Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.356872
Possessing a photographic memory in spite of an inability to walk or speak, Melody is mistaken as mentally challenged by those who cannot see beyond her cerebral palsy, impelling her to discover a way to communicate.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416971718
ISBN-13: 9781416971719
463 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Soto 22Sunday, June 28, 2020 at 8:55 pm
    There is a girl who is disabled. A very sad story.
    • ravenclaw12321
      ravenclaw12321Wednesday, June 24, 2020 at 9:54 am44 stars
      Melody is a challenged girl, she is unable to walk, talk, and eat by herself. Her whole life changes when she heard that she was going to get a Meditalker, which is a device that , if you press buttons, it will talk for you. She got one and started participating in classmore often. She also finds out that she is going to be a big sister. She, one day get to participate in the Whiz Kids tournament. She gets picked in the top 4 contestants and wins the first and second round! She gets to go to Washington D.C and participate in the final tournament. She arrives at the airport and realizes that everyone left without her to D.C. She is devastated , but is happy when her team lost badly!
      • willow123goma
        willow123gomaThursday, May 28, 2020 at 9:51 am55 stars
        I hated that people left her behind, or assumed she could no think right, or discriminated her at all for the fact that she was different. I hope that I and anybody that reads this book will be empowered to help those who are discriminated by who they are.
        • spidermanps4god
          spidermanps4godThursday, May 28, 2020 at 3:39 pm55 stars
          I know, right?! We read this for my class in the beginning of the year, and everyone just screamed in frustration at that part. We were... energetic while reading. At least four times, we were yelling at the top of our lungs for some reason.
        • queen_strong
          queen_strongThursday, May 21, 2020 at 9:32 am55 stars
          This is my favorite book. It details the life of a person with a disability or illness. Melody wants people to know what she's thinking. some people treat her as if she is completely dumb and has no sense in life.But she does, she is actually extremely smart.She has a photographic memory so she remembers almost everything! Melody has a disorder in her body so she can't talk,walk, or do much of anything by herself. Most of her school life has been spent at home or in the special room for kids who can't care for themselves. Then they made an announcement saying they cold take a couple low key classes with the "normal kids". Melody was getting bullied a lot and the sad part is since she can't walk or talk then she can't stand up for herself. The book was sad in parts but fully described the life for a kid like her. She is so smart that she made it on the trivisa team for her school!!! But then there was a dilemma and she got left behind once. If you are looking for a warming heartfelt book then read this book, It is definitely a five star!
          • goldenstar8Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 2:12 pm
            it's a good book for kids for older kids and more it entertained me for a while i've red it twice!
            • baseball14
              baseball14Monday, May 18, 2020 at 10:38 am55 stars
              definitely a great book for everyone and a great story. very heart warming and one of my favorite books.
              • bsc
                bscMonday, May 18, 2020 at 10:15 am55 stars
                Good book.
                • galaxy_fox12
                  galaxy_fox12Monday, May 18, 2020 at 10:13 am44 stars
                  My cousin read that book and he told me to read it some day
                  • tictacreeper
                    tictacreeperSaturday, May 16, 2020 at 8:53 pm55 stars
                    Great book for anyone. Would recommend .
                    • queen_strong
                      queen_strongSaturday, May 9, 2020 at 9:18 am55 stars
                      This is my favorite book! The book made me feel sooooo happy.Even I can not relate to Melody, with all the details in this book make me feel her and I just love that!