Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 12Z5.150773

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird."Booklist, Starred

"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again

This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The King’s Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.

Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering—not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend’s paper route for the month of July, he’s not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it’s the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man’s life.

A Newbery Honor Award Winner
An ALA-ALSC Notable Children’s Book
An IRA Children’s and Young Adults’ Choice
An IRA Teachers’ Choice
A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year
A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book
A BookPage Best Children’s Book
An ABC New Voices Pick
A Junior Library Guild Selection

An ALA-ALSC Notable Children’s Recording
An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook
A Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection


“[Vawter’s] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be ‘somebody instead of just a kid who couldn’t talk right.’” —The Washington Post

Paperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story.” —Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America

*“[A] tense, memorable story.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred

“An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer.” —School Library Journal

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on May 14, 2013 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0385742444
ISBN-13: 9780385742443
6 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • harrypotter87
    harrypotter87Sunday, February 26, 2017 at 1:08 pm55 stars
    i loved this book
    • sandyc
      sandycMonday, November 30, 2015 at 12:45 am55 starsFeatured
      The story focuses on "Little Man", which is the paperboy. He throws the meanest fast ball in Memphis during 1959. Unfortunately, he had problems speaking. Words come out of his mouth with sounds like s-s-s-s, or tu-tu-tu. He was bullied by his classmates, and type down his stories using an old type writer of his dad, and shared his own feelings with the audience. He took over his friend's job, and hoped that he can get better at speaking because he was required to speak to adults during the newspapers are handed out. One part that I was really heart broken is that the pain of not being able to do what others do, for example, when your friends all get to play at an amusement park, while your mom forbidden you to. That's what Little Man feels. Just it's much deeper, much painful that just not going to the amusement park. Little Man had try all techniques pushing him to speak, and this is painful for a reader to read. I don't really appreciate how people beside him treated him, sometimes they are just too cruel, and will harm Little Man from deep down inside. If I was Little Man's friend or neighbor, I will be willing to help him learn to talk, or even help him with communicating with others.
      • grifpolett
        grifpolettMonday, September 7, 2015 at 11:13 am
        This book was about a boy with a speech impediment who is trying to find his place in the world. This captivating novel covers how the main character is a paperboy for one summer and how much the experience changes him. This book is written in great detail and will make you want to read more and more. I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a full and deep story.
        • gaffney
          Mrs. GaffneyWednesday, February 4, 2015 at 7:12 pm
          Recommended by Donalyn Miller. Seems like a historical fiction book. I want to read this.
          • trmoore
            Mrs. MooreSunday, September 22, 2013 at 3:52 am
            Possible 2014 Newbery Award
            • peeps
              peepsWednesday, December 24, 2014 at 6:47 am
              It is that good?