Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.356872
Possessing a photographic memory in spite of an inability to walk or speak, Melody is mistaken as mentally challenged by those who cannot see beyond her cerebral palsy, impelling her to discover a way to communicate.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416971718
ISBN-13: 9781416971719
393 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • lpro24
    lpro24Monday, August 6, 2018 at 2:09 pm55 stars
    This book is the best. It sends such a great message to the readers. If you start reading this book you are going to be hooked from being to end. Trust me this is a book you want to read
    • violet0323
      violet0323Saturday, June 23, 2018 at 2:48 pm55 stars
      The book was so emotional. It seemed like I was living in the shoes of Melody, the main character. It tells the story of a disabled girl. You can see all the discrimination that happens towards her. I loved the books. It was one of the best book ever.
      • hermoineunicorn
        hermoineunicornThursday, June 7, 2018 at 11:21 am55 stars
        This is such an inspiring book. I hope there will be more books just like this. It teaches me to always be grateful for who I am.
        • bookworm 15Thursday, June 7, 2018 at 9:58 am
          I am very interested in this book
          • soccerrunner
            soccerrunnerWednesday, May 30, 2018 at 7:53 am55 stars
            I love Melody! She is such a inspiering charactor! She made this book so so so meaningful! I love it.
            • cschubert
              cschubertSunday, May 27, 2018 at 7:38 am55 stars
              this book is very inspiring. Think of how easy your life is. Then think of not being able to do those things. Melody has cerebral Pasay a rare desies. The author came to our school and I really connected with her and the book.
              • bookstory13
                bookstory13Wednesday, May 9, 2018 at 1:33 pm55 starsFeatured
                I just recently read this book. I really liked it because it taught me to look at things differently. Example from the book: when someone eats their spaghetti messily, don't stare or judge them. Maybe they just can't help it. Well, welcome to Melody Brooks' world. Melody has cerebral palsy, a condition that makes her unable to move a lot of limbs or talk. She has to move around in a wheelchair. Stuck in a kindergarten class every day with kids like her, she has to listen as she learns the ABC's. Every. Single. Day. It drives her crazy. The teacher is basing the intelligence of the kids on their looks. I learned a lot from this book. It was really touching how Melody just kept at it, after being bullied, left behind, and laughed at, Melody chased her dreams and finally achieved them. I will give this book five stars because it deserves it.
                • addiemm10
                  addiemm10Tuesday, May 8, 2018 at 8:10 pm
                  This book was the best book i have ever read. really dramatic and funny i loved it i hope this helps
                  • database
                    databaseTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 4:06 pm55 starsFeatured
                    In this book, venture through the eyes of a girl with severe disabilities (cerebral palsy) and an extremely intelligent mind. I LOVED this book. Has to be one of the best books I've read in my lifetime. Looking into the life of a girl with a bright, wandering mind take on her disability is astonishing. and truly inspiring. It goes to show it doesn't matter the amount of ability one has in life, it's how you WORK for it. You could be the smartest person in the entire universe and still grow up to be a failure because you never worked for anything. Regardless of her disability, Melody still strives to do good in life. A tear-jerking Draper novel that will you leave you speechless.
                    • database
                      databaseWednesday, May 9, 2018 at 2:59 pm55 stars
                      My third editor's pick in a span of 72 hours! Thank you, DOGO!
                    • blue 10Friday, May 4, 2018 at 11:48 am
                      I can't wait to read it! looks so exciting!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      imactuallyn6

                      This is making me crazy waiting ...
                      The School for Good and Evil #4:...

                      Ly wrote:

                      I THINK IT IS COOL
                      Potion Problems (Just Add Magic)

                      Grace wrote:

                      I’m 14 and the spirit animals is...
                      The Dragon's Eye (Spirit Animals...

                      iifreeze
                      iifreeze wrote:

                      OMG YES I FINALLY FOUND THE PAGE...
                      Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Lib...

                      Our Apps and Plugins