Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.397881
Featured on Entertainment Weekly's MUST-LIST!

The highly anticipated second book in Marie Lu's New York Times bestseller, LEGEND—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!


June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on January 29, 2013 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0399256768
ISBN-13: 9780399256769
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • damnijemimah
    damnijemimahThursday, April 4, 2019 at 3:25 am
    It is the next book after Legend do i want to read it to see Moe of what Helena to June and Day.
    • sight
      sightFriday, June 2, 2017 at 8:02 am55 stars
      read this book. it's so good. its about a place called the republic and they are mostly evil, but a girl called june works there, not knowing the truths of it. but when her brother gets killed she sets of to find a "villain" named day getting into a particular events.
      • ruehawthorn
        ruehawthornTuesday, August 23, 2016 at 5:52 pm55 stars
        Can June and Day ever maintain a relationship? This book met all my expectations. With the patriots, June,Day, and Anden all somehow on the same side, and the Colonies on the other, Who will win? Who will survive? What will common life be like? Will Day and June stay "together"?
        • GeorgeTuesday, March 8, 2016 at 4:19 pmFeatured
          Prodigy is a fast paced, action packed and suspenseful sequel to the first book in its series, Legend. This book takes place in a strict dystopian society, making it science fiction. Marie Lu(The author)creates this book with an interesting plot with a lot of twists to it. I would definitely recommend this book to kids 12 and above. So what makes this book so good? Read on to find out. Prodigy maintains a fast pace and compelling example of life in a strict dystopian society, as in Legend, while continuing to portray a believable love story between the Republic of America’s most wanted and their star military trainee. Yet not once does this romance get in the way of a fascinating story. It’s not always clear how June and Day truly feel towards each other, torn between trusting what they grew up believing and what surrounds them now. Day questions whether June really is a dependable person despite coming from a privileged background of great wealth, while Day grew up on the streets, and June questions where her devotion lay, in protecting the Elector Primo or demolishing the system? It would be easy to write a story in which both characters transform into two people with converging beliefs, but Marie Lu shows us that our background is not so easy to escape from. It’s anything but an easy ride for these two dedicated teenagers. Marie Lu takes us through an unpredictable series of events that show that a repressive society is not always black and white, that those who at first seem evil, or honorable and good, may surprise you. I first read Legend two months ago and I was worried that I would no longer be able to follow the storyline, but flashbacks are seamlessly added, meaning that I was able to jump right back in without any trouble. Prodigy is similar to many other dystopian books. For example in the Hunger Games, there is also a romance story and the society killing innocent people. But in Prodigy there are so many more plot twists and interesting changes to how you thought the book was going to be. Prodigy in my opinion stands out from other dystopian books out there. Marie Lu has many other books including the next book in this series, Champion, and other dystopian novels such as The Young Elites. Before she started working on books, she was a video game designer for disney. I think Marie Lu is a great writer and this series so far has been great. I have another book review on Legend, the first book in the series. So if you are a teenager, or around that age that likes dystopian/Sci-fi books, you’ll love this bestselling book, Prodigy.
          • angelay
            angelayTuesday, November 3, 2015 at 5:11 pm55 starsFeatured
            This series is seriously brilliant, I can see why it's a bestseller. This sequel didn't disappoint me and is a very good follow up to Legend. The main characters captured me the most, because I really like June, the girl who sacrificed everything for what she believes in. The title of this book refers to June, who is a prodigy of her nation who betrays her country to avenge her brother. June relies on logic and is very smart and determined, a contrast to Day, who is more emotional and passionate. I like how the author makes her characters so different from one another. June has dark brown hair and black eyes with a hint of gold in them while Day has white blond hair and bright blue eyes - they are opposites. The best part of the book is the romance, but I also love how the author packs action on top of the romance part.
            • isiahg
              isiahgSunday, September 6, 2015 at 9:33 pm
              I do not know where to begin! This book was a perfect sequel to Legend. I had a great feeling this book was going to be fantastic and that's what it had delivered! Amazing sequel to Legend.
              • readingboss
                readingbossTuesday, May 5, 2015 at 2:01 pm
                This is an amazing book by Marie Lu.Day and June have just ecscaped the capital and now are on the run as fugitives.The team up with the rebillious Patriots to stop the new Elector Primo.Will Day and June kill the Elector Primo or will they go against the Patriots.Find out in this amazing sequel to Legend.
                • newtmas
                  newtmasWednesday, February 25, 2015 at 6:14 pm
                  I am currently reading Prodigy written by Marie Lu. I absolutely LOVED Legend which is the first book in this trilogy. Since I loved the first one so much I wanted to immediately continue on with the rest of the series. Marie Lu is an amazing author and has not ever disappointed me. I tend to not like books with lots of love. Marie Lu's Legend trilogy does indeed have that, but it is not overpowering. With all of the suspense, mystery, and action this book has, it couldn't be better. Such a brilliant idea with parts in the book that touch the heart. Great job Marie Lu.
                  • happyapples_14
                    happyapples_14Tuesday, December 9, 2014 at 12:18 pm
                    to many good books i have been trying to get this one for weeks at my library but everyone seems to get it before me
                    • buru_kishi
                      buru_kishiThursday, November 13, 2014 at 11:46 am
                      Great story AMAZING JUNE AND DAY ARE boss all hail the republic. I SWEAR ITS A GOOD BOOK TO READ IF YOU ARE BORED