Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.356872
Possessing a photographic memory in spite of an inability to walk or speak, Melody is mistaken as mentally challenged by those who cannot see beyond her cerebral palsy, impelling her to discover a way to communicate.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416971718
ISBN-13: 9781416971719
428 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • OoooTuesday, April 9, 2019 at 1:10 pm
    When I was doing this book activity in class my friend told the class about the book Out of My Mind. And that week their was a book fair at our school and I saw the book and bought it. I love this book and I totally recommend this book to everyone who wants a good book full of soul
    • pumpkin40107
      pumpkin40107Wednesday, March 20, 2019 at 2:44 pm55 stars
      I read this book and I love it and it made me feel sad about melody’s sister.
      • BentonTuesday, March 19, 2019 at 5:15 am
        Awesome book I'm only on Page one hundred three and I love it!
        • stellaluna
          stellalunaSunday, February 24, 2019 at 7:00 pm55 stars
          I am finishing this read right now, tears will come, and smiles will too. Melody struggles with stuff in her everyday life, but is also a great example of motivation. She travels through obstacles most of us do not fall into. This is a book that you must read, and get all of the same pleasure out of it.
          • LOLTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 4:14 pm
            Omg, I cried when I read this.
            • wackyismyname
              wackyismynameTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 3:44 pm
              it is an amazing book!!!!! also it is about a girl named melody now melody is very smart and is part of a class that makes fun of her to find more information about this book read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • Dogs&Cats<3Tuesday, February 12, 2019 at 9:11 am
                The book Out of my Mind is amazing and I really enjoyed it. My favorite thing about this book was how Melody had lots of obstacles in her life but she overcame them with the help of friends and family. If you haven’t read this book already then you should because you will love it!
                • meyqnaTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 9:10 am
                  I would rate this book 5/5 because Melody is a very nice person and learning about her and how she did it with cerebral palsy and how smart she is. Melody always fought through things and maybe sometimes looked not in the best of things. I would recommend to everyone. I would also recommend to people who doubt themselves to know that Melody is an inspiration.
                  • Amazing bookThursday, January 31, 2019 at 5:13 pm
                    This book was a heartwarming story and I cannot imagine what it would be like if I could not move.plus all the drama will make you stay on the edge of your seat!!!!
                    • AshFriday, January 18, 2019 at 10:24 pm
                      So cool!!!