Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 1 - 5n/a4.875464
A New York Times bestseller!

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic's wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic's highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country's most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths - until the day June's brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family's survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias's death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on November 29, 2011 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 039925675X
ISBN-13: 9780399256752
62 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nightelf
    nightelfFriday, June 19, 2020 at 10:35 am44 stars
    (MILD Spoiler alert!) Legend is a romantic thriller, filled with action, betrayal, and death at every step. It tells the story of two teens, June Iparis, and Daniel "Day" Wing. It is set in a dystopian America, where two superpowers, the Republic and the Colonies are at war. All kids must take their "Trial", a test to decide your future and your place in society at age 12. June is a prodigy, and passed her trial with full marks, and is the only one in the entire Republic to do so. Day is the most wanted criminal in the Republic, and his entire family(albeit his brother) thinks he's failed his trial, and dead. There is also a plague, a deadly disease going on, and because Day's youngest brother did not pass his trial, when he gets the plague, there is no helping him. When a catastrophic hospital break in by Day results in June's brother, Metias's death, June decided then and there that Day's life is hers. What happens next is a giant adventure, filled with suspense, romance, and bravery. When June figures out a deep, dark secret about the plague that will put the Republic to shame, she is conflicted between what she has been taught, and what she has learned. June realizes that there is no such thing as "honesty" in the Republic, and starts uncovering secret after secret, and finds out what really happened to Day during his trial. This book is amazing for fans of "The Hunger Games" and Marie Lu does an amazing job of writing a whole new world with groundbreaking technology, eye-opening secrets, and heart-shattering story. This book contains mild language, and is slightly gory, and I would recommend this for mature readers!
    • ethereal
      etherealMonday, May 18, 2020 at 11:11 am55 stars
      Great book, but I found it a little weird that their both 15..
      • 123Wednesday, February 5, 2020 at 8:41 pm
        This book is so good!!!! :)😍😆😆😆 I love this book!!!!!!
        • xisufitesu
          xisufitesuFriday, January 31, 2020 at 9:00 am55 starsFeatured
          This was an AMAZING book! If you like non stop action, neverending suspense, and even a little a bit of drama, then you would LOVE THIS BOOK! *minor spoilers ahead, read at your own risk!* This story takes place in the future, Los Angeles, where your future mainly depends on how you do in your trial, a test you take when you reach 10 years old. so far in this story, the book has two main characters, Day and June, Where Day has escaped his death after failing his trial and became a criminal to save his family, and then we have June, A real-life prodigy after being the only person to earn a perfect score on her trial. These two were never really destined to meet each other until one day, Day got away with a robbery by killing Junes brother, Metias. Now that Metias is dead, June is now destined to kill Metias's killer, Day. So now it's a challenging game of tag or hides and seeks, Day now needs to get enough money to save his brother, Eden, against the plague cure, and we have June, who joined the Republic to help her find Day and kill him, But what they don't realize is that there's a real dark secret about the Republic and the plagues, And now after June figures out from Metias, who sent her a secret message before he died, Now it becomes a race against time; June is now trying to rescue Day from the Republic without giving away that shes trying to help day, and figures out the truth about what happened to Day during his trial. In a book about Action, suspense, and drama, this is one of the greatest books I've read yet and now I'm excited to read the sequel to this book, Prodigy.
          • icedragonman
            icedragonmanThursday, January 30, 2020 at 9:06 am55 stars
            If like> Dystopian, Action, and Mystery...... THEN YOU WILL LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!! Legend is a book about the two groups: Republic and the Patriots. I don't want to spoil too much but it a mystery about a girl trying to find her brother's murderer. She stumbles to find Day(who she thinks killed her brother) but then realized that he was not the murderer so the rest of the book is....Sorry!!!! I think you should read it for yourself!!!!!
            • damnijemimah
              damnijemimahThursday, February 28, 2019 at 3:29 am55 stars
              Just started reading it in class yesterday. the introduction is very interesting can't wait to go and finish it when we do. We have now finished the book and it is an amazing but somewhat dad her the and if it. I will not give you any ideas on what the book is about.
              • layla1o13
                layla1o13Saturday, September 8, 2018 at 11:10 am55 stars
                this book was the best! 5 stars all the way good action fighting parts and romantic parts read it it is one of my faviorites!
                • ilovereading24
                  ilovereading24Monday, April 2, 2018 at 8:11 am55 stars
                  Such a great read! Marie Lu brings her characters to life. Young readers really want to continue to read to find out what happens with Day and June. The characters are well rounded. Her writing provides the alternate viewpoints and insights into the characters.
                  • noFriday, February 2, 2018 at 6:33 am
                    this is not the real book the real one is so much better
                    • meadowlark12
                      meadowlark12Monday, January 8, 2018 at 12:22 pm55 starsFeatured
                      Set in the future in America, this book is a suspenseful story about a well-known criminal, Day, and a military prodigy, June. Day is framed with the death of a high ranking official, Metias, who happens to be June's brother. June is the only kid to get a perfect score on her Trial, a test every ten year old is supposed to take. A high-ranking official like her brother, she is assigned the task of trying to capture Day so he can be executed. But as June goes undercover and meets Day, she discovers his true intentions. He doesn't want to harm people, but he has to in order to find a cure for his brother, Eden. As June searches for more evidence on Metias's death, she discovers the truth hidden from her, revealed by a hidden entry Metias wrote. This book is altogether gut-wrenching and full of betrayals and peril.