Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 6n/an/an/an/a

“Fresh and funny.” ―New York Times Book Review

Newbery Honor author Shannon Hale and New York Times bestselling illustrator LeUyen Pham join forces in this graphic memoir about how hard it is to find your real friends―and why it's worth the journey.

When best friends are not forever . . .

Shannon and Adrienne have been best friends ever since they were little. But one day, Adrienne starts hanging out with Jen, the most popular girl in class and the leader of a circle of friends called The Group. Everyone in The Group wants to be Jen's #1, and some girls would do anything to stay on top . . . even if it means bullying others.

Now every day is like a roller coaster for Shannon. Will she and Adrienne stay friends? Can she stand up for herself? And is she in The Group―or out?

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by First Second
ISBN-10: 1626724164
ISBN-13: 9781626724167
70 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pizzagirl7
    pizzagirl7Sunday, July 19, 2020 at 1:13 pm55 stars
    Shannon has always had a hard time fitting in or making friends. Her two younger siblings are close in age and so are the two older siblings so Shannon felt left out. Shannon loved hugging her mom and staying with her all the time . But now she has to start school.She was worried until she met Adrienne. They hung out all of the time . *a while later* now she has to move out. What will happen? You'll have to read the book to find out!I loved this book I recommend to all ages. 5/5 stars.Thank you for reading my review!-Pizzagirl7💋
    • diamond897
      diamond897Thursday, July 16, 2020 at 5:48 pm55 stars
      This was a very good book about fake friends and how sometimes people pretend to be your friend and they really are not. The book was very interesting and I really enjoyed reading it.
      • roxanne3
        roxanne3Thursday, July 2, 2020 at 6:24 pm33 stars
        This book is so great!!I have read it at least 20 times. I would recommend it for ages 8-12, but I think it would be a sweet story for any age :)
        • girlpower4ever
          girlpower4everThursday, July 2, 2020 at 10:29 am55 stars
          Shannon can't remember when Adrienne hasn't been her best friend. They've stuck together since kindergarten! But when Adrienne begins to hang out with Jen, the most popular girl in the grade, Shannon is waging two battles with very risky outcomes. To stay friends with Adrienne, she must join Jen's friend group, but she also doesn't want to lose Adrienne as a best friend. Plus, everyone's always competing to be Jen's BFF. Is it okay for Adrienne to take that spot, or can Shannon snatch it and not undermine her and Adrienne's relationship? The line between real friends and pretend friends blurs as the girl bully, fight, and wage battle to get Jen's attention, Adrienne and Shannon's friendship becomes rocky, and Shannon is stuck in the middle of a full-on girl war. A fresh and very real book about knowing who your true friends are, Shannon Hale's narrative nonfiction graphic novel will have you laughing and crying all at the same time.
          • sylvie55555
            sylvie55555Wednesday, June 10, 2020 at 7:48 pm55 stars
            This is a book by the author Shannon Hale. This book is really good, but it is also very sad. Shannon and Adrienne have always been best friends. But when Adrienne moves away, Shannon knows she needs to make new friends. Shannon makes friends, but they don't stick; after all Adrienne has moved back! But as the girls get older, the rules of friendship get harder. Now Shannon has to deal with trying to be popular. Plus, Shannon never knows if she's in the cool "group". This is a great book, but also sad. It really teaches you a lot about friendship, and it makes you thankful for your real friends!
            • lolatheute
              lolatheuteSunday, June 7, 2020 at 2:06 pm
              This book is about a young girl named Shannon. She has trouble with friends and fitting in and friends groups just make it worse. I totally recommend this book and I also recommend Best Friends.
              • willow123goma
                willow123gomaSaturday, June 6, 2020 at 6:07 pm44 stars
                This is about Shannon, a girl trying to find true, kind friends in 6th grade. This book was really eye-opening, and told me I didn't need to be popular to be special.
                • hedgeguin2
                  hedgeguin2Friday, June 5, 2020 at 7:36 pm44 stars
                  Told based off a true story, Real Friends is empowering and a great book for people who suffer from anxiety and their social life. It follows a girl named Shannon, who is trying to navigate her way through fifth grade, with anxiety that she doesn’t know about her. There’s this group that is exclusive and for the kids that Jen, the leader, likes. But not everyone is gonna be kind to stay on top for her. I would recommend this book, based on what I’ve read. :)
                  • willthebest
                    willthebestMonday, June 1, 2020 at 9:34 am55 stars
                    This talks about a real life of Shannon Hale without friends.This was kind of sad since a kid had no friends.It talks about bullies and friends.All of this is true so this could happen to anybody in the world.Just try not to make it happen.
                    • SAY CHEESE!Tuesday, May 5, 2020 at 10:25 am
                      I like this book, it's good, and I think it should get four stars. I like that Shannon can stand up for herself. This one was cute. I liked the sequel, Best Friends, but I found it a little strange because of all the pressure put on her. Anyway, this is a good read