Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 12Z5.784898

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. And a strange collection of very curious photographs. It all waits to be discovered in "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children", an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children who once lived here - one of whom was his own grandfather - were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a desolate island for good reason. And somehow - impossible though it seems - they may still be alive. A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children" will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Hardcover, 540 pages
Published on August 1, 2012 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 1410450236
ISBN-13: 9781410450234
174 Book Reviews
  • jazmine2008
    jazmine2008Wednesday, March 24, 2021 at 11:15 am22 stars
    it is a good book but I didn't really like it but i know someone will love it.
    • sami_playz
      sami_playzMonday, February 8, 2021 at 7:03 pm55 stars
      I love the movie and the book both are so well done there is love action adventure and danger. So good.
      • lilabug
        lilabugWednesday, September 2, 2020 at 10:08 am55 stars
        I love this book and i love the movie. to me it is a chilling story with adventure danger and love and i just love it!
        • roxanne3
          roxanne3Thursday, May 28, 2020 at 11:45 am55 stars
          I love this series!! All the books are so good!! In these, there is a teenager named Jacob. His grandpa suddenly dies, killed by a creature that only Jacob can see. His last words lead Jacob to a small island, were he meets a group of 'peculiars.' In this group is Emma, a girl that Jacob's grandpa actually dated and fell in love with. She is still alive because the group is living in a time loop, which repeats the same day over and over again so the kids never die. Jacob falls in love with Emma too, and Jacob learns about the whole group, because they have to trust each other if they want to save the whole peculiar world. I recommend this book!!!!
          • chalas1920
            chalas1920Thursday, April 9, 2020 at 8:41 am55 stars
            Imagine losing someone you love, and to be left with a mystery that won’t leave you alone until you figure it out. In the book Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs, the protagonist Jacob experiences the loss of his grandfather and goes through a lot of confusion and mystery after his last words. The setting is in Jacob hometown of Englewood Florida, Cairnholm UK, and Cairnholm UK on September 3 1940. The two main antagonists are Jacob’s grandfather's last words and the wights and hollowgasts. The conflicts that Jacob faces in the book are when his grandfather dies and his last words tell Jacob to find something. Jacob faces the conflict of trying to figure out what his grandfather's last words are talking about. Another conflict that Jacob faces in the book is when he finds the loop that his grandfather is talking about and he finds the peculiar children and Miss Peregrine, one of Miss Peregrine’s friends from another loop comes to warn them that there loop might be attacked by wights and hollowgasts in the near future. When they hear this they go on full lock down mode. Jacob’s aha moments in the book are when he finds out he is peculiar when he is out with one of his friends Emma and when he figures out what his grandfather’s last words mean. I think anyone who might be looking for something new and different to read, and is interested in topics of fantasy and a little bit of darkness would like this book. There are many photographs throughout the book as Jacob discovers things and it helps make the story come to life. I really enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend the entire series. Warning- minor language.
            • kaerou1920
              kaerou1920Friday, April 10, 2020 at 6:41 am55 stars
              Great description of the book. It brings out the best parts of Miss Peregrines home for peculiar children. Great job!
            • slyterclaw53
              slyterclaw53Friday, February 21, 2020 at 6:47 am55 stars
              This book makes me fall in love with every character! So good! #millardnullings
              • glitterclaws
                glitterclawsSaturday, October 5, 2019 at 4:46 pm55 stars
                I loved this book! i will admit it did get a little scary at certain points.
                • watercolrwonder
                  watercolrwonderTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 4:42 am33 stars
                  This book was pretty good. It was kind of a mix between action and horror, and it was a very cool concept. I enjoyed reading it, though it did get a bit tedious to read at times.
                  • dragonlove9
                    dragonlove9Wednesday, May 15, 2019 at 3:46 pm55 stars
                    This book is amazing! I would not recommend this for younger children because it swears and is creepy, but older ones can read it! It is the first book of the Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children series. It is Amazing! The photography of the one-page pictures is exactly what the book describes! This book has a movie as well, which I watched. Its a little creepy, though. Either way, I highly recommend this book!
                    • AtlantaSaturday, December 29, 2018 at 11:54 pm
                      SPOILER ALERT I was first scared when I read the first part of the book;I had to kind of admit that the monsters were scary.But I loved the part when Jacob the main character finds a loop at Cairnholm which a Ymbryne Miss Peregrine guards.Jacob finds outs how his grandfather lived.He even finds out that he has a perculiar talent of seeing a monster a hollow gast.