Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 6n/an/an/an/a

“Fresh and funny.” ―New York Times Book Review

Newbery Honor author Shannon Hale and New York Times bestselling illustrator LeUyen Pham join forces in this graphic memoir about how hard it is to find your real friends―and why it's worth the journey.

When best friends are not forever . . .

Shannon and Adrienne have been best friends ever since they were little. But one day, Adrienne starts hanging out with Jen, the most popular girl in class and the leader of a circle of friends called The Group. Everyone in The Group wants to be Jen's #1, and some girls would do anything to stay on top . . . even if it means bullying others.

Now every day is like a roller coaster for Shannon. Will she and Adrienne stay friends? Can she stand up for herself? And is she in The Group―or out?

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by First Second
ISBN-10: 1626724164
ISBN-13: 9781626724167
60 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • weirdqueen101
    weirdqueen101Monday, February 10, 2020 at 7:00 am55 stars
    Soooo good! But it almost makes me cry every time I read it. It really tells her story about how she made friends even though it can be super sad, its still a great book to read especially if you're going through hard times yourself.
    • cats20090
      cats20090Thursday, December 26, 2019 at 8:30 pm55 stars
      This is a nice short book that really pulls you in emotionally, most people can probably relate to some of the situations in this book, which makes it very comforting!
      • trashpanda18
        trashpanda18Saturday, December 14, 2019 at 10:32 am55 stars
        I love this book i have read it like so many times, it relates to everybody in my opinion!
        • suicidal_psycho
          suicidal_psychoTuesday, November 5, 2019 at 12:05 pm55 stars
          This is SUCH a good book!!! It really shows some struggles with things like social anxiety, fake friends, and public situations. This relates to me and a lot of other people. PLEASE READ THIS!!!!!!
          • applebutter
            applebutterMonday, November 4, 2019 at 8:36 am55 stars
            This book speaks to anyone who has lost a group of friends or been bullied. I for one fit in that category. When you have a group a friends that you trust and that you tell secrets to and then they turn your back to you. ITS HEART RETCHING! Many people have had this happen to them. This book speaks to those people and shows you how to realize who your real friends are. I LOVE this book so much.
            • blythem
              blythemWednesday, October 30, 2019 at 8:42 pm44 stars
              I really like this book because, Shannon and I have a lot in common. 1. We both have glasses 2. We're both shy sometimes I also think this book is interesting this book, because it is a little sad that she is left out.
              • SksksksksksWednesday, October 30, 2019 at 4:37 pm
                I loved this book it was so good and i really enjoyed it cause it was a graphic novel I would recommend it to anyone anyday!
                • SomeoneTuesday, October 29, 2019 at 3:35 pm
                  I love this book its the best its funny and a real life story where you can learn about it and also they should do another part in my opinion😆 Best book ever
                  • NanaMonday, October 21, 2019 at 2:58 pm
                    Its amazing. I love it. Theirs the Next one is beat Friends it is in scholastic book fairs
                    • menameisfeefer
                      menameisfeeferMonday, October 21, 2019 at 12:10 pm55 stars
                      This is the best book I have ever read it is very exciting and there is lots of transitions.