Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25

Book 1 of 7 in the Michael Vey Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 1 - 4n/a3.584020
The electrifying #1 New York Times bestselling first installment of the action-packed Michael Vey series from author Richard Paul Evans.

My name is Michael Vey, and the story Iโ€™m about to tell you is strange. Very strange. Itโ€™s my story.

To everyone at Meridian High School, Michael Vey is an ordinary fourteen-year-old. In fact, the only thing that seems to set him apart is the fact that he has Touretteโ€™s syndrome. But Michael is anything but ordinary. Michael has special powers. Electric powers.

Michael thinks he's unique until he discovers that a cheerleader named Taylor also has special powers. With the help of Michaelโ€™s friend, Ostin, the three of them set out to discover how Michael and Taylor ended up this way, but their investigation brings them to the attention of a powerful group who wants to control the electric children โ€“ and through them the world. Michael will have to rely on his wits, powers, and friends if heโ€™s to survive.
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on August 9, 2011 by Simon Pulse/Mercury Ink
ISBN-10: 1451656505
ISBN-13: 9781451656503
58 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • CarsonFriday, March 27, 2020 at 2:02 pm
    This book series was So AMAZING it was full adventure and excitement!!! loved it so much, It was the best series I have ever read. I would recommend it. Finished it in a few months, SO Great!! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜„
    • Trenton SchlessTuesday, December 10, 2019 at 7:02 am
      Best book I have ever read. I started reading the book in 5th grade and just finished the series in 6th but the series is still amazing. Full of action and very addicting. highly recommend the book.โคโค๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘:);-)
      • bookwave
        bookwaveWednesday, November 13, 2019 at 5:34 am55 stars
        This book was stupendous! I loved the twists, action, and the climax! This book had so much to read that I couldn't put it down. I read the entire book in one day and now I'm begging for the next. I definitely would read this book again. I recommend this book to fourth through seventh graders. 11 out of 10 stars.
        • cartpotato
          cartpotatoMonday, October 7, 2019 at 9:23 am55 stars
          It was very interesting. I like how the main character has a disability (Tourette Syndrome) but the book doesn't focus just on that. As a person with the disorder as well it is nice to see it in media. The book itself is very action packed and interesting. Would recommend.
          • bobWednesday, September 4, 2019 at 7:56 pm
            Amazing read! I highly recommend reading.
            • JBMonday, May 6, 2019 at 10:24 am
              Some would love to have the power to read minds, shoot out electricity, and see through walls, but in the book named Michael Vey: Prisoner of Cell 25 some people actually have powers like that. This book is one of the top ten best Science Fiction books that I have read, and I have read a lot of Science Fiction books. One of the main protagonists is a 14-year-old high schooler named Michael Vey. Michael has Tourette syndrome, a syndrome which can cause you to make repeated muscle movements, for example, blinking. When Michael was an infant, he was one of the 17 survivors of an accident that happened at the hospital he was at. Because of the accident, Michael now has electric powers, the power to pulse electricity out of his palms. Michaelโ€™s body constantly builds up electricity, like a cat rubbing against a rug continuously. One of Michaelโ€™s friends that is also one of the protagonists is Ostin Liss. Ostin is one of the only people to know that Michael has powers that no normal human should have. Ostin has an IQ of 155, because of Ostinโ€™s intellect, he helps Michael in many ways. Another friend of Michael is Taylor Ridley, who is also a survivor of the same accident Michael experienced. Her power is the ability to read another personโ€™s mind if theyโ€™re touching or if a lot of electricity is in the air. These three characters are the main protagonists in this story. At his school, Michael gets bullied. During one of Michaelโ€™s encounters with his bullies, he meets Taylor Ridley. They then learn that the other one has powers like theirs. Just because they learned about each other they got curious if there were more kids like them out in the world. That one encounter started the entire plot of the book and the series. In the beginning and throughout the book the story was projected perfectly, in my opinion. I personally like the idea that 14-year-olds get electric powers through technology. I have not read many books that have a plot like this. I have not read too many of the Authorโ€™s books, Richard Paul Evans, but I think when I read more of his books this would still be my personal favorite. The way the book is worded it can easily paint a picture of how the story is for you. The level of detail is astounding; in just a few short words you can imagine the way a room is. Richard Paul Evans has written prior to Michael Vey: Prisoner of Cell 25 around 20 books, and because of that, he is no stranger to writing books. If you are looking for a great book for a gift or just to read, I recommend this book. This is one of those โ€œI canโ€™t stop reading till the endโ€ books, but for people who like Science Fiction books, this is definitely one of those books. The characters are unique in many ways because they are very interesting, and I canโ€™t stop thinking about how they will change over time and over the series.
              • glitcher075
                glitcher075Sunday, May 5, 2019 at 2:39 pm55 stars
                really good book, I would definitely recommend this for mature readers.
                • rrWednesday, April 24, 2019 at 1:27 pm
                  I read it 9 times
                  • pokemonlover405
                    pokemonlover405Thursday, March 28, 2019 at 9:22 am55 stars
                    really like this book if you did too I recommend Percy Jackson and the Kane chronicles
                    • superthor
                      superthorSaturday, January 5, 2019 at 2:39 pm55 stars
                      This book is good and amazing!!!!