Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.527197
As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, 10-year-old Annemarie Johansens's family takes in annemaries' best friend, Ellen Roxen, and pretend she is part of the family. Ellen and Annemarie must htink quickly when three Nazi officers arrive late one night and question why Ellen is not blond, like her sisters. Through Annemaries' eyes, we see the Danish Resistance as they manage to smuggle almost the entire Jewish population, nearly seven thousand people, across the sea to Sweden. In this tale of an entire nation's heroism, Lois Lowry reminds us that there is pride and human decency in the world even during a time of terror and war.
Hardcover, 144 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307260836
ISBN-13: 9780307260833
382 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • heyMonday, September 9, 2019 at 1:42 pm
    it is such an amazing book i read last year and in my opinion this is the best book ever
    • 2006girl
      2006girlSunday, September 8, 2019 at 8:23 am55 stars
      Amazing read this 4 years ago
      • stellaluna
        stellalunaTuesday, August 13, 2019 at 3:55 pm55 stars
        Beautiful book, very educational, and I think everyone should read this book.
        • L.KMonday, June 3, 2019 at 12:01 pm
          You should read this book. You know why, because of the five stars im giving this book/
          • lilylunapotter
            lilylunapotterFriday, May 31, 2019 at 11:56 am55 stars
            Great book! Good historical fiction! This book explain how hard it is to live during the Cold War for Jews in Germany and how to survive with it.
            • applebutter
              applebutterThursday, May 30, 2019 at 8:45 am33 stars
              this sounds like a really good book. Actually lets change that all of Lois Lowrys book are incredibly written and leave you awestruck. Cant wait to read this book
              • ilikebunnies
                ilikebunniesWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 7:01 pm
                i really like this book about historical fiction and this was what the war was like in the past for some countries. I think that this book is very sad but teaches you important things.
                • applemango
                  applemangoSunday, May 26, 2019 at 3:50 pm55 stars
                  This book is about Annemarie. This all starts with her and her friend Ellen. Annemarie is not a Jew but Ellen is. They accidently run into a Nazi solider. Annemarie has to help her friend and their family by pretending to have a funeral but actually sneaking them into the country where they can be free. Annemarie has to be brave for everyone now...
                  • oofdoof
                    oofdoofTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 12:12 am55 stars
                    i like this book!
                    • reader_red
                      reader_redMonday, May 20, 2019 at 7:41 pm55 stars
                      Annemarie Johansen lives in German-occupied Denmark. The Germans have suddenly decided to "Re-locate" the Jews of Denmark. Annemarie's friend, Ellen, is a jew. So when things start to go downhill for the jews in Denmark, Ellen comes to stay with Annemarie's family, acting as Annemarie's sister.