Donner Dinner Party (Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales #3)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.715037

Discover the shocking and true story of the ill-fated Donner Party expedition with the New York Times bestselling graphic novel series!

In the spring of 1846, a group of families left Illinois and began the long journey to California. To save time, they took an ill-advised shortcut—with disastrous consequences.

Bad weather, bad choices, and just plain bad luck forced the pioneers to spend a long, cold winter in the mountains, slowly starving. What they did to stay alive and the lengths that others went to in order to rescue them make this one of the most tragic and infamous stories of the American frontier.

Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on August 6, 2013 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419708562
ISBN-13: 9781419708565
7 Book Reviews
  • willow123goma
    willow123gomaThursday, June 4, 2020 at 2:54 pm33 stars
    This was a story about the challenging, grueling journey of pioneers heading west. Even with starvation starvation, extreme heat, extreme cold, death, and sickness, the pioneers fought through for a better life and a better future. I loved this book!
    • italy125
      italy125Friday, May 24, 2019 at 8:56 am55 stars
      I love history and the series is history so if it is a good history book then I am going to read it.
      • 25cuteg
        25cutegTuesday, May 16, 2017 at 8:55 am55 stars
        I love this book because Nathan hale is a spy and he tells stories about the war and the British and more. The Donner dinner party is funny. People left spring field for something then. A girl told her son. " Why did I ever leave spring field?"
        • cristalll
          cristalllFriday, February 10, 2017 at 8:12 pm33 stars
          a tragedy that one was
          • cristalll
            cristalllFriday, February 10, 2017 at 8:11 pm33 stars
            I was in class when my teacher gave me this book to read. This book is currently one I'm reading and is about survival and hunger (and obviously about moving to California) and takes place through California in1846. There isn't much of a moral in this story but as Virginia Reed once said, *Don't take no cutoffs and get where your'e going as fast as you can.*
            • ????Tuesday, April 12, 2016 at 10:29 am
              loved this book, sad that it was real but well told.
              • nonstopreader
                nonstopreaderSaturday, December 5, 2015 at 3:59 pm55 stars
                It was a quick non-fiction read but it was fact packed! Good book!