Children of the Red King #1: Midnight for Charlie Bone

Book 1 of 8 in the Children Of The Red King
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5U4.865006
A magical fantasy that is fast-paced and easy-to-read. Charlie Bone has a special gift- he can hear people in photographs talking.

The fabulous powers of the Red King were passed down through his descendants, after turning up quite unexpectedly, in someone who had no idea where they came from. This is what happened to Charlie Bone, and to some of the children he met behind the grim, gray walls of Bloor's Academy.

Charlie Bone has discovered an unusual gift-he can hear people in photographs talking! His scheming aunts decide to send him to Bloor Academy, a school for genius's where he uses his gifts to discover the truth despite all the dangers that lie ahead.
Hardcover, 416 pages
Published on March 1, 2003 by Orchard Books
ISBN-10: 0439474299
ISBN-13: 9780439474290
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • b-e-r-n-i-e
    b-e-r-n-i-eSunday, July 10, 2016 at 5:34 am
    it has a boring start
    • jarenlThursday, November 12, 2015 at 8:02 am
      Awesome, Awesome, AWESOME!!!!!! L.O.L :) ;)
      • cocollette
        cocolletteTuesday, January 27, 2015 at 5:30 pm55 stars
        loved it. actually, i loved the whole series. i reccomend it to... EVERYONE!!!!!
        • frozen0307
          frozen0307Friday, October 24, 2014 at 9:59 am55 stars
          I love this book because Charlie bone made some new friends at floors academy and when he looks at a picture he hears voices.
          • moneyballmanboy
            moneyballmanboyFriday, October 24, 2014 at 9:24 am55 stars
            I love this Book
            • kitkat163379
              kitkat163379Friday, October 17, 2014 at 8:59 am55 stars
              This book is totes 5 stars. I love it. I won't spoil it, but I really recommend it. READ IT!
              • bot
                botSunday, October 12, 2014 at 6:36 pm
                i loved it because of the magic
                • peace-lina
                  peace-linaSunday, March 9, 2014 at 7:53 am55 stars
                  I loved this book. It is about a boy and his terrible 3 aunts trying to get rid of him because they think he should go to an acadamy for children of the red king.
                  • sweetpicks
                    sweetpicksWednesday, February 19, 2014 at 1:08 pm55 stars
                    This was such a great book i would read it over and over ( which I have)
                    • AgustinWednesday, November 20, 2013 at 5:25 pm
                      This book is awsome because there are cats that are red,yellow, and an orange.