Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.356872
Possessing a photographic memory in spite of an inability to walk or speak, Melody is mistaken as mentally challenged by those who cannot see beyond her cerebral palsy, impelling her to discover a way to communicate.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416971718
ISBN-13: 9781416971719
406 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • spacey030
    spacey030Tuesday, November 27, 2018 at 8:19 am55 stars
    I read this book for a book club and was not disappointing with what it delivered. This book packs a powerful message that we all should know "Don't judge a book by its cover" this book is a amazing story and it shines some light on people with disabilities. Would Recommend -Spacey
    • cataddict
      cataddictSunday, November 25, 2018 at 7:26 pm44 stars
      So far, Out of my Mind is a fascinating book! I love the amazing literature, and how powerful this book is all together! I cannot wait to read the ending, then I can do a full review! Until then!
      • hufflepuffhomie
        hufflepuffhomieTuesday, November 20, 2018 at 6:15 am55 stars
        I’ve loved this book since the second I read it. It is so emotional and powerful, I would definitely recommend this book!
        • BTS j-kookMonday, November 19, 2018 at 6:15 pm
          I lové how she made her perspective of a girl with special needs
          • maddooxMonday, November 19, 2018 at 1:46 pm
            you can not stop reading it
            • maddooxMonday, November 19, 2018 at 1:46 pm
              you can not stop reading it
              • janelledogMonday, November 19, 2018 at 8:41 am
                i have read that book
                • dolphinsummer
                  dolphinsummerThursday, November 8, 2018 at 5:40 pm55 stars
                  This is truly a life-changing story. It really grabs how people with disabilities are treated bad and get bullied just because they can't do regular things like walk, talks eat, drinks on their own but truly they are the same on the inside. They all have feelings and I they understand if they get bullied. This is shown in this book. I recommend this book if you like some books that have sadness in them.
                  • hiyaworld14
                    hiyaworld14Sunday, October 28, 2018 at 6:40 pm55 stars
                    This book is awesome! It puts into perspective how hard it is to have some sort of disorder or disability (from autism to a broken leg). It's super emotional and I'd definitely recommend it.
                    • Hannah Sunday, October 14, 2018 at 1:44 pm
                      I recommend this book because it has a good meaning behind it. You will not be able to put this book down. It will leave you at the edge of your seat. I am so happy I read it and it became one of my favorites. I would pick up this book if you have the chance. Out of my mind is a very emotional too.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Mariah Inzunza wrote:

                      12 years a slave a memoir by Sol...
                      12 Years A Slave, Non fiction, T...

                      percyj
                      percyj wrote:

                      Looks so awesome! I'm asking my ...
                      The Meltdown (Diary of a Wimpy K...

                      galaxyme wrote:

                      One of my favorite books. I coul...
                      The Other Side of Dark

                      galaxyme wrote:

                      I think '' Drama" is a really en...
                      Drama

                      Our Apps and Plugins