Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 3 - 12Z5.6101289

When Redwall was published in 1987 it catipulted author Brian Jacques to international stardom. And small wonder! This enthralling tale is jam-packed with the things we long for in a great adventure: danger, laughter, hairbreath excapes, tragedy, mystery, a touch of wonder, a truly despicable villain, and a hero we can take to heart.

That hero is Matthias, a young mouse who must rise above his fears and failures to save his friends at Redwall Abbey. The villain is Cluny the Scourage, one of the most deliciously despicable rats of all time. The unforgettable cast of supporting characters includes the stalwart badger Constance, an irrepressible hare named Basil Stag Hare, and the elderly wisemouse Brother Methuselah.

But most of all there is Matthias, seeking his true destiny in a journey that will lead through danger and despair to true wisdom.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on October 4, 2007 by Philomel Books
ISBN-10: 0399247947
ISBN-13: 9780399247941
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • unicornbrain
    unicornbrainWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 3:16 pm55 stars
    Redwall is a MENSA reading list book that I've been wanting to read for a while. This book is filled with adventure, suspense, and action! If you enjoy fantasy books, then this is a must read. My favorite part of Redwall would be when Jess the squirrel and Basil Stag Hare take back the tapestry of Martin the Warrior from Cluny and his harmful horde. Are you wondering who are these characters and why is the tapestry being fought over? Then you must read this book!
    • unicornbrain
      unicornbrainWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 2:19 pm55 stars
      Redwall is a MENSA reading list book that I've been wanting to read for a while. This book is filled with adventure, suspense, and action! If you enjoy fantasy books, then this is a must read. My favorite part of Redwall would be when Jess the squirrel and Basil Stag Hare take back the tapestry of Martin the Warrior from Cluny and his harmful horde. Are you wondering who are these characters and why is the tapestry being fought over? Then you must read this book!
      • htch99Monday, October 15, 2018 at 8:50 am
        I read this book cover to cover in the 5th grade, and couldn't stop reading the series. I just bought this for my 8 year old. I hope she loves it as much as I did.
        • HighestThursday, February 23, 2017 at 7:23 pm
          It is funny touching sirius sad a lot of mixed feelings I recommend this book for 4th to 7th graders
          • shelbylynna
            shelbylynnaThursday, February 23, 2017 at 6:38 pm
            I love it some much!
            • shelbylynna
              shelbylynnaThursday, February 23, 2017 at 6:38 pm
              I love it how the main character is a mouse and changes into a man!
              • nausicaa
                nausicaaWednesday, October 14, 2015 at 4:37 pm
                I love the description in this book!! I love all the animals too.
                • saffrared
                  saffraredSunday, May 31, 2015 at 5:45 pm55 stars
                  All the Redwall books are superb. They are suspenseful, exciting, and full of feeling, wit, satire, and glorious food. 5 stars to every single one of them. Redwall is considered the first book, since it was written first, but chronologically speaking Martin the Warrior is the first book. It comes from before the Abbey was even built, so if you haven't started the series first, things will make much more sense if you figure the list chronologically. Singularly, Redwall is a wonderful book, showing Matthias's inner journey to continue Martin's legacy and become the Warrior of Redwall.
                  • edmodo-rdxrwm6akg
                    edmodo-rdxrwm6akgFriday, January 31, 2014 at 9:09 am
                    I've bought all the books in the series and look forward to reading them all. Right now i'm on Mariel of Redwall and it is also amazing . I'd reccomend this book to anyone. It can keep you up at night with its captivating stories. The way Brian Jacques creates the sounds of the moles speech and the dibbuns banter is amazing. It completely wraps you up in this universe he has created.
                    • me2cool4you
                      me2cool4youThursday, January 2, 2014 at 7:53 pm55 stars
                      This book is the greatest book I've read in a long time. Very suspenseful. I couldn't stop reading it. I was up in the wee hours of the night trying to finish this marvel of a book. Jacques describes the life of mice in an abandoned Abbey (Catholic church) and the ways of life for them, they have been in peace with all animals for a long long time. Then a notorious warlord, Cluny the Scourge a rat, come and try to take over Redwall. The battle plays out with back-stabbing, plenty of suspense, and even a little romance.