Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.356872
Possessing a photographic memory in spite of an inability to walk or speak, Melody is mistaken as mentally challenged by those who cannot see beyond her cerebral palsy, impelling her to discover a way to communicate.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on March 9, 2010 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 141697170X
ISBN-13: 9781416971702
448 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • theysaywhathey
    theysaywhatheyFriday, February 21, 2020 at 11:08 am55 stars
    This is an outstanding book . I did a book report on it.
    • Princessauri123Saturday, January 11, 2020 at 1:58 pm
      I love this book because my teacher read it to me
      • incrediblezoey9
        incrediblezoey9Thursday, December 19, 2019 at 11:19 am55 stars
        loooooooooooooooove it
        • lalah2
          lalah2Wednesday, December 18, 2019 at 2:20 pm55 stars
          I read this book a long time ago, so I don't remember every little thing about it, but I do remember that I loved it. I remember that it touched me inside. I remember that my heart broke for Melody. We take so much for granted, like being able to walk and talk and feed ourselves. Not everyone can do that. And it's not fair to judge people who can't, or assume that they are dumb and pointless. They're not. This book can show us that, and that is something we all need to learn. I absolutely love this story.
          • Space unicornSunday, November 17, 2019 at 4:59 pm
            I legit wrote a whole book report on this. I love Sharon M. Draper. She has another book called Blended. It's interesting too!
            • dianayang2010
              dianayang2010Sunday, November 17, 2019 at 2:50 pm55 stars
              this book was very emotional, with the real feelings of others, including melodys. This book is also very meaningful because this can remind us that some kids have trouble that is very hard to fix. that we should not jugde others. this showed me how she went over her troubles and that not everything is easy, and you should always try your best.
              • reader_red
                reader_redSaturday, August 17, 2019 at 6:12 pm44 stars
                Melody is an eleven-year-old girl with cerebral palsy. She is forced to learn the same things over and over again because nobody can see past her differences and see that she is actually really smart. One day, when her special classes join with the normal classes, Melody meets Rose.
                • hedgeguin2
                  hedgeguin2Monday, July 29, 2019 at 7:46 am55 stars
                  This book is awesome! It’s about Melody, a eleven year old girl, who has celebral palsy. She can’t talk, walk, or really do anything that regular people can do. It is in Melody’s perspective where everything is hard for her. When she starts school, she meets people like herself, but she still feels like she is different. Melody is very smart, but she can’t tell anybody what she’s thinking. So when she goes to an initiative class, where they are having a competition that could let Melody speak up in her own way and show who she truly is. But is everyone ready to take on who she is?
                  • trashpanda18
                    trashpanda18Thursday, July 25, 2019 at 9:34 am55 stars
                    i have read this book like 3 times!!!!! It is so good!!!!! it made me cry a lot but it was still so good!!!
                    • applemango
                      applemangoFriday, June 28, 2019 at 10:09 pm
                      Melody is a girl that can't move or talk and she uses a wheelchair to get around. Her parents do everything to help her and her next door neighbor Ms.V taught her how to crawl and roll. Melody may not be able to move but she has incredible potential, she is actually very smart! With a help of a machine she can now take tests and passes the trivia with a perfect score! She gets qualified and moves on levels and levels with her friends until the final day in Washington when her friends betray her and leave her behind and they go to Washington D,C without her. Melody is very sad. Melody also has another person in her family, baby Penny and the day after that when Melody wants to go to school, Penny is accidentally under the car, and Melody is unable to get her mother of what she means because she can't talk. Penny is injured but is safe and has survived. Her classmates apologize to her, for their hurtfulness.