Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 8W4.6n/a
In the summer of 1968, after travelling from Brooklyn, New York, to Oakland, California, to spend a month with the mother they barely know, 11-year-old Delphine and her two younger sisters arrive to a cold welcome as they discover that their mother, a dedicated poet and printer, is resentful of their intrusion and wants them to attend a nearby Black Panther summer camp.
Library Binding, 240 pages
Published on December 27, 2011 by Turtleback Books
ISBN-10: 0606235558
ISBN-13: 9780606235556
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gold3nglare
    gold3nglareTuesday, November 10, 2020 at 7:54 am44 stars
    Delphine, and her sisters, Fern and Vonnetta travel to California to see their mother Celine, (or was it Cecile) that left them when Fern was a baby, Vonnetta was a toddler, and Delphine was a child. In California, they discover more about themselves and the Black Panthers. This story represents non-violent change, civil rights, and history.
    • bluewriter
      bluewriterWednesday, October 7, 2020 at 11:13 am55 stars
      This book is the first book in the three book series and its all about the black panthers and standing for whats right! (Not about the movie black panther)
      • lilabug
        lilabugWednesday, September 2, 2020 at 10:21 am55 stars
        I love this story it is sad in the beginning but happy at the end and i totally recommend it! And its sequel is good to!❤👍
        • harrypfangirl
          harrypfangirlMonday, July 13, 2020 at 12:35 pm55 stars
          I read this book because it was on my summer reading list, and I think it's an amazing book. I can relate to it because it is similar to what is currently happening in the world right now, with George Floyd. This is an awesome book!!!
          • natalieThursday, April 6, 2017 at 9:50 am
            This book is good
            • ima_savageWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:07 am
              i loved this book and recomend it to other, it takes you throught a point of veiw of a young black child growing up in a descriminating time peroid
              • TugaluuWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:07 am
                This book is about a 11 ,9,and 7 year old who are on quest to find their unknown mother
                • giselle_11Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:06 am
                  This book takes place n 1968 in Oakland California about 3 siblings dalphin, fern, vonnetta. The travle from new York to Ockland to try to find there long lost mother that abandoned them when they were only baby. I think if you are in to historical fiction books you will like this book. I liked this book and I thought it was very interesting.
                  • TugaluuWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:05 am
                    A 11,9,and 7 year old whose mother left them behind when the 7 year old,fern was born.The 11 year old, Delphine , takes care of her sisters when they go there to visit her. At first it was hard but then her mother started to be nice until she was arrested because she was "black".They stayed home till neighbors came and helped them.It takes place in the 1960's.It showes how they treated blacks back then and how its like with a mother that hates you.It all ended with Delphine , Vonetta(the 9 year old),and Fern all end up staying with their mother longer because the got a special bond that made them happy with eachother.
                    • Tyboogaloo31Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:05 am
                      I didn’t like how the person we are seeing things from (Delphine)’s name isn’t really mentioned which confused me throughout the story. Also it had some touching parts. Also it had a good plot. I loved the role that Cecile played as the lazy mom and Ferns role as the little sister who always ha something to say.