Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5U4.338334
Newbery Medalist and master storyteller Avi returns to Scholastic with a tantalizing prequel to his bestselling medieval mystery MIDNIGHT MAGIC.

A plot to overthrow King Claudio is brewing in the Kingdom of Pergamontio. Scholarly Mangus the magician -- along with his street-smart and faithful new servant boy, Fabrizio -- have been marked as easy scapegoats for the traitor lurking within the king's court. Together, these two unlikely partners must gather clues to solve the mystery and prove their innocence before the stroke of midnight. . . or face death!

Intricate plotting, surprise twists, and lively prose make for another suspenseful page-turner that stands alone or sets the stage for MIDNIGHT MAGIC!
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545080908
ISBN-13: 9780545080903
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • macrol
    macrolTuesday, September 22, 2015 at 8:38 am
    This looks really interesting because I love any murder or mystery books.
    • heathlol
      heathlolTuesday, September 22, 2015 at 8:33 am
      Ok avi, ya made a good book. I've read it and you have got some good topics related to Shakespeare and old times, but as I said in my older comment, it was GREAT. But now I have read the book about twice more since then, so I'd actually give it about three stars out of five. 🌟🌟🌟🌟 teehee
      • snicker9
        snicker9Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 9:21 pm
        I think that this book focuses on some old-fashioned and unique topics. I would give it 2 or 3 stars out of 5. The reason for this lower score is that I think other kids won't be as interested in this storyline. It takes place in a time period that is well known. Personally, many parts were hard to follow and understand. I think it takes an older mind to read and decipher this story. I do think if it was rewritten that it could be easier to understand, just not in the current format.
        • gobi
          gobiWednesday, May 20, 2015 at 6:27 pm
          I love this book
          • gobi
            gobiWednesday, May 20, 2015 at 6:23 pm
            I love this book
            • reading707
              reading707Thursday, May 14, 2015 at 6:36 am
              I am done with it, it is so good! I recommend this book.
              • reading707
                reading707Tuesday, May 5, 2015 at 11:12 am
                I am reading it now, it is not that good but still good.
                • heathlol
                  heathlolWednesday, March 4, 2015 at 7:19 pm
                  Murder at midnight is a very good murder mystery book, It talks about Shakespeare related topics, such as the magician.