Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.3100269
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she's made it out of the bloody arena alive, she's still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what's worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss's family, not her friends, not the people of District 12. Powerful and haunting, this thrilling final installment of Suzanne Collins's groundbreaking The Hunger Games trilogy promises to be one of the most talked about books of the year.
Hardcover, 391 pages
Published on September 1, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023513
ISBN-13: 9780439023511
666 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • myth1c7
    myth1c7Wednesday, October 21, 2020 at 7:58 am55 stars
    Nice series I read it a while ago but its good.
    • dadima101
      dadima101Tuesday, October 20, 2020 at 12:24 pm55 stars
      2 words love it.
      • kkgautamm
        kkgautammFriday, August 14, 2020 at 2:46 pm22 stars
        honestly, this book was disappointing. katniss went from an admirable main character to a useless hero. some parts in the novel were good, like finnick and annie's wedding, but the ending was horrible and it just seemed very rushed.
        • rose76
          rose76Wednesday, August 12, 2020 at 4:37 pm55 stars
          This book is a most read. I love this book!
          • jojo424
            jojo424Tuesday, August 11, 2020 at 11:53 am55 starsFeatured
            I absolutely love this book! The last book in the famous trilogy gives you the rebellion that we've all been waiting for! Mockingjay gives all the things you could ever want in a great book. Rebellion, suspense, troubling romance, sad deaths (yes. a book would not be complete without some very sad deaths...). Leaving off from the second book Catching Fire, Katniss finds out that District 12 is no more. Mockingjay starts in the ruins of 12 where Katniss sees all the dead bodies of 12. Gale having saved about 800 people of 12 had them moved to 13, The long lost district that just happens to still be alive. Katniss is starting to lose herself. She is going a bit mental from all this information she doesn't want to know. All she knows is that she killed this dead body and that dead body and that one as well. She just knows it's her fault about everything. The berries, the arrow in the force field, Peeta being left behind. In Mockingjay, this book shows how Katniss becomes the Mockingjay, how she struggles to stay alive. With Coin on her tail and Plutarch telling her to do this and that, she starts tuning out and doing her own thing. In the second half of the book, we start venturing through the Capitol and how the Star Team (The ones actually filmed and the ones who die and we acknowledge it) goes on a mission to kill Snow. As I said earlier, it includes deaths of great people and grief that goes for eternity. All I know is that this is must read (but not a must read before the must read first and second book--which means you have to read those two first) and I love it. If you enjoy troubling romance, rebellion, a bit of death to add in the heat, courageous and brave people, filming, and coming-of-age, you will like this book. I am going to say that this book is meant for slightly older kids but if you wanna read go ahead and do so. I just think that some of the material in the book would be a little harder to understand if you are younger. But do what you want! I'll be reading this book when I'm 80 years old lol. But as I said, don't read the amazing book until you read the amazing first and second books! Make sure to watch the not-as-amazing-but-still-awesome movies after as well! (The third book is split into two movies.) I hope you like this book series as much as I do!
            • hockey_kid77
              hockey_kid77Tuesday, August 11, 2020 at 5:33 am55 stars
              The final book of the series, Mockingjay, is a great book. It's about Katniss Everdeen, and the Capitol's President Snow, and the fighting between the 13 districts and the Capitol. The ending was very sad yet it fits the book. I highly recommend it.
              • glitterclaws
                glitterclawsTuesday, June 30, 2020 at 5:44 pm55 stars
                Wonderful book couldn't stop reading! This book has Amazing depth, the author seems to have a unlimited amount of creativity. I love the whole trilogy.
                • happypig2020
                  happypig2020Tuesday, June 30, 2020 at 3:37 pm
                  The books that were in this series were amazing so I want to read this one too
                  • sue-zhp
                    sue-zhpMonday, June 29, 2020 at 11:33 am55 stars
                    I am reading this book right now and I love it
                    • shewerebear
                      shewerebearThursday, June 11, 2020 at 6:19 am55 stars
                      At least it ended well for Katniss and Peeta, though I kinda feel bad for Gale ,but overall I love it.