Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.262850

The first book in the action-packed series from New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman is perfect for young fans of James Patterson and John Grisham.

Eli Frieden lives in the most perfect town in the world: Serenity, New Mexico. Honesty and integrity are valued above all else. The thirty kids who live there never lie—they know it’s a short leap from that to the awful problems of other, less fortunate places.

Eli has never left Serenity . . . why would he ever want to? Then one day, he bikes to the edge of the city limits and something so crazy and unexpected happens, it changes everything. Eli convinces his friends to help him investigate further, and soon it becomes clear that nothing is as it seems in Serenity. The clues mount to reveal a shocking discovery, connecting their ideal crime-free community to some of the greatest criminal masterminds ever known. The kids realize they can trust no one—least of all their own parents.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on February 3, 2015 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 0062299964
ISBN-13: 9780062299963
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inmemoryofcpr
    inmemoryofcprWednesday, September 4, 2019 at 5:21 pm44 stars
    I loved this book so much. Ever since I've been introduced to Gordon Korman, I've been turned into a huge fan immediately. His books use many perspectives, which takes talent to do that. I love how he weaves a story and how he can easily transition into a different character. I would definitely recommend this and for ages 10+ It's a little different from his other books though, because it has a little sci fi. I like the mysterious atmosphere but I don't like how he connects everything.
    • BrookSunday, July 14, 2019 at 8:44 pm
      I did not understand this book se there are way too many characters exactly 29 and that’s a lot to remember
      • RyanMonday, January 28, 2019 at 11:00 am
        I liked it alot
        • QweMonday, August 13, 2018 at 5:59 pm
          It was awesome!
          • aria123
            aria123Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 1:41 pm55 stars
            The Gordon Korman has the most incredible books in the world. He wrote so many books and they are so incredible. I really wish I had all of his books, I could practicly read all of them in a day. Books are the most awesome thing in the world real.
            • grapefruit
              grapefruitWednesday, March 28, 2018 at 5:38 am55 stars
              Eli, Amber, Tori, and the 27 other kids in Serenity all suppose they're just the luckiest kids ever. Serenity--voted best city 14 times--is a wonder. Everyone owns a swimming pool, basketball court, and nice parents, until the day Randy moves and leaves a mysterious letter about the truth of Serenity. After a lot of adventures, including breaking into Serenity Plastic works (which is actually a scary spy hideout), driving a golf cart, and lots more--the kids discover that they are all part of "Project Osiris"--that they are all cloned from criminal masterminds! And never forget that the Surety ("purple people eaters" to the kids) are watching them...Read on and buckle up for a crazy adventure you've never even imagined!
              • MyNameIsConradSunday, December 11, 2016 at 6:59 am
                This is such a great book. Gordan Korman did an author visit to my school when he finished writing masterminds criminal destiny. I recommend reading this book vey much!
                • dogs4life
                  dogs4lifeThursday, May 19, 2016 at 11:40 pm
                  Its so amazing and is fulled with unexpected happenings.=0
                  • dogs4life
                    dogs4lifeThursday, May 19, 2016 at 11:37 pm
                    This book will blow your mind !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • aub112705
                      aub112705Wednesday, April 27, 2016 at 3:22 pm
                      amazing book!