Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6S5.040009
Now a musical!

Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a menacing, kid-hating headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. It'll take a superhuman genius to give Miss Trunchbull what she deserves and Matilda may be just the one to do it!

Here is Roald Dahl's original novel of a little girl with extraordinary powers. This much-loved story has recently been made into a wonderful new musical, adapted by Dennis Kelly with music and lyrics by Tim Minchin.
Hardcover
ISBN-10: 2070501957
ISBN-13: 9782070501953
340 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Musfirah Sunday, February 2, 2020 at 11:45 pm
    I think that is book is good for kidz
    • hypocabo-158023958619
      hypocabo-158023958619Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 6:23 am55 stars
      In my opinion, I think this book is quite good because it has a lot young family drama and that was not really expected by me because this girl is like five but really smart like a fifth or sixth-grader not really but she is smart furthermore she also does wicked things to her parents like putting hair dye in conditioner and putting superglue in her dads also I think he is still bald and a good thing toward the end she got adopted by her teacher miss, honey.
      • jobyvijy-158023958501
        jobyvijy-158023958501Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 6:08 am55 stars
        I think that Matilda is good because it has an unexpected ending but, a good ending. Funny drama with the family. It's so good that a movie was made into a movie. It is kinda strange how come the author made a smart kid do bad things. Goodbye.
        • buby
          bubyTuesday, September 24, 2019 at 9:45 pm55 stars
          I really like it because when Matilda went to school her parents didn't care.And when she reads Nicholas Nickelby by Charles Dickinson it's super cool.I wish I were Matilda
          • luna9
            luna9Sunday, September 22, 2019 at 8:00 am55 stars
            I find the book Matilda engaging because there is so much going on in it. For instance, Matilda's Head Mistress hates little kids, and does terrible things to them, and it is very interesting to see what they do to get back at her.
            • imabookworm3
              imabookworm3Friday, August 2, 2019 at 8:00 am44 stars
              I decided to read Matilda because I really like Road Dahl. I thought it was super funny when they played tricks and I thought it had a good twist in the end. I really recommend it to anyone who l oves reading books because she loves books.
              • boysrule
                boysruleWednesday, July 31, 2019 at 6:46 pm55 stars
                Roald Dahl is one of m favorite authors and this book is one of my favorites. Matilda's power is so amazing and when she was talking with Ms. Honey ( her school teacher), Ms. Honey reveals a lot of secrets to Matilda. If you don't believe me, then read it yourself! ^0^
                • leafkitti
                  leafkittiWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 2:26 pm
                  Matilda is a very smart young girl, five and a half years old. At age three she taught herself to read, even though the family kept no books but newspapers and a cookbook in the house. When she goes to school, her teacher is a very nice woman named Ms. Honey. Ms. Honey immediately figures out Matilda's genius and together they figure out how to defeat the evil headmistress, Ms. Trunchbull, (also Ms. Honey's aunt) once and for all. This story is full of twists and turns, and I would highly recommend it to anybody who loves Roald Dahl's books.
                  • boysrule
                    boysruleMonday, November 25, 2019 at 2:42 pm55 stars
                    I like your thinking. Roald Dahl has such a huge imagination.
                  • Armaan Wednesday, June 5, 2019 at 2:25 pm
                    I enjoyed this book because it was very interesting to read and I was really impressed
                    • kgbradshaw
                      kgbradshawSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 6:30 am33 stars
                      I really like this book, even though it is a little low key until the climax, which happens a little later in the book. I would recommend it for older children. I personally would not read it again.