Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.356872
Possessing a photographic memory in spite of an inability to walk or speak, Melody is mistaken as mentally challenged by those who cannot see beyond her cerebral palsy, impelling her to discover a way to communicate.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416971718
ISBN-13: 9781416971719
442 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • reader_red
    reader_redSaturday, August 17, 2019 at 6:12 pm44 stars
    Melody is an eleven-year-old girl with cerebral palsy. She is forced to learn the same things over and over again because nobody can see past her differences and see that she is actually really smart. One day, when her special classes join with the normal classes, Melody meets Rose.
    • hedgeguin2
      hedgeguin2Monday, July 29, 2019 at 7:46 am55 stars
      This book is awesome! It’s about Melody, a eleven year old girl, who has celebral palsy. She can’t talk, walk, or really do anything that regular people can do. It is in Melody’s perspective where everything is hard for her. When she starts school, she meets people like herself, but she still feels like she is different. Melody is very smart, but she can’t tell anybody what she’s thinking. So when she goes to an initiative class, where they are having a competition that could let Melody speak up in her own way and show who she truly is. But is everyone ready to take on who she is?
      • trashpanda18
        trashpanda18Thursday, July 25, 2019 at 9:34 am55 stars
        i have read this book like 3 times!!!!! It is so good!!!!! it made me cry a lot but it was still so good!!!
        • applemango
          applemangoFriday, June 28, 2019 at 10:09 pm
          Melody is a girl that can't move or talk and she uses a wheelchair to get around. Her parents do everything to help her and her next door neighbor Ms.V taught her how to crawl and roll. Melody may not be able to move but she has incredible potential, she is actually very smart! With a help of a machine she can now take tests and passes the trivia with a perfect score! She gets qualified and moves on levels and levels with her friends until the final day in Washington when her friends betray her and leave her behind and they go to Washington D,C without her. Melody is very sad. Melody also has another person in her family, baby Penny and the day after that when Melody wants to go to school, Penny is accidentally under the car, and Melody is unable to get her mother of what she means because she can't talk. Penny is injured but is safe and has survived. Her classmates apologize to her, for their hurtfulness.
          • Scarlett SheridanTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 5:46 am
            Out of my mind tells the story of Melody, the girl with no voice. Melody has so many things to say, but sadly she can’t say any of them. She has made me so great full for my voice, can you imagine having the best idea, but you just can’t say it. That is how Melody feels everyday. Melody is so smart but no one knows it, and understands it. All but one, Mrs. V. Mrs. V is a colourful woman, with hands the size of basketballs. She understands Melody, and treats her like any normal child. This helps Melody so very much. Mrs. V compared Melody to Stevan Hawking. They both can’t talk or walk. Out of my mind made me cry on some occasions! Like when Melody and her mum are hugging, Melody longs to say I love you, but she never will. I’m only a quarter of the way threw this book, but I love it so much so far. I’ll give it 10/10, for sure! By Scarlett Sheridan
            • GaiaSunday, June 16, 2019 at 11:13 pm
              I like this book
              • GaiaSaturday, June 15, 2019 at 10:08 pm
                I like this book
                • L.KMonday, June 3, 2019 at 11:54 am
                  This book was another book I read... maybe more than once... to be accurate twice. You should read this book.
                  • violetren
                    violetrenFriday, May 31, 2019 at 3:25 am55 stars
                    It is literally one of the best books I ever read before. I don't usually read books twice, but if I do then that book is great.
                    • lilbug747
                      lilbug747Sunday, May 26, 2019 at 6:21 pm55 stars
                      Sharon Draper really gave us a different point of view for the better! Melody has a condition where she can’t speak or move very well, however she has a photographic memory so she can remember anything she sees. She is often mistaken for her condition, but one day she gets a device that can talk for her all she does is type! This opened an opportunity for her to join the spelling team... Unfortunately it dramatically goes downhill from there. If you haven’t read this book please do!!! I love it and will continue to!