Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 1032 pages
Published on September 16, 2008 by Hyperion Book CH
ISBN-10: 1423113497
ISBN-13: 9781423113492
1293 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • dunkelosteus587
    dunkelosteus587Friday, January 11, 2019 at 10:03 am55 stars
    i have watched the movie and it is magic so awesome
    • pandoraTuesday, January 8, 2019 at 11:09 am
      i'm in love with the books and you my be suprised since i'm in 4th grade but this book is amazing
      • LolSaturday, January 5, 2019 at 12:14 pm
        This book has great parts in it and really make you want to not stop reading it,it also has some parts that just make you burst into laughter,I really like this book and I literally read the book in one day which is really cool but the book just drags you into the story and I think the author did a really good job in making a story out of Greek mythology in a great way!
        • gabriana77
          gabriana77Wednesday, December 19, 2018 at 8:50 pm
          I only saw the movies, but want the book, badly!
          • shootingstars
            shootingstarsTuesday, December 18, 2018 at 11:54 am55 stars
            WARNING THIS BOOK REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS This is a page turning boom that will keep you up ALL night. It’s about a boy who is son of Poseidon. In the beggining, the boy, Percy, has a completely normal life until he finds out he is a half blood. A half blood is a daughter or son that was born with a god and a normal human. I know I’m not writing a lot about the book but I don’t want to spoil the book too much. The interest level and reading level would be 4-8 grade. You will love this series! I completely recommend this book. -SS
            • maidenkr
              maidenkrFriday, November 30, 2018 at 10:24 am
              Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief Written By: Rick Riordan Publish Date: June 2005 Book Review by: Keeleigh Maiden; Ms.Hills 5th grade Percy Jackson is different. He doesn’t have many friends except Grover, a Satyr. Later in the book Percy Jackson finds out he is a half-blood or demigod. He has to go to camp half blood. But when his old Latin teacher, Mr. Brunner turns out to be a centaur named Chiron who also works at camp things get more crazy. When he first gets there he is stuck in hermes cabin where the “unclaimed” kids go. When playing capture the flag he gets claimed, by his father, Poseidon. When he meets his new friend Annabeth daughter of Athena things get bad. Someone has stolen Zeus’s lightning bolt. Percy Jackson was blamed. Who really did it? Read “Percy Jackson the Lightning Thief” to find out. I really liked this book because it was full of action and adventure. The reading level is grades 3-8 but the interest level is 5-8. I think that people who are interested in Greek mythology and action would really enjoy this book.
              • Keeleigh MaidenFriday, November 30, 2018 at 10:22 am
                Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief Written By: Rick Riordan Publish Date: June 2005 Book Review by: Keeleigh Maiden; Ms.Hills 5th grade Percy Jackson is different. He doesn’t have many friends except Grover, a Satyr. Later in the book Percy Jackson finds out he is a half-blood or demigod. He has to go to camp half blood. But when his old Latin teacher, Mr. Brunner turns out to be a centaur named Chiron who also works at camp things get more crazy. When he first gets there he is stuck in hermes cabin where the “unclaimed” kids go. When playing capture the flag he gets claimed, by his father, Poseidon. When he meets his new friend Annabeth daughter of Athena things get bad. Someone has stolen Zeus’s lightning bolt. Percy Jackson was blamed. Who really did it? Read “Percy Jackson the Lightning Thief” to find out. I really liked this book because it was full of action and adventure. The reading level is grades 3-8 but the interest level is 5-8. I think that people who are interested in Greek mythology and action would really enjoy this book.
                • percyj
                  percyjThursday, November 29, 2018 at 8:51 pm55 stars
                  This is the start to the best book series I've EVER read.😛
                  • iRobot QueenTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 1:16 pm
                    This book is good for people who like Greek gods and goddesses, mythology, and ancient culture. If you like this series you might want to read the 39 Clues series as well. Happy reading!
                    • gulazyhecuryga
                      gulazyhecurygaWednesday, November 21, 2018 at 3:49 pm
                      Amazing book

                      Our Apps and Plugins