Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 6n/an/an/an/a

“Fresh and funny.” ―New York Times Book Review

Newbery Honor author Shannon Hale and New York Times bestselling illustrator LeUyen Pham join forces in this graphic memoir about how hard it is to find your real friends―and why it's worth the journey.

When best friends are not forever . . .

Shannon and Adrienne have been best friends ever since they were little. But one day, Adrienne starts hanging out with Jen, the most popular girl in class and the leader of a circle of friends called The Group. Everyone in The Group wants to be Jen's #1, and some girls would do anything to stay on top . . . even if it means bullying others.

Now every day is like a roller coaster for Shannon. Will she and Adrienne stay friends? Can she stand up for herself? And is she in The Group―or out?

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by First Second
ISBN-10: 1626724164
ISBN-13: 9781626724167
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • I has cupquakeTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:46 am
    I love this book. It shows everyone to be strong and see what friends are sometimes like. :)
    • Potato QueenTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:01 am
      I loved it, and it was not a cliche at all. NOT WHATSOEVER.
      • Potato QueenTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 8:55 am
        I loved it!!!! Shout out to galaxy cookie 123: you will have an opportunity to make up with her. I went through something where I was just cyber bullied, and we made up. That doesn’t mean you have to stay friends, but make up with her, and let her know how you feel. You go girl!!!!
        • grapefruit
          grapefruitSaturday, April 14, 2018 at 4:17 am55 starsFeatured
          Shannon has a best friend, Adrienne. She's the most popular girl at school, and yet she moves away one year because of family issues. When Adrienne returns, Shannon is glad at first but a little upset to find out Adrienne has made more friends than before. Jen is the leader, Adrienne is the princess, and Jenny is the bossy girl who teases Shannon and calls her a baby. Shannon tries her best to be brave and make friends, but nothing works. Her relationship-bothered sister Wendy isn't much help either. Shannon has to learn how to make wonders for herself and break free of the "group", coming face to face with anxiety and sadness. A truly heartfelt graphic novel perfect for anyone with friendship troubles.
          • fearlessdreamer
            fearlessdreamerTuesday, March 13, 2018 at 6:43 am55 stars
            it was such a good book i loved it
            • hjkdklopikfmf
              hjkdklopikfmfWednesday, February 21, 2018 at 3:27 pm
              i here this book is good
              • horse4usTuesday, February 20, 2018 at 6:42 pm
                its so good and i read it in one night!!!!
                • galaxycookie123
                  galaxycookie123Tuesday, February 20, 2018 at 1:31 pm55 stars
                  This book it sorta like my life right now. NO my friend DOESN'T have long flowing hair and NO ,her group does not have a bully who bullies me. I had i friend who was really kind to me and also was kinda mean. She and i we're best friends till the end. BUT. one day and my others friends house we we're having a sleepover there for her birthday. When everybody was doing zombie tag, me and my friend joined in. When i was (ABOUT) to be the winner, my friend popped up behind a chair i got sick and tired of her JUMPING OUT OF NO WHERE AND SCARE ME.. so i hitted her and punched her while screaming at her. She left the the chair crying and for the whole sleepover she ignored me. When we got back to school she made a group to ignore me and told rumors about be and told people that i am a killer and i killed my old dog Missy. SHE DIED!! SO DON'T GO TATTLING THAT I KILLED MY DOG WHEN SHE ONLY DIED BECAUSE OF OLD AGE!!! Anyway.. she was the most popular kid and now i'm still struggling to make an ACTUAL friend. So.. D: yeah..
                  • vivisawesome
                    vivisawesomeTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 3:56 pm55 stars
                    It is a book about friendship. I read it about 5 times. It is so good!!!
                    • RoseThursday, February 1, 2018 at 2:19 pm
                      If I had an account i would make this 4 stars because i love the book but i think the illustrations were good but i didn't like how they drew the teeth.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      jaden44
                      jaden44 wrote:

                      I really liked this book
                      Sisters

                      jaden44
                      jaden44 wrote:

                      This book sounds sooooo good!!!
                      Pax

                      Sid wrote:

                      Dak, Sera, and Riq go to Baghdad...
                      Infinity Ring Book 5: Cave of Wo...

                      arrow84
                      arrow84 wrote:

                      this book was awesome will and b...
                      The Mirror's Tale (Further Tales...