Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.356872
Possessing a photographic memory in spite of an inability to walk or speak, Melody is mistaken as mentally challenged by those who cannot see beyond her cerebral palsy, impelling her to discover a way to communicate.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416971718
ISBN-13: 9781416971719
435 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • L.KMonday, June 3, 2019 at 11:54 am
    This book was another book I read... maybe more than once... to be accurate twice. You should read this book.
    • violetren
      violetrenFriday, May 31, 2019 at 3:25 am55 stars
      It is literally one of the best books I ever read before. I don't usually read books twice, but if I do then that book is great.
      • lilbug747
        lilbug747Sunday, May 26, 2019 at 6:21 pm55 stars
        Sharon Draper really gave us a different point of view for the better! Melody has a condition where she can’t speak or move very well, however she has a photographic memory so she can remember anything she sees. She is often mistaken for her condition, but one day she gets a device that can talk for her all she does is type! This opened an opportunity for her to join the spelling team... Unfortunately it dramatically goes downhill from there. If you haven’t read this book please do!!! I love it and will continue to!
        • watercolrwonder
          watercolrwonderTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 5:44 am55 stars
          This is seriously one of my favorite books of all time. It is the saddest, sweetest, and almost feels like it's real. I have to have read it many times. I highly recommend it to anyone who's a fan of realistic fiction!
          • inmemoryofcpr
            inmemoryofcprMonday, May 20, 2019 at 6:26 pm44 stars
            I think the ending was too rushed and the news could have reported about what happened or Melody could have said something to Rose. But overall, the book was pretty good.
            • zzayumi
              zzayumiMonday, May 20, 2019 at 1:11 pm55 stars
              This book is about a girl named melody who can't really speak. Other people do not understand what she is trying to say or do, but she is actually a very smart girl.
              • aly_spoon675
                aly_spoon675Wednesday, May 8, 2019 at 2:17 pm55 starsFeatured
                Everyday most of us wake up, brush our teeth, get on the bus to school. For many, this is their life. But what if you couldn't move anything except your thumbs, and what if on top of that you couldn't speak. Life would start to get pretty rough. Well, this is the reality of Melody Brooks, an 11 year old genius that suffers from cerebral palsy. Melody's life is pretty rough, between her not being able to communicate, to having people avoiding her due to her disability. But, soon change comes, she's enrolled in a school and she gets her own communication machine, she can now take tests! It's certainly a surprise to her classmates when she gets a perfect score on the practice test for the Whiz Kids academic team. She soon joins the team, and this gives her life. She feels happy and able to express herself in this group and she can finally speak for herself! Out of My Mind is an inspiring story, as it encourages readers to find their voice, and speak it! As well as being an amazing book it has an incredible perspective on kids who have a disability. I absolutely loved this book and I'm sure you will too!
                • chlooe
                  chlooeMonday, May 20, 2019 at 2:30 pm
                  Good job!
                • lolepop
                  lolepopFriday, May 3, 2019 at 8:12 pm55 stars
                  So Good! It is about a girl named Melody who has cerebal palsy, and even though she cannot talk, she has a photographic memory.
                  • OoooTuesday, April 9, 2019 at 1:10 pm
                    When I was doing this book activity in class my friend told the class about the book Out of My Mind. And that week their was a book fair at our school and I saw the book and bought it. I love this book and I totally recommend this book to everyone who wants a good book full of soul
                    • pumpkin40107
                      pumpkin40107Wednesday, March 20, 2019 at 2:44 pm55 stars
                      I read this book and I love it and it made me feel sad about melody’s sister.