Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.527197
As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, 10-year-old Annemarie Johansens's family takes in annemaries' best friend, Ellen Roxen, and pretend she is part of the family. Ellen and Annemarie must htink quickly when three Nazi officers arrive late one night and question why Ellen is not blond, like her sisters. Through Annemaries' eyes, we see the Danish Resistance as they manage to smuggle almost the entire Jewish population, nearly seven thousand people, across the sea to Sweden. In this tale of an entire nation's heroism, Lois Lowry reminds us that there is pride and human decency in the world even during a time of terror and war.
Hardcover, 144 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307260836
ISBN-13: 9780307260833
384 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • AmyMonday, December 16, 2019 at 4:56 pm
    I think this book shares a lot of feelings. It is a w e s o m e !
    • mooshroomz
      mooshroomzWednesday, November 27, 2019 at 5:15 am55 stars
      It's a really good book! I had to read it for school but it turned out to be really great😊😊😊
      • cookie monster Thursday, October 10, 2019 at 9:05 am
        i think it is a good book but it has a few curse words but other than that it is very intresting and very good i think that it is like a forth grade or above book if you are reading it to a child smaller than that make sure to say somthing diffrent and i thay are reading it to themselves to not lett them say them but other than that amazing
        • heyMonday, September 9, 2019 at 1:42 pm
          it is such an amazing book i read last year and in my opinion this is the best book ever
          • stellaluna
            stellalunaTuesday, August 13, 2019 at 3:55 pm55 stars
            Beautiful book, very educational, and I think everyone should read this book.
            • L.KMonday, June 3, 2019 at 12:01 pm
              You should read this book. You know why, because of the five stars im giving this book/
              • lilylunapotter
                lilylunapotterFriday, May 31, 2019 at 11:56 am55 stars
                Great book! Good historical fiction! This book explain how hard it is to live during the Cold War for Jews in Germany and how to survive with it.
                • applebutter
                  applebutterThursday, May 30, 2019 at 8:45 am33 stars
                  this sounds like a really good book. Actually lets change that all of Lois Lowrys book are incredibly written and leave you awestruck. Cant wait to read this book
                  • ilikebunnies
                    ilikebunniesWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 7:01 pm
                    i really like this book about historical fiction and this was what the war was like in the past for some countries. I think that this book is very sad but teaches you important things.
                    • applemango
                      applemangoSunday, May 26, 2019 at 3:50 pm55 stars
                      This book is about Annemarie. This all starts with her and her friend Ellen. Annemarie is not a Jew but Ellen is. They accidently run into a Nazi solider. Annemarie has to help her friend and their family by pretending to have a funeral but actually sneaking them into the country where they can be free. Annemarie has to be brave for everyone now...