“Fresh and funny.” ―New York Times Book Review

Newbery Honor author Shannon Hale and New York Times bestselling illustrator LeUyen Pham join forces in this graphic memoir about how hard it is to find your real friends―and why it's worth the journey.

When best friends are not forever . . .

Shannon and Adrienne have been best friends ever since they were little. But one day, Adrienne starts hanging out with Jen, the most popular girl in class and the leader of a circle of friends called The Group. Everyone in The Group wants to be Jen's #1, and some girls would do anything to stay on top . . . even if it means bullying others.

Now every day is like a roller coaster for Shannon. Will she and Adrienne stay friends? Can she stand up for herself? And is she in The Group―or out?

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by First Second
ISBN-10: 1626724164
ISBN-13: 9781626724167
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • swatcop
    swatcopSaturday, January 13, 2018 at 6:25 pm55 stars
    This book was so good. I also encourage you all to read according to aggie which was also a really good book that I read.
    • ororo_monroe811
      ororo_monroe811Thursday, December 28, 2017 at 9:56 am55 stars
      This is a hilarious touching story that shows that friends can change but so can you so you must be careful about who you trust!
      • specialist
        specialistWednesday, December 27, 2017 at 11:06 am44 stars
        This is a pretty good book, all about the ties of friendship, bit I think its overly emphasizing on that. They should have a main goal or topic besides friendship, b/c that's already and overused topic/cliche.
        • starfish112
          starfish112Tuesday, December 26, 2017 at 2:07 pm55 stars
          so sad don't ever lose your friends be really nice
          • tori3ghoul
            tori3ghoulFriday, November 24, 2017 at 5:36 pm
            A colorful story about Shannon Hale's childhood life. Real Friends tells the story of how Shannon Hale overcame her shyness and met a new friend. The two girls have imaginative adventures and meet more friends along the way. This new outlook on friendship and cliques was very entertaining and fun.
            • awesomecat12
              awesomecat12Sunday, October 29, 2017 at 2:21 pm44 stars
              i really want to read this
              • girlpower4ever
                girlpower4everWednesday, October 25, 2017 at 2:30 pm55 stars
                I recommend this for someone who's still in school and has friendship complications!! Real Friends is about a girl named Shannon and she has a best friend named Adrienne. But sine Adrienne's more popular than Shannon, Adrienne hangs out with the coolest people in school, otherwise known as "The Group". The leader of "The Group", Jen, has a BFF, Jenny. Jenny is jealous of Shannon and bullies Shannon into tears each day. These confused friendships force Shannon into a spot of unpopularity. But Shannon doesn't know if she can stand a day with "The Group" anymore. Finding her real friends who appreciate her real talents means the most to Shannon.
                • Giver Friday, October 20, 2017 at 10:55 am
                  Also it was so sweet I cried at the part when her and her sister finally got along with each other 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭
                  • Giver Friday, October 20, 2017 at 10:51 am
                    It is an amazing 😉 book so I will suggest that some of you read it. 😀😍😍😍😍
                    • happy_pineapple
                      happy_pineappleThursday, October 5, 2017 at 12:06 pm55 stars
                      This book was soooooo good! I thought it would be so corny, but it was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is one of my all time favorite graphic novels. You should totally read it.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      iikitty
                      iikitty wrote:

                      For me, it IS the best series! G...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      iikitty
                      iikitty wrote:

                      Oh my God, Snape's memories alwa...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      iikitty
                      iikitty wrote:

                      Cady cat, that is exactly what h...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...