Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 6n/an/an/an/a

“Fresh and funny.” ―New York Times Book Review

Newbery Honor author Shannon Hale and New York Times bestselling illustrator LeUyen Pham join forces in this graphic memoir about how hard it is to find your real friends―and why it's worth the journey.

When best friends are not forever . . .

Shannon and Adrienne have been best friends ever since they were little. But one day, Adrienne starts hanging out with Jen, the most popular girl in class and the leader of a circle of friends called The Group. Everyone in The Group wants to be Jen's #1, and some girls would do anything to stay on top . . . even if it means bullying others.

Now every day is like a roller coaster for Shannon. Will she and Adrienne stay friends? Can she stand up for herself? And is she in The Group―or out?

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by First Second
ISBN-10: 1626724164
ISBN-13: 9781626724167
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • spykitten
    spykittenFriday, July 6, 2018 at 8:08 am44 stars
    Real Friends is about how it is worth the journey to find a real friend. I like how it is a comic. I thought I might as well read it because I have always liked the books by this author, and this book was great too! I would recommend this book.
    • nonstopreader
      nonstopreaderThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:39 pm55 stars
      This books contains the cold, hard, truth about some friendships and times in life. It contains plenty of "food for thought" and life lessons. This book is very good and would recommend it. If you do read it, be sure to read the last few pages about the authors P.O.V and her real life experience, etc.
      • kyiaMonday, May 7, 2018 at 12:04 pm
        tell me about it
        • kyiaMonday, May 7, 2018 at 12:04 pm
          this book is really fun
          • I has cupquakeTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:46 am
            I love this book. It shows everyone to be strong and see what friends are sometimes like. :)
            • Potato QueenTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:01 am
              I loved it, and it was not a cliche at all. NOT WHATSOEVER.
              • Potato QueenTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 8:55 am
                I loved it!!!! Shout out to galaxy cookie 123: you will have an opportunity to make up with her. I went through something where I was just cyber bullied, and we made up. That doesn’t mean you have to stay friends, but make up with her, and let her know how you feel. You go girl!!!!
                • grapefruit
                  grapefruitSaturday, April 14, 2018 at 4:17 am55 starsFeatured
                  Shannon has a best friend, Adrienne. She's the most popular girl at school, and yet she moves away one year because of family issues. When Adrienne returns, Shannon is glad at first but a little upset to find out Adrienne has made more friends than before. Jen is the leader, Adrienne is the princess, and Jenny is the bossy girl who teases Shannon and calls her a baby. Shannon tries her best to be brave and make friends, but nothing works. Her relationship-bothered sister Wendy isn't much help either. Shannon has to learn how to make wonders for herself and break free of the "group", coming face to face with anxiety and sadness. A truly heartfelt graphic novel perfect for anyone with friendship troubles.
                  • fearlessdreamer
                    fearlessdreamerTuesday, March 13, 2018 at 6:43 am55 stars
                    it was such a good book i loved it
                    • hjkdklopikfmf
                      hjkdklopikfmfWednesday, February 21, 2018 at 3:27 pm
                      i here this book is good

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      hopes
                      hopes wrote:

                      I loved this book because it was...
                      Mustaches for Maddie

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      I am reading the Land Of Stories...
                      The Curvy Tree: A Tale from the ...

                      jso6
                      jso6 wrote:

                      Zach King lives in a family that...
                      Zach King: My Magical Life

                      jso6
                      jso6 wrote:

                      Rump is a boy with half of a nam...
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...