Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 6n/an/an/an/a

“Fresh and funny.” ―New York Times Book Review

Newbery Honor author Shannon Hale and New York Times bestselling illustrator LeUyen Pham join forces in this graphic memoir about how hard it is to find your real friends―and why it's worth the journey.

When best friends are not forever . . .

Shannon and Adrienne have been best friends ever since they were little. But one day, Adrienne starts hanging out with Jen, the most popular girl in class and the leader of a circle of friends called The Group. Everyone in The Group wants to be Jen's #1, and some girls would do anything to stay on top . . . even if it means bullying others.

Now every day is like a roller coaster for Shannon. Will she and Adrienne stay friends? Can she stand up for herself? And is she in The Group―or out?

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by First Second
ISBN-10: 1626724164
ISBN-13: 9781626724167
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bessiethecowow
    bessiethecowowWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 3:49 pm55 stars
    Shannon gets in trouble with Jenny.They both want to be with Jen/Jennifer, but there is a lot of trouble after Jen and Shannon go to camp together.
    • devilsnare35
      devilsnare35Tuesday, November 13, 2018 at 5:32 pm55 stars
      I read this book TONS of times. This book is pretty interesting because I like how Shannon keeps trying really hard to be in the "Group". I also like how Jen doesn't always like to be the alpha. Being the leader of the pack is already hard enough. But the unanswered question is WHY nobody likes Shannon that much. Shannon isn't a nerd. Glasses aren't a big deal. But why? Why did the author show that the characters don't like Shannon a lot in the beginning?
      • amzing Thursday, October 11, 2018 at 2:52 pm
        it is such an amazing book I read it like a thousand times
        • Shayleeyoy123 Saturday, September 1, 2018 at 6:05 am
          Great book!!!purfect for girls.
          • spykitten
            spykittenFriday, July 6, 2018 at 8:08 am44 stars
            Real Friends is about how it is worth the journey to find a real friend. I like how it is a comic. I thought I might as well read it because I have always liked the books by this author, and this book was great too! I would recommend this book.
            • nonstopreader
              nonstopreaderThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:39 pm55 stars
              This books contains the cold, hard, truth about some friendships and times in life. It contains plenty of "food for thought" and life lessons. This book is very good and would recommend it. If you do read it, be sure to read the last few pages about the authors P.O.V and her real life experience, etc.
              • kyiaMonday, May 7, 2018 at 12:04 pm
                tell me about it
                • kyiaMonday, May 7, 2018 at 12:04 pm
                  this book is really fun
                  • I has cupquakeTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:46 am
                    I love this book. It shows everyone to be strong and see what friends are sometimes like. :)
                    • Potato QueenTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:01 am
                      I loved it, and it was not a cliche at all. NOT WHATSOEVER.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Huffypuf wrote:

                      Wow, this is an awesome book!
                      Squirm

                      Huffypuf wrote:

                      Wow, this is a super awesome book!
                      Squirm

                      Nathan wrote:

                      The book is amazing after i read...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      not that cool wrote:

                      i would not by this it will be s...
                      Weird But True Christmas: 300 Fe...

                      Our Apps and Plugins