Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.356872
Possessing a photographic memory in spite of an inability to walk or speak, Melody is mistaken as mentally challenged by those who cannot see beyond her cerebral palsy, impelling her to discover a way to communicate.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416971718
ISBN-13: 9781416971719
391 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • hermoineunicorn
    hermoineunicornThursday, June 7, 2018 at 11:21 am55 stars
    This is such an inspiring book. I hope there will be more books just like this. It teaches me to always be grateful for who I am.
    • bookworm 15Thursday, June 7, 2018 at 9:58 am
      I am very interested in this book
      • soccerrunner
        soccerrunnerWednesday, May 30, 2018 at 7:53 am55 stars
        I love Melody! She is such a inspiering charactor! She made this book so so so meaningful! I love it.
        • cschubert
          cschubertSunday, May 27, 2018 at 7:38 am55 stars
          this book is very inspiring. Think of how easy your life is. Then think of not being able to do those things. Melody has cerebral Pasay a rare desies. The author came to our school and I really connected with her and the book.
          • bookstory13
            bookstory13Wednesday, May 9, 2018 at 1:33 pm55 starsFeatured
            I just recently read this book. I really liked it because it taught me to look at things differently. Example from the book: when someone eats their spaghetti messily, don't stare or judge them. Maybe they just can't help it. Well, welcome to Melody Brooks' world. Melody has cerebral palsy, a condition that makes her unable to move a lot of limbs or talk. She has to move around in a wheelchair. Stuck in a kindergarten class every day with kids like her, she has to listen as she learns the ABC's. Every. Single. Day. It drives her crazy. The teacher is basing the intelligence of the kids on their looks. I learned a lot from this book. It was really touching how Melody just kept at it, after being bullied, left behind, and laughed at, Melody chased her dreams and finally achieved them. I will give this book five stars because it deserves it.
            • addiemm10
              addiemm10Tuesday, May 8, 2018 at 8:10 pm
              This book was the best book i have ever read. really dramatic and funny i loved it i hope this helps
              • database
                databaseTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 4:06 pm55 starsFeatured
                In this book, venture through the eyes of a girl with severe disabilities (cerebral palsy) and an extremely intelligent mind. I LOVED this book. Has to be one of the best books I've read in my lifetime. Looking into the life of a girl with a bright, wandering mind take on her disability is astonishing. and truly inspiring. It goes to show it doesn't matter the amount of ability one has in life, it's how you WORK for it. You could be the smartest person in the entire universe and still grow up to be a failure because you never worked for anything. Regardless of her disability, Melody still strives to do good in life. A tear-jerking Draper novel that will you leave you speechless.
                • database
                  databaseWednesday, May 9, 2018 at 2:59 pm55 stars
                  My third editor's pick in a span of 72 hours! Thank you, DOGO!
                • blue 10Friday, May 4, 2018 at 11:48 am
                  I can't wait to read it! looks so exciting!
                  • brown Friday, May 4, 2018 at 11:40 am
                    this is a one amazing book i rate all 5 stars great book
                    • XYV08Thursday, May 3, 2018 at 7:30 am
                      it a verey good book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      tybook2018
                      tybook2018 wrote:

                      Book Scavenger (The Book Scaveng...
                      Book Scavenger (The Book Scaveng...

                      jaden07
                      jaden07 wrote:

                      i agree with you. you are right,...
                      From the Kane Chronicles Brookly...

                      unicornbrain

                      This book is great! I like merma...
                      Third Grade Mermaid

                      aracha
                      aracha wrote:

                      I love Harry Potter! First I tho...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...