actually shows true sacrifice and true help. it shows that it will always help to help others
            • catsarecool
              catsarecoolWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 5:48 pm55 stars
              I loved this book but I cried because it made me sad :(. but I think that if u have not read it u need to. it is a very suspenseful book. my favorite story was Isabels story. Hers was so sad especially when Ivan died.
              • BRATUCFriday, June 22, 2018 at 6:32 am
                This book is amazing the three characters Isabel Josef moumoud .my fav is Josef.
                • baller3Thursday, May 3, 2018 at 9:26 am
                  speechless
                  • doratheexplora
                    doratheexploraThursday, May 3, 2018 at 8:48 am
                    This book is amazing so far im gonna try no to spoil anything but im at a part were people are trying to get to america and start a new life and i didnt spoil anything because its on the back of the book but I really like how it shows multiple perspectives from three different people.
                    • hermoineunicorn
                      hermoineunicornSaturday, March 31, 2018 at 4:52 pm44 stars
                      This book is amazing! I read it a little while ago. My favorite part was when the stories connected at the end.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      olliebob
                      olliebob wrote:

                      Once is a heartbreaking, beautif...
                      Once (Once Series)

                      Racer95 wrote:

                      OMG THIS IS SO AWESOME!!
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid - Double Down

                      rainawave
                      rainawave wrote:

                      When I read an amazing book, the...
                      One White Dolphin

                      Tess wrote:

                      You should read Ellies story
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      Our Apps and Plugins