From W. Bruce Cameron, the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling novel A Dog's Purpose, now a major motion picture!

Meet Molly―a very special dog with a very important purpose. An irresistible book for young middle grade readers adapted from A Dog's Journey, the sequel to the bestselling A Dog's Purpose―now a major motion picture!

Molly knows that her purpose is to take care of her girl, C.J., but it won’t be easy. Neglected by her mother, Gloria, who won’t allow her to have a dog, C.J. is going through some tough times. Molly’s job is to stay hidden in C.J.’s room, cuddle up to her at night, and protect her from bad people. And no matter what Gloria does to separate them, nothing will keep Molly away from the girl that she loves.

Adorable black-and-white illustrations by Richard Cowdrey bring Molly and her world to life. Also includes a discussion and activity guide that will help promote family and classroom discussions about Molly’s Story and the insights it provides about humankind’s best friends.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on July 3, 2017 by Starscape
ISBN-10: 0765394936
ISBN-13: 9780765394934
34 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • squirrelflight
    squirrelflightMonday, August 17, 2020 at 10:09 am44 stars
    Molly has been at the animal shelter for as long as she can remember. The young dog doesn’t know what goes on outside her cage...but she wants to explore it, especially when a girl named CJ comes to the animal shelter. Molly knows that CJ is the perfect owner for her, and they belong together—but CJ’s mom, Gloria, will never let her have a dog! How can they make friends if their boundaries are so restricted? One day, CJ decides to risk it, and hide Molly from her mother. She and her best friend Trent go back to the shelter, and take Molly to her new home. For the next few weeks, Molly lives a trapped life, hidden away from Gloria and any other people who might pose a threat. She is upset. Isn’t life with her human supposed to be better? But after some time, they find a more effective way to hide. CJ goes to Trent’s house so she can leave Molly there for the weekends, and she skips school on the weekdays to spend more time with her. This is the life Molly has always wanted, with just her and CJ. But the dog and her girl don’t know if they are safe, even inside the house. Gloria could still find them—and when CJ is accused of skipping school too many times, life takes a turn for the worse. Can Molly protect her human? Read this book to find out!
    • belle252
      belle252Monday, May 25, 2020 at 11:59 am55 stars
      This is an amazing book that gives readers mixed emotions throughout this whole book. The story starts when Molly meets CJ, or "her girl." CJ has a major setback that will not allow her to keep Molly- her mother. So CJ and Molly have to get through these times and face CJ's mother with courage. This book proves that if you have courage and love toward a person, you can face any challenge in the world even when things are tough. Later, Molly accomplishes a lot of things including identifying a person that has cancer. This is an awesome book that I will reread at least a million times.
      • puppypalace
        puppypalaceSunday, November 3, 2019 at 9:29 am55 stars
        I love this book .Mollie is so sweet and adorable I feel bad that Mollie has to be hidden all day
        • slushie
          slushieWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 2:27 pm55 stars
          I never read this book but I read Ellie's story it was sad cute and entertaining I've been hoping to read another series of these books but I only have the book Ellie's story I bet this book is gonna be great! plus I love to read new books each day forward!
          • goz
            gozWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 1:56 pm55 stars
            I never read this book but I am looking forward to reading such an awesome book like this
            • chlooe
              chlooeMonday, April 15, 2019 at 3:59 pm55 starsFeatured
              This story is written by a dog's perspective of her life with her owner, CJ. Molly has to stay hidden in CJ's house because unfortunately, her owner's mom doesn't like dogs. Molly (The dog: Spoodle) was probably only 2 days old when she met CJ. Molly found her love for her and she noticed it, too. CJ's friend, Trent, keeps telling CJ that she couldn't keep Molly because of CJ's mom. (Okay, just FYI, CJ's name is Clarity) Clarity is stubborn and can't keep her away from Molly because Molly and Clarity just found an everlasting friendship. As their journey starts, they encounter laughs and miserable moments. I think this book would be a perfect fit for people who love dogs and would want to spend their lives with them. I would rate this book 5 paws because the perspectives of Molly can help people really understand how a dog thinks. I hope you can give thought to this book.
              • 145
                145Tuesday, February 19, 2019 at 8:08 am55 stars
                I really loved this book and I would recommend this book to my friends because it is very adventurous and very exciting. It also makes you want to get and have a puppy of your own.
                • addySaturday, January 5, 2019 at 11:25 am
                  this is an amazing book
                  • DaceWithTheStarThursday, January 3, 2019 at 4:05 pm
                    Lovely story. I just finished it yesterday and I couldn't stop reading it. It made me laugh when Molly would take things the wrong way
                    • TessFriday, December 14, 2018 at 6:43 pm
                      You should read Ellies story