Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.356872
Possessing a photographic memory in spite of an inability to walk or speak, Melody is mistaken as mentally challenged by those who cannot see beyond her cerebral palsy, impelling her to discover a way to communicate.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on March 9, 2010 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 141697170X
ISBN-13: 9781416971702
438 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Scarlett SheridanTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 5:46 am
    Out of my mind tells the story of Melody, the girl with no voice. Melody has so many things to say, but sadly she can’t say any of them. She has made me so great full for my voice, can you imagine having the best idea, but you just can’t say it. That is how Melody feels everyday. Melody is so smart but no one knows it, and understands it. All but one, Mrs. V. Mrs. V is a colourful woman, with hands the size of basketballs. She understands Melody, and treats her like any normal child. This helps Melody so very much. Mrs. V compared Melody to Stevan Hawking. They both can’t talk or walk. Out of my mind made me cry on some occasions! Like when Melody and her mum are hugging, Melody longs to say I love you, but she never will. I’m only a quarter of the way threw this book, but I love it so much so far. I’ll give it 10/10, for sure! By Scarlett Sheridan
    • GaiaSunday, June 16, 2019 at 11:13 pm
      I like this book
      • GaiaSaturday, June 15, 2019 at 10:08 pm
        I like this book
        • L.KMonday, June 3, 2019 at 11:54 am
          This book was another book I read... maybe more than once... to be accurate twice. You should read this book.
          • violetren
            violetrenFriday, May 31, 2019 at 3:25 am55 stars
            It is literally one of the best books I ever read before. I don't usually read books twice, but if I do then that book is great.
            • lilbug747
              lilbug747Sunday, May 26, 2019 at 6:21 pm55 stars
              Sharon Draper really gave us a different point of view for the better! Melody has a condition where she can’t speak or move very well, however she has a photographic memory so she can remember anything she sees. She is often mistaken for her condition, but one day she gets a device that can talk for her all she does is type! This opened an opportunity for her to join the spelling team... Unfortunately it dramatically goes downhill from there. If you haven’t read this book please do!!! I love it and will continue to!
              • watercolrwonder
                watercolrwonderTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 5:44 am55 stars
                This is seriously one of my favorite books of all time. It is the saddest, sweetest, and almost feels like it's real. I have to have read it many times. I highly recommend it to anyone who's a fan of realistic fiction!
                • inmemoryofcpr
                  inmemoryofcprMonday, May 20, 2019 at 6:26 pm44 stars
                  I think the ending was too rushed and the news could have reported about what happened or Melody could have said something to Rose. But overall, the book was pretty good.
                  • zzayumi
                    zzayumiMonday, May 20, 2019 at 1:11 pm55 stars
                    This book is about a girl named melody who can't really speak. Other people do not understand what she is trying to say or do, but she is actually a very smart girl.
                    • aly_spoon675
                      aly_spoon675Wednesday, May 8, 2019 at 2:17 pm55 starsFeatured
                      Everyday most of us wake up, brush our teeth, get on the bus to school. For many, this is their life. But what if you couldn't move anything except your thumbs, and what if on top of that you couldn't speak. Life would start to get pretty rough. Well, this is the reality of Melody Brooks, an 11 year old genius that suffers from cerebral palsy. Melody's life is pretty rough, between her not being able to communicate, to having people avoiding her due to her disability. But, soon change comes, she's enrolled in a school and she gets her own communication machine, she can now take tests! It's certainly a surprise to her classmates when she gets a perfect score on the practice test for the Whiz Kids academic team. She soon joins the team, and this gives her life. She feels happy and able to express herself in this group and she can finally speak for herself! Out of My Mind is an inspiring story, as it encourages readers to find their voice, and speak it! As well as being an amazing book it has an incredible perspective on kids who have a disability. I absolutely loved this book and I'm sure you will too!
                      • chlooe
                        chlooeMonday, May 20, 2019 at 2:30 pm
                        Good job!