The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 1032 pages
Published on September 16, 2008 by Hyperion Book CH
ISBN-10: 1423113497
ISBN-13: 9781423113492
1464 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • linkofthepast
    linkofthepastWednesday, January 13, 2021 at 12:14 pm55 stars
    This book is cool and I recommend it.
    • poseidoncabin
      poseidoncabinSaturday, January 9, 2021 at 8:18 am55 stars
      as you can tell by my username, I am a HUGE Percy Jackson fan. as soon as I picked up this book I couldn’t put it down. i love all the mythology and fantasy . it’s an action packed book with friendship and courage. definitely recommend to those who love fantasy and especially greek mythology.
      • unipug2
        unipug2Saturday, December 12, 2020 at 6:15 pm55 stars
        Awesome! I need to find the other books. What do you guys think of Percy Jackson? I read the whole book in one night and love it so much I read it thrice.
        • daniellee
          danielleeWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:15 pm55 stars
          I absolutly loved this book!
          • blackpink525
            blackpink525Monday, November 23, 2020 at 4:47 pm55 stars
            I also have the Olympian series + Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
            • jkbear
              jkbearTuesday, November 17, 2020 at 2:04 pm55 stars
              I have the whole series at home
              • kgbradshaw
                kgbradshawFriday, November 13, 2020 at 1:44 pm55 stars
                Yes, yes, yes! I absolutely love this book and the fandom. I had trouble reading it the first few times I picked it up, but I recently gave it another try and loved it. I read the other series that are also connected to Percy Jackson, and loved those as well. I would recommend this book to anybody that enjoys mythoogy or fantasy.
                • kgbradshaw
                  kgbradshawFriday, November 13, 2020 at 1:38 pm55 stars
                  Yes, yes, yes! I loved this book! I tried to read it multiple times before and couldn't really get into it, but after I gave it about a year I got into the series and the fandom again. There are multiple series that are connected to Percy Jackson, I recommend you read those after finishing this series. Percy has such a funny narration and inner monologue, and the way he describes are much more relatable than other books that have the first person narration. The plot is surprisingly believable, and I can't put into words how much I LOVE this book and series.
                  • jb9
                    jb9Thursday, October 22, 2020 at 3:19 am55 stars
                    I loved this book so much and it is just a great book I can not even talk about it without getting jummpy!
                    • chromatic1
                      chromatic1Monday, October 19, 2020 at 9:38 am55 stars
                      awesome series.