A New York Times Bestseller!

Rose Howard is obsessed with homonyms. She's thrilled that her own name is a homonym, and she purposely gave her dog Rain a name with two homonyms (Reign, Rein), which, according to Rose's rules of homonyms, is very special. Not everyone understands Rose's obsessions, her rules, and the other things that make her different – not her teachers, not other kids, and not her single father.

When a storm hits their rural town, rivers overflow, the roads are flooded, and Rain goes missing. Rose's father shouldn't have let Rain out. Now Rose has to find her dog, even if it means leaving her routines and safe places to search.

Hearts will break and spirits will soar for this powerful story, brilliantly told from Rose's point of view.

Paperback, 240 pages
Expected to be published on January 2, 2018 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 1250073979
ISBN-13: 9781250073976
49 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • bebopbasil
    bebopbasilSunday, March 19, 2017 at 2:38 pm
    very sad but I still liked it
    • basilSunday, March 19, 2017 at 2:00 pm
      such a sad book but I LOVED it
      • CuteBunnies Saturday, February 4, 2017 at 8:38 am
        Rose likes homonyms. A homonym is a word that has another word that is spelled differently but pronounced the same. I have never heard of anyone else (real or fictional) who likes homonyms. This makes Rose one of the most unique fictional characters on the planet.
        • curlyheadyoyo
          curlyheadyoyoFriday, December 16, 2016 at 7:10 am
          I believe that all books should not be judged by there cover. When i picked up this book i thought that i wouldn't like it just by looking at the cover. I grabbed it instead, read the whole book and it was a REALLY good book...I do recommend this book and i think you should't ''judge a book by its cover.''
          • clawzcake138
            clawzcake138Monday, November 7, 2016 at 6:32 pm55 stars
            i love this book it is above and beyond good. It talks about rose rain and her father and uncle Weldon. They are find Rain and lose Rain every be found?
            • lrohne2005
              lrohne2005Saturday, October 22, 2016 at 2:29 pm
              This is such a heart warming and touching book. Rain is Roses best friend, and then Rain gets lost in a hurricane. Imagine of you lost your dog, and didn't know if you'd ever see him/her again! Poor Rose has to make a choice that no one should ever have to take. Like I said before, this is an amazing book that you have to read.
              • jenny12345678
                jenny12345678Wednesday, October 5, 2016 at 6:51 pm
                This book is Amazing! It is also pretty sad too, though.
                • iifreeze
                  iifreezeWednesday, October 5, 2016 at 5:58 pm44 stars
                  This is a very good book. It inspires you and makes you really think about yourself. Rose and Rain are a perfect duo, until Rain gets lost in a storm... Will Rain ever get back? How? When? Read this book. It's a very fun book with some funny and some inappropriate (PG-13?) parts. I would recommend this book to ages 10+.
                  • lalbr
                    lalbrMonday, September 26, 2016 at 8:08 am
                    this is a very good book my librarian read it to my class at Saint Margaret of York
                    • bry04
                      bry04Friday, September 9, 2016 at 6:05 am
                      This book is awesome, all of my friends say this book is awesome especially @alyssady she said she cried I'm only in the middle. But the story is so touching

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Nikki. She ha...
                      Dork Diaries 10: Tales from a No...

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Raina. She kn...
                      Smile

                      Unicorn wrote:

                      Love the storyline but wish it w...
                      Sticks & Stones (Upside-Down Mag...

                      r.w wrote:

                      great book.so awesome
                      Tomorrow, When the War Began (Th...