Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 6n/an/an/an/a

“Fresh and funny.” ―New York Times Book Review

Newbery Honor author Shannon Hale and New York Times bestselling illustrator LeUyen Pham join forces in this graphic memoir about how hard it is to find your real friends―and why it's worth the journey.

When best friends are not forever . . .

Shannon and Adrienne have been best friends ever since they were little. But one day, Adrienne starts hanging out with Jen, the most popular girl in class and the leader of a circle of friends called The Group. Everyone in The Group wants to be Jen's #1, and some girls would do anything to stay on top . . . even if it means bullying others.

Now every day is like a roller coaster for Shannon. Will she and Adrienne stay friends? Can she stand up for herself? And is she in The Group―or out?

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by First Second
ISBN-10: 1626724164
ISBN-13: 9781626724167
50 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 22trans
    22transThursday, October 17, 2019 at 6:20 pm55 stars
    This book is basically about finding out who your friends want to hangout with and who they want to be as a person. That is what happened to the main character she had to find a new group of friends to hangout with. I really liked this book because it had a really good meaning and story behind it.
    • reiley628576
      reiley628576Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 2:46 pm44 stars
      This book is a really good book.It is about a girl who loses her friend first she moves away then she comes back and leaves her.The girl wants to hang out with her friend but the group she hangs out with is rude and mean.I can relate to this because one time my friend left me.She went with the popular group of girls and left me and it made me sad.I got new friend and in this story she does too.
      • hdc
        hdcTuesday, October 15, 2019 at 4:34 pm55 starsFeatured
        When best friends are not friends forever...anything to stay on top...even if it means bulling the others. Real friends is a great book about friendship and kindness to others . Shannon Hale and Leuyen Pham are amazing authors I think this book is awesome.The main characters are Jenny ,Adrienne , Jen ,and Shannon are the main characters. Adrienne met a new friend and is not wanting to be Shannon's friend because Shannon is jealous and Adrienne and her"friends" are popular so they don' t want to be friends with Shannon because she's not popular.I love this book because it tells things like friendship and how to treat others the way you want to be treated. "um...... can I be in your group" Jenny asks "um....... no" Shannon says. You would love this book because it has a great message and it's just a good book.
        • wyzoveru-156909620435
          wyzoveru-156909620435Tuesday, October 15, 2019 at 3:27 pm
          When best friends are not forever. Girls will do anything to stay at the top. . . . . . Eve if it means bullying. this book is called real friends, Shannon Hale And Leuyen Pham are the authors of real friends. Shannon, Adrienne,Jen, and Jenny are the main characters. In the story Shannon lost her best friend Adrienne Because of Jen the "popular" kid she also has a group called the "group". I love this because it has a great message to "treat people the way you want to be treated " it's funny also Shannon has a great imagination.
          • mafifito-156909620749
            mafifito-156909620749Tuesday, October 15, 2019 at 2:24 pmFeatured
            I think this book is awesome, amazing and a great book this book is called Real Friends. The author's name is Shannon Hale and the illustrator is Leuyen Pham. The main characters are Shannon, Adrienne, Jenifer and Jenny. Shannon and Adrienne have been best friends ever since they were little. But one day, Adrienne starts hanging out with Jenifer, the most poplar girl in class and the leader of a circle of friends called The Group. Everyone in the group wants to be Jenifer's #1, and some girls would do anything to stay on top ... even if it means bullying others. I like this book because it was a awesome graphic novel. The book had exciting action when Shannon played wonder twins with Adrienne.Or when Shannon typed the story with all her friends in the story. And the story has a great message was in the book the message was don't choose to be mean choose to be the nicest as you can be! Other kids would like this book if they like graphic novels or if they like books with good message. That is why other kids would like this book. Read Real Friends to find out what happens next.
            • dramaqueen851Monday, October 14, 2019 at 12:07 pm
              I love this book
              • dramaqueen851
                dramaqueen851Monday, October 14, 2019 at 12:06 pm55 stars
                Cause its comic because and it treats you how you want to be treated.
                • Roblox gurlTuesday, September 24, 2019 at 8:37 pm
                  It is a very nice book I really love this book
                  • cassie_1007
                    cassie_1007Tuesday, May 14, 2019 at 12:23 pm55 stars
                    it was great entertainment and good when u are bored
                    • xdcotton_candy
                      xdcotton_candyThursday, April 25, 2019 at 11:32 am55 stars
                      Love this book