From W. Bruce Cameron, the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling novel A Dog's Purpose, now a major motion picture!

Meet Molly―a very special dog with a very important purpose. An irresistible book for young middle grade readers adapted from A Dog's Journey, the sequel to the bestselling A Dog's Purpose―now a major motion picture!

Molly knows that her purpose is to take care of her girl, C.J., but it won’t be easy. Neglected by her mother, Gloria, who won’t allow her to have a dog, C.J. is going through some tough times. Molly’s job is to stay hidden in C.J.’s room, cuddle up to her at night, and protect her from bad people. And no matter what Gloria does to separate them, nothing will keep Molly away from the girl that she loves.

Adorable black-and-white illustrations by Richard Cowdrey bring Molly and her world to life. Also includes a discussion and activity guide that will help promote family and classroom discussions about Molly’s Story and the insights it provides about humankind’s best friends.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on July 3, 2017 by Starscape
ISBN-10: 0765394936
ISBN-13: 9780765394934
33 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • belle252
    belle252Monday, May 25, 2020 at 11:59 am55 stars
    This is an amazing book that gives readers mixed emotions throughout this whole book. The story starts when Molly meets CJ, or "her girl." CJ has a major setback that will not allow her to keep Molly- her mother. So CJ and Molly have to get through these times and face CJ's mother with courage. This book proves that if you have courage and love toward a person, you can face any challenge in the world even when things are tough. Later, Molly accomplishes a lot of things including identifying a person that has cancer. This is an awesome book that I will reread at least a million times.
    • puppypalace
      puppypalaceSunday, November 3, 2019 at 9:29 am55 stars
      I love this book .Mollie is so sweet and adorable I feel bad that Mollie has to be hidden all day
      • slushie
        slushieWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 2:27 pm55 stars
        I never read this book but I read Ellie's story it was sad cute and entertaining I've been hoping to read another series of these books but I only have the book Ellie's story I bet this book is gonna be great! plus I love to read new books each day forward!
        • goz
          gozWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 1:56 pm55 stars
          I never read this book but I am looking forward to reading such an awesome book like this
          • chlooe
            chlooeMonday, April 15, 2019 at 3:59 pm55 starsFeatured
            This story is written by a dog's perspective of her life with her owner, CJ. Molly has to stay hidden in CJ's house because unfortunately, her owner's mom doesn't like dogs. Molly (The dog: Spoodle) was probably only 2 days old when she met CJ. Molly found her love for her and she noticed it, too. CJ's friend, Trent, keeps telling CJ that she couldn't keep Molly because of CJ's mom. (Okay, just FYI, CJ's name is Clarity) Clarity is stubborn and can't keep her away from Molly because Molly and Clarity just found an everlasting friendship. As their journey starts, they encounter laughs and miserable moments. I think this book would be a perfect fit for people who love dogs and would want to spend their lives with them. I would rate this book 5 paws because the perspectives of Molly can help people really understand how a dog thinks. I hope you can give thought to this book.
            • 145
              145Tuesday, February 19, 2019 at 8:08 am55 stars
              I really loved this book and I would recommend this book to my friends because it is very adventurous and very exciting. It also makes you want to get and have a puppy of your own.
              • addySaturday, January 5, 2019 at 11:25 am
                this is an amazing book
                • DaceWithTheStarThursday, January 3, 2019 at 4:05 pm
                  Lovely story. I just finished it yesterday and I couldn't stop reading it. It made me laugh when Molly would take things the wrong way
                  • TessFriday, December 14, 2018 at 6:43 pm
                    You should read Ellies story
                    • take me to youFriday, November 30, 2018 at 8:04 am
                      I love these series they make me cry.