Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 8W4.6n/a
In the summer of 1968, after travelling from Brooklyn, New York, to Oakland, California, to spend a month with the mother they barely know, 11-year-old Delphine and her two younger sisters arrive to a cold welcome as they discover that their mother, a dedicated poet and printer, is resentful of their intrusion and wants them to attend a nearby Black Panther summer camp.
Library Binding, 240 pages
Published on December 27, 2011 by Turtleback Books
ISBN-10: 0606235558
ISBN-13: 9780606235556
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • natalieThursday, April 6, 2017 at 9:50 am
    This book is good
    • ima_savageWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:07 am
      i loved this book and recomend it to other, it takes you throught a point of veiw of a young black child growing up in a descriminating time peroid
      • TugaluuWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:07 am
        This book is about a 11 ,9,and 7 year old who are on quest to find their unknown mother
        • giselle_11Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:06 am
          This book takes place n 1968 in Oakland California about 3 siblings dalphin, fern, vonnetta. The travle from new York to Ockland to try to find there long lost mother that abandoned them when they were only baby. I think if you are in to historical fiction books you will like this book. I liked this book and I thought it was very interesting.
          • TugaluuWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:05 am
            A 11,9,and 7 year old whose mother left them behind when the 7 year old,fern was born.The 11 year old, Delphine , takes care of her sisters when they go there to visit her. At first it was hard but then her mother started to be nice until she was arrested because she was "black".They stayed home till neighbors came and helped them.It takes place in the 1960's.It showes how they treated blacks back then and how its like with a mother that hates you.It all ended with Delphine , Vonetta(the 9 year old),and Fern all end up staying with their mother longer because the got a special bond that made them happy with eachother.
            • Tyboogaloo31Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:05 am
              I didn’t like how the person we are seeing things from (Delphine)’s name isn’t really mentioned which confused me throughout the story. Also it had some touching parts. Also it had a good plot. I loved the role that Cecile played as the lazy mom and Ferns role as the little sister who always ha something to say.
              • MaddieWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 10:12 am
                The book One Crazy Summer Rita Williams-Garcia is a very good book. The main characters are three sisters, the narrator Delphie the oldest sister, the middle sister Vonetta, and the youngest sister Fern. They live with their father and stepmother. They fly to California to meet and spend the summer with their mother who left them when they were little. They get to California and they realise there mother is very mean and crazy. I like the writing style of this book because you almost felt a connection with the sister and like your with them. “Look vonetta. Look down at the bridge! Vonetta stayed tight to her stubborn curl, her chine in her lap. “I’m not looking.” I turned to my right and got a mouthful of hair and barrettes. Fern had leaned over from her aisle seat.” This quote helps show that it is like you are there with the sisters and their relationship to one another. This story made me smile and feel sad sometimes and like i’m there with the family. This story is a great book and I highly think you should read it if you want to go on a crazy adventure.
                • madogWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 10:07 am
                  Rita Williams Garcia was the author of the one crazy summer. She shows when you go to a different setting that your destiny to have a hard time. It's even harder with their skin tone and at the time it was very hard for them and it shows how they feel. The setting of the story is Oakland California in 1966 where they live with their mother. The main characters are Delphine, Vonetta and Fern. The readers are introduced to how they have a rude mom and how she doesn't want them here but yet the sisters are staying together with the love of sistership.RIta WIlliams Garcia reading style was first person from the oldest sister and it shows her perspective of having to take care of her sisters and the responsibility“If one sister says something even if it's wrong we all have to agree”“ I never wanted y'all anyway should have went to mexico.One crazy summer made me feel happy and hopeful and made me laugh. It took me thru what the oldest was feeling and how she has to take care of her little sisters. Also how her little sisters annoy her but she still loves them.One crazy Summer won the national book award finalist.One crazy summer won Scott O'Dell Award Rita williams Garcia New York TImes Bestselling Author.
                  • kmortman04Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 10:05 am
                    In the book One Crazy Summer, written by Rita Williams-Garcia, you get whisked away back to Oakland in the 1960s. The main characters are the three sisters, Delphine the oldest, Vonetta the attention grabber, and Fern, the youngest, and their mom who left them when they were at a young age, whose name is Cecile. The setting of the book is Oakland 1960s, a time of protests, “hippies”, and Black Panthers. Three young motherless girls go to visit their mom, but get caught amidst the protests and rebellions, and discrimination and the fought for peace. The way Williams-Garcia writes really captures you into the moment, and gives you a very descriptive 1st person view. You get to see what 1960s Oakland was like and learn more about the freedom fighters and their battle for similar rights and to be treated the same. The author made the book funny by the way they portrayed the characters reacting to one another and how they treated each other. “Cecile and two Black Panthers. Hands behind their backs. Handcuffed. Being let out of the house and down the walkway. I could hardly breathe.”. Rita Williams-Garcia grew up in different parts of New York, writing short stories her entire life. She has written numerous books, which have won the awards Coretta Scott King Award, National Book Award Finalists, Newbery Honor Book, Junior Library Guild, and the Scott O’Dell Prize for Historical Fiction. The book caused me to feel scared, happy, joyful, and open my eyes up a little bit more. You know how when you read, you get sucked up into the book and feel like you are really there with the characters. In One Crazy Summer, you see how black people felt being discriminated and treated in the 1960s, and see through their eyes how they saw everything, and you learn the two completely different sides of discrimination. It’s a really good book to read that I would personally recommend to anyone, since you learn more and broaden your horizon to other people’s experiences.
                    • disenyforlife
                      disenyforlifeWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 9:12 am44 stars
                      Rita Williams-Garcia, the author of One Crazy Summer, takes her readers on an adventure back in time in Oakland, California, in 1968 in search of the mother who abandoned them. One Crazy summer is about three sisters who go and visit their mom who abandoned them at a young age. They go to Oakland California to visit her. But when they get their she isn’t treating them like family she is treating them like her slaves. Will they every get treated like family? The setting of One Crazy Summer takes place in two different places in the United States. When the story starts, they are in Brooklyn, New York In the cold. As the story goes on the go to the hot Oakland California. The main characters in One Crazy Summer are the oldest sister Delphine, Middle sister Vonetta, Youngest sister Fern, Fern’s doll miss patty cakes, their grandpa big pa, their grandma big Ma, And their abandoned mom Cecile Johnson. Here's a quote in the book that I really like because it's summing up the story “ Cecile Johnson-mammal birth giver, alive, an abandoner-is our mother.” One Crazy Summer, won four awards Newbery honor award, Scott o’dell award, National book award, and coretta scott king award. Rita is from New York just like the sisters in the book. One crazy Summer made me sad at sometimes because it’s sad to hear their story about her mom taking them out of her life. It also made me feel that I want to cry because it’s sad to think that a mom who once loved them take them out of her life. Again will they ever get treated like family?