JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany. With the threat of concentration camps looming, he and his family board a ship bound for the other side of the world . . .

ISABEL is a Cuban girl in 1994. With riots and unrest plaguing her country, she and her family set out on a raft, hoping to find safety in America . . .

MAHMOUD is a Syrian boy in 2015. With his homeland torn apart by violence and destruction, he and his family begin a long trek toward Europe . . .

All three kids go on harrowing journeys in search of refuge. All will face unimaginable dangers -- from drownings to bombings to betrayals. But there is always the hope of tomorrow. And although Josef, Isabel, and Mahmoud are separated by continents and decades, shocking connections will tie their stories together in the end.

This action-packed novel tackles topics both timely and timeless: courage, survival, and the quest for home.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on July 25, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545880831
ISBN-13: 9780545880831
32 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • zuhasypa-157615959178
    zuhasypa-157615959178Thursday, December 12, 2019 at 7:01 am44 stars
    If you like adventure and people who go threw hard times read this book
    • heth24
      heth24Saturday, November 30, 2019 at 7:28 am55 stars
      Refugee is an awesome book to read. It was a heartbreaking story but it kept driving you into the book for another page. It was a real page-turner. Everyone should read this book at least one time in there life. The book also tells some history because the story that are in the book are all real. It shows us what it would be like to live in that age.
      • BookwormFriday, November 8, 2019 at 6:54 pm
        Refugee is a great book. It is a mixture of suspense, sad moments, and worst of all reality! This book can help its readers learn about the past and what people have been through. It is very emotional but you will be stuck in the story word for word.
        • Sny SnyWednesday, August 28, 2019 at 11:26 am
          I love this book so much I think you should read it if you haven't already
          • sushiMonday, August 19, 2019 at 7:47 am
            I have read this book and I think it is great for those who want to learn about the history
            • alexrider
              alexriderMonday, August 19, 2019 at 7:44 am
              I recommend this book very much because its an appropriate book for 5th graders who want to learn more about what happened in the past, but I would say this book was really sad because the author went very detailed in every chapter.
              • addy-kaylynn
                addy-kaylynnSunday, July 21, 2019 at 5:31 am55 stars
                I think that this book should get 1 billion awards. I will tell you why in a little bit. First I will earn you it made me cry. Sad books are good books. Here is what happened. Their were three kids on a mission to escape. Josef, Isabel, and Mahmoud. They went on a long journey with surrounding death, people drowning, and much more. For more read this book. Just remember it pulled my heartstrings.
                • kitty!!!!Thursday, June 20, 2019 at 8:32 am
                  awsomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!
                  • omg alfieWednesday, June 19, 2019 at 10:53 am
                    love it OMG!!!!!!!!!
                    • KarenWednesday, June 19, 2019 at 10:52 am
                      This book was better than asking for managers