Platypus Police Squad: The Frog Who Croaked

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.930902

Platypus Police Squad: The Frog Who Croaked is the first in a series of zany, action-packed middle-grade mysteries featuring platypus police detectives Rick Zengo and Corey O’Malley.

When a call comes in about a crime down at the docks involving a missing schoolteacher and a duffle bag full of illegal fish, Zengo and O’Malley are going to have to learn to set their differences aside if they want to get to the bottom of this. Especially when the clues all point to Frank Pandini Jr., Kallamazoo’s first son and its most powerful, well-respected businessman.

Fans of Adam Rex, Jon Scieszka, and Jarrett J. Krosoczka’s own Lunch Lady graphic novels will flip for Jarrett’s new series of illustrated middle-grade novels.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on May 7, 2013 by Walden Pond Press
ISBN-10: 0062071645
ISBN-13: 9780062071644
26 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hockeyfan4
    hockeyfan4Saturday, July 9, 2016 at 1:13 pm55 stars
    I love it!
    • ldadey
      ldadeyMonday, May 11, 2015 at 5:41 pm55 stars
      it is book about platypus being in a police squad it is funny because the first one is called the frog that croaked and frogs croaked
      • AwesomenessMonday, December 22, 2014 at 10:40 am
        Such a good book.If you want a mystery book pick this one.It did win a Texas bluebonnet award 2 times.
        • SwaggyPanda04Wednesday, December 17, 2014 at 8:29 am
          I think this book was amazing, if your looking for a book this is what you should choose.
          • leap57
            leap57Sunday, November 9, 2014 at 8:01 am55 stars
            I thought that the book was really good, but I don't know old you are, and I'm 10.
            • asma234
              asma234Monday, September 29, 2014 at 5:27 pm22 stars
              This book wasn't nessarily for my age,but because I love reading I read it anyways.It wasn't the best book in the world,but it was pretty cool for ages younger then me.I love all books that have to do with sluething or something like spy's.I recommend this book if anyone decides to read it...It was ok.
              • iriving
                irivingThursday, August 28, 2014 at 10:49 pm
                i like that the author made the platypus police squad .this book is veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerry boring.
                • sweetheart352
                  sweetheart352Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 7:20 am11 star
                  I read this book and I did not like it. It was kind of hard to understand, and it was boring. I would not recommend this book.
                  • breezylezie123
                    breezylezie123Sunday, August 24, 2014 at 11:29 am44 stars
                    Platypus Police Squad is sort of a book for kids between 7 and 9. It's definitely not for people 10 and older. I read it last year and it was childish. It's basically an easy mystery thriller.
                    • happyface221
                      happyface221Saturday, August 23, 2014 at 1:22 pm
                      I really enjoyed this book. I love the platypus idea and i love that the authors idea to make it platypus's and not anything else. I love the thing with many different animals and a city. The ending was really awesome and i could tell that from begin the bad guy was Pandini. It was sooo good i couldn't stop reading it. I love the part when they were chasing joey and they made a big scene though it was the wrong guy, or was it. Great book really enjoyed it.