Another great school story by Clements
Paperback, 160 pages
Published on June 23, 2009 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416909842
ISBN-13: 9781416909842
47 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • kingbobert23
    kingbobert23Friday, January 12, 2018 at 9:19 am55 stars
    I am in catsloveswaffles' class. (AKA Ava). I am doing this book for a bok report too! This is one of my favorite books- EVER!
    • vabiciryvy
      vabiciryvyTuesday, December 19, 2017 at 7:57 am44 stars
      This book is about a school and the boys and girls and they don"t get along. Then Dave challenges the girls to not speak for 2 days in a row. If you want to find out who's going to win read the book.
      • catslovewaffles
        catslovewafflesFriday, December 15, 2017 at 9:01 am55 stars
        THIS IS A GREAT BOOK!!! STOP WHAT YOUR DOING AND READ IT!! Even though I'm reading it for a book report.
        • fastfoxreader
          fastfoxreaderThursday, July 14, 2016 at 12:14 pm55 stars
          This book is about a boy named Dave who didn't want to talk for a whole day because of Gandhi. But soon he makes a contest with the girls. Whichever side talked the most will lose. The principal doesn't like the contest and forces Dave to talk. Dave says that you have the right to remain silent. He got sent to the principal's office but the principal wasn't mad. She apologized to Dave and joined no talking.
          • fastfoxreader
            fastfoxreaderMonday, June 27, 2016 at 8:51 am55 stars
            This book is about a boy named Dave who didn't want to talk for a whole day because of Gandhi. But soon he makes a contest with the girls. Whichever side talked the most will lose. The principal doesn't like the contest and forces Dave to talk. Dave says that you have the right to remain silent. He got sent to the principal's office but the principal wasn't mad. She apoligized to Dave and joined no talking.
            • memoiloveit
              memoiloveitThursday, June 2, 2016 at 2:09 pm
              this is a good realistic fiction story for third graders to read. It can be related to classes that have competitions
              • princesssanjana
                princesssanjanaMonday, March 28, 2016 at 7:02 am55 stars
                In no talking, These 5 graders are having a contest, Boys against girls and you go through the adventures of trying to keep quiet and you will have to see who wins we read this book in class and I think it was a great book.... Are you ready? Lets go!! YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK! ~Sanjana
                • shannon20
                  shannon20Thursday, November 26, 2015 at 9:10 pm55 stars
                  How can you use three words in one sentence to express your idea? A no talking competition between fifth grade boys and girls in Laketon Elementary School will last two days. The captains of the teams are Lynsey and Dave. Some of the teachers support the competition, but others don't. The principle decided to stop this competition, ....... How will the students stop the grown ups? Which group is gonna to win this competition? The interesting part of the story is how the students try to use less words to communicate with others. They get the inspiration from Gandhi, who used no weapons or violence to push the whole British army out of India. He was the one thought no talk could bring orders to one's mind. Maybe I should try to speak less and listen more.
                  • 1waffles
                    1wafflesFriday, October 16, 2015 at 10:09 am
                    my friend just read this she loves it.Its a OBOB book this year.its worth a lot of points i think.its about this guy and his friend and they have this challenge where they try not to talk for a long time.in the end they end up having a tie.when the do a tie breaker challenge they both win.then they just exept that they both winned.if you like no talking becoase of the war and challenges i would suggest the lemonade war and the lemonade war has a seqwul.ME OUT.......................:0:)
                    • sivabirdie
                      sivabirdieWednesday, September 2, 2015 at 6:02 pm55 stars
                      Well Done, Explaned Exactly How A Fifth Grade Boy Would Think! It Also Explains How His Life And Day Would Go In A Boys Life.Overall Amazing Story!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      iikitty
                      iikitty wrote:

                      For me, it IS the best series! G...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      iikitty
                      iikitty wrote:

                      Oh my God, Snape's memories alwa...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      iikitty
                      iikitty wrote:

                      Cady cat, that is exactly what h...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...