Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 3 - 12Z5.6101289

When Redwall was published in 1987 it catipulted author Brian Jacques to international stardom. And small wonder! This enthralling tale is jam-packed with the things we long for in a great adventure: danger, laughter, hairbreath excapes, tragedy, mystery, a touch of wonder, a truly despicable villain, and a hero we can take to heart.

That hero is Matthias, a young mouse who must rise above his fears and failures to save his friends at Redwall Abbey. The villain is Cluny the Scourage, one of the most deliciously despicable rats of all time. The unforgettable cast of supporting characters includes the stalwart badger Constance, an irrepressible hare named Basil Stag Hare, and the elderly wisemouse Brother Methuselah.

But most of all there is Matthias, seeking his true destiny in a journey that will lead through danger and despair to true wisdom.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on October 4, 2007 by Philomel Books
ISBN-10: 0399247947
ISBN-13: 9780399247941
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • HQRTuesday, August 18, 2020 at 5:07 am
    it's great!
    • armcginn
      armcginnSaturday, July 11, 2020 at 12:46 pm55 stars
      In this must-read first installment of Brian Jaques Redwall, Cluny the Scourge has come to Mossflower- home of the famed Redwall Abbey, a place where creatures dwell in harmony and peace, but when the felonious Cluny and his horde lay siege to Redwall the fate of the abbey and all of its creatures is in the hands of Matthias. The young abbeymouse must discover his true destiny to save Redwall. With the help of Bail Stag Hare, Jess Squirrel, Constance the Badger, and the wizened Brother Methuselah, Matthais sets forth on a quest to save his home. A tale of honor, bravery, chivalry, and valor, Redwall will keep you on your feet! Filled with twists there is never a dull moment! Jacques' is an artist of words, and descriptions of the Abbey feasts will make your mouth water! Truly a classic, Redwall is a great book for all ages! Jaques' characters jump from the pages with invigorating liveliness! A series that will always leave you wanting more, be sure to check out the rest of the Redwall world- with twenty-one other novels in the series, alongside two picture books, a cookbook, and many more, Redwall is sure to delight! -armcginn
      • unicornbrain
        unicornbrainWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 3:16 pm55 stars
        Redwall is a MENSA reading list book that I've been wanting to read for a while. This book is filled with adventure, suspense, and action! If you enjoy fantasy books, then this is a must read. My favorite part of Redwall would be when Jess the squirrel and Basil Stag Hare take back the tapestry of Martin the Warrior from Cluny and his harmful horde. Are you wondering who are these characters and why is the tapestry being fought over? Then you must read this book!
        • unicornbrain
          unicornbrainWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 2:19 pm55 stars
          Redwall is a MENSA reading list book that I've been wanting to read for a while. This book is filled with adventure, suspense, and action! If you enjoy fantasy books, then this is a must read. My favorite part of Redwall would be when Jess the squirrel and Basil Stag Hare take back the tapestry of Martin the Warrior from Cluny and his harmful horde. Are you wondering who are these characters and why is the tapestry being fought over? Then you must read this book!
          • htch99Monday, October 15, 2018 at 8:50 am
            I read this book cover to cover in the 5th grade, and couldn't stop reading the series. I just bought this for my 8 year old. I hope she loves it as much as I did.
            • HighestThursday, February 23, 2017 at 7:23 pm
              It is funny touching sirius sad a lot of mixed feelings I recommend this book for 4th to 7th graders
              • shelbylynna
                shelbylynnaThursday, February 23, 2017 at 6:38 pm
                I love it some much!
                • shelbylynna
                  shelbylynnaThursday, February 23, 2017 at 6:38 pm
                  I love it how the main character is a mouse and changes into a man!
                  • nausicaa
                    nausicaaWednesday, October 14, 2015 at 4:37 pm
                    I love the description in this book!! I love all the animals too.
                    • saffrared
                      saffraredSunday, May 31, 2015 at 5:45 pm55 stars
                      All the Redwall books are superb. They are suspenseful, exciting, and full of feeling, wit, satire, and glorious food. 5 stars to every single one of them. Redwall is considered the first book, since it was written first, but chronologically speaking Martin the Warrior is the first book. It comes from before the Abbey was even built, so if you haven't started the series first, things will make much more sense if you figure the list chronologically. Singularly, Redwall is a wonderful book, showing Matthias's inner journey to continue Martin's legacy and become the Warrior of Redwall.