Nick and Tesla's High-Voltage Danger Lab: A Mystery with Electromagnets, Burglar Alarms, and Other Gadgets You Can Build Yourself

Book 1 of 5 in the Nick & Tesla Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.834213
Nick and Tesla are bright 11-year-old siblings with a knack for science, electronics, and getting into trouble. When their parents mysteriously vanish, they’re sent to live with their Uncle Newt, a brilliant inventor who engineers top-secret gadgets for a classified government agency. It’s not long before Nick and Tesla are embarking on adventures of their own—engineering all kinds of outrageous MacGyverish contraptions to save their skin: 9-volt burglar alarms, electromagnets, mobile tracking devices, and more. Readers are invited to join in the fun as each story contains instructions and blueprints for five different projects.

In Nick and Tesla’s High-Voltage Danger Lab, we meet the characters and learn how to make everything from rocket launchers to soda-powered vehicles. Learning about science has never been so dangerous—or so much fun!

 

 

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on November 5, 2013 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594746486
ISBN-13: 9781594746482
107 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • rritju
    rritjuMonday, April 24, 2017 at 8:07 am
    my mom got the same thing with a diffrent title. wow! this series is awsome! i want to read this book some day.......
    • coreycole
      coreycoleWednesday, August 31, 2016 at 11:31 am55 stars
      this book was awesome! it has instructions on how to make some of the stuff they use and even how to do the experiments in the book! it took a little begging but my mom finally let me build them all and we did the experiments with the story. i read this book so fast
      • dogoreader1
        dogoreader1Sunday, August 21, 2016 at 1:56 pm55 starsFeatured
        This book has very funny adventures. I really enjoyed this grade 4 240 page book. Actually I am named after Nikola Tesla and who always wanted to be a mathematician and very intelligent with it. My second favorite subject, science, is a very fascinating which I learn a lot. My parents are biochemists and like to study biochemistry a lot (favorite hobby). Nick and Tesla discover really dangerous adventures like high-voltage. I also liked the mysterious part when they found many gadgets. The best part I liked was the part when they found a voltage lightning lab KABOOM. That's why I liked this book so much and 5 rated it. LOVED SO MUCH 5 star
        • strawberry1234
          strawberry1234Thursday, July 28, 2016 at 6:06 pm55 stars
          This book is really good . When i saw it read it it in 3 days it was such a good book. Read this book
          • coolgirlintown
            coolgirlintownThursday, July 14, 2016 at 8:15 am11 star
            I did not like this book one bit!!! Which is a surprise because I thought I would love a lot. But IO read it and for some reason I do not like it at all.
            • jsmyth
              jsmythThursday, July 7, 2016 at 3:42 pm44 stars
              Nick and Telsa are brother and sister forced to spend the summer with their crazy uncle. When their rocket gets launched into the yard of the large abandoned house down the street a mystery and adventure like no other begins to enfold. This actually reminds me a lot of The Sandlot. A group of kids trying to get into the yard of a neighbor house. To do so they create some crazy science experiments. I love The Sandlot and I think that's partly why I really enjoyed this one. There are science experiments within the book so kids can try them out at home. My one complaint would be that all of them seemed rather top notch and required several materials that not everyone may have. If they were simpler I'd suggest this as perfect book to match Science and Reading classes together. A fun, laugh out loud, mystery adventure book written perfectly for elementary school boys. Leaving you wondering where the next book is going to go.
              • waterlily1255
                waterlily1255Thursday, July 7, 2016 at 7:19 am33 stars
                I have never really gotten into the series. Nick and Tesla's journeys will leave on the edge of your seats I'm sure if you can get into them. I just never could. The gadgets are 80% awesome.
                • acholguin
                  acholguinWednesday, July 6, 2016 at 7:42 pm55 stars
                  I liked that it was good. It was a mystery, a science book, and an adventure book all mixed into one. On a part where they would reach a time when they would need to invent something, it would end the chapter and give instructions on how to make the same device yourself with illustrations on how to make it yourself.
                  • pjsweet
                    pjsweetSunday, July 3, 2016 at 7:39 pm55 stars
                    I like this book because it's full of mysteries, action, and inventions. I would give this a 5 star. Nick and Tesla go to their Uncle Newts House after their parents leave to study soybeans in Uzbekistan. When they get to their Uncle Newts house they figure out that their uncle is a scientist. They make a rocket and accidentally launch it into an abandoned houses yard. When Nick goes to fetch it two dogs named Jaws and Claws come out of nowhere and chases Nick.Then they meet two kids named Silos and Demarco. The next morning Nick and Tesla create a plan to get the rocket ship back. When Nick gets over the fence he sees a girl locked up in a room with a sign saying GO AWAY. Then Nick hears Jaws and Claws and decides to go back to safety. Will Nick and Tesla unravel all the mysteries in the neighborhood? If you want to find out read the book!
                    • awesomeguy2000
                      awesomeguy2000Saturday, July 2, 2016 at 5:25 pm33 stars
                      This book is a great addition to this awesome mystery story series and the thing I love most?.... is when nick and tesla's parents go missing! This is a awesome book and definitely a five star!!!! :)