Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on February 14, 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375969020
ISBN-13: 9780375869020
3859 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • magicalmythical
    magicalmythicalMonday, August 3, 2020 at 3:14 pm55 stars
    This book is so wonderfully and so much DRAMA!!!!!!!!!!!!~ I love the story and the story tells us that be who you are, and don't be afraid of who you truly are.
    • the-odd1sout
      the-odd1soutFriday, July 31, 2020 at 7:52 am55 stars
      ***SPOILER ALERT*** I chose Wonder by Raquel Jarimillo, because It is a really good book. It’s about a kid named Auggie. with a face deformity. I think it is really cool because it is written from different perspectives. You can understand what is going on from his friend’s and family’s view, so you know how they feel throughout the book. Auggie goes through high points, low points, and in between points of his life Between the looks people give him, school, and friends. Just like everybody, and we get through it just like he does. Nothing can compare to what he has to go through every day. I Liked it because of the way the author wrote it, you can see how his friends and family feel about Auggie's journey. These are the major differences that August went through when he went to school and made friends. August started off insecure and scared. He wanted to drop out of school because he heard his best friend was saying he was only hanging out with Auggie because the principal told him to and not because he wanted to. Jack will did not know Auggie was right there because he was wearing a bleeding scream costume. Auggie did not have many friends but as the book goes on he gets more friends and becomes less insecure. He started hanging out with different people. He also gets a lot friendlier because everybody started being nicer to him. He and Jackwill become friends again then everyone starts to realize Auggie is really nice and funny. Everything starts to turn out okay at the end. It is just like the book I read, Emily Windsnap. She did not know she was part mermaid because she had not met her dad before, but at the end Emily, her dad, and her mom all meet up and live on a boat that’s part underwater. This is how Auggie changes as a character in the book Wonder.
      • taffywaffy
        taffywaffyFriday, July 31, 2020 at 12:42 am55 stars
        This book tells us to be yourself and whoever you are,you cannot change it,because you are you and believe me:Love yourself before you love someone else~taffywaffy
        • the-odd1sout
          the-odd1soutWednesday, July 29, 2020 at 7:19 am55 stars
          "Why fit in, if you were born to stand out." An inspiring book that I will remember for the rest of my life. One of the best books that I have ever read! You should really see the movie too.
          • powergirl2
            powergirl2Friday, July 24, 2020 at 2:40 am55 stars
            I love this book so much that I could see the movie . It amazing It makes me care of my self and other people
            • powergirl2
              powergirl2Friday, July 24, 2020 at 2:05 am55 stars
              Wow the story it amazing it makes us to love ourselves
              • marebear
                marebearWednesday, July 22, 2020 at 4:13 pm55 stars
                so far the book is really good and i cant wait to finish it i recommend it to every one who uses dogo books because the author did a good job
                • finnick_odair
                  finnick_odairSunday, July 19, 2020 at 8:29 pm55 stars
                  It is really fun, heart-warming, and makes me happy!
                  • bobbobbob
                    bobbobbobFriday, July 17, 2020 at 1:17 pm44 stars
                    It is a pretty good book but not as good as Rick Riordans(in my opinion).
                    • tigerwolf957
                      tigerwolf957Monday, July 13, 2020 at 9:17 am55 stars
                      Amazing book you should definitely read it it is so sad but great at the same time I love this book sooooo much!!! Read it!!

                      Summer Reading 2020 ends in:

                      April 29 - August 18, 2020
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2020 Stats

                      Books being read:5342
                      Books reviewed:2430
                      Schools participating:123

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7
                      girlpower4ever
                      girlpower4ever
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      skywatcher2140
                      skywatcher2140
                      warriorsgirl11
                      warriorsgirl11
                      belle252
                      belle252
                      sylvie55555
                      sylvie55555
                      willow123goma
                      willow123goma
                      blossomreader
                      blossomreader
                      raindrop07
                      raindrop07