Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 1 - 5n/a4.875464
A New York Times bestseller!

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic's wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic's highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country's most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths - until the day June's brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family's survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias's death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on November 29, 2011 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 039925675X
ISBN-13: 9780399256752
64 Book Reviews
  • girlpower4ever
    girlpower4ever8 months55 stars
    The illustrations are gorgeous! While I still prefer the novel version of Legend, this graphic novel did the best with what it was given and still managed to capture the essence of the original story. A bit too fast-paced and choppy for me, but again, given that it is a graphic novel, major props to the writers and illustrators for containing a vastly diverse universe into a limited amount of pages and panels! I genuinely enjoyed this graphic novel and look forward to the rest!
    • girlpower4ever
      girlpower4ever8 months55 starsFeatured
      This book is heartwrenching, thrilling, and gorgeously written. The protagonists are Day, the most notorious criminal in the nation of the Republic, and June, known as the Republic's most gifted teenager. While they seem to be as different as different can be, their paths begin to cross when Day allegedly kills June's brother and June vows to hunt him down for it. While this novel could be written off as a typical dystopian book, I feel that the characters and world are multifaceted enough to stand their ground and create a wholly unique literary universe. Lu's writing style is concise, suspenseful, and enchanting. There's no denying certain flaws within each character, yet it's also impossible not to root for our brilliant-minded heroes while booing the enemy. What was first a required book on my school reading list quickly became one that I dreamed, lived, and breathed for days, eager for more of the story. With these things in mind, I rest my case that this novel is one of the best I have read.
      • nightelf
        nightelfover 1 year44 stars
        (MILD Spoiler alert!) Legend is a romantic thriller, filled with action, betrayal, and death at every step. It tells the story of two teens, June Iparis, and Daniel "Day" Wing. It is set in a dystopian America, where two superpowers, the Republic and the Colonies are at war. All kids must take their "Trial", a test to decide your future and your place in society at age 12. June is a prodigy, and passed her trial with full marks, and is the only one in the entire Republic to do so. Day is the most wanted criminal in the Republic, and his entire family(albeit his brother) thinks he's failed his trial, and dead. There is also a plague, a deadly disease going on, and because Day's youngest brother did not pass his trial, when he gets the plague, there is no helping him. When a catastrophic hospital break in by Day results in June's brother, Metias's death, June decided then and there that Day's life is hers. What happens next is a giant adventure, filled with suspense, romance, and bravery. When June figures out a deep, dark secret about the plague that will put the Republic to shame, she is conflicted between what she has been taught, and what she has learned. June realizes that there is no such thing as "honesty" in the Republic, and starts uncovering secret after secret, and finds out what really happened to Day during his trial. This book is amazing for fans of "The Hunger Games" and Marie Lu does an amazing job of writing a whole new world with groundbreaking technology, eye-opening secrets, and heart-shattering story. This book contains mild language, and is slightly gory, and I would recommend this for mature readers!
        • ethereal
          etherealover 1 year55 stars
          Great book, but I found it a little weird that their both 15..
          • 123almost 2 years
            This book is so good!!!! :)😍😆😆😆 I love this book!!!!!!
            • xisufitesu
              xisufitesualmost 2 years55 starsFeatured
              This was an AMAZING book! If you like non stop action, neverending suspense, and even a little a bit of drama, then you would LOVE THIS BOOK! *minor spoilers ahead, read at your own risk!* This story takes place in the future, Los Angeles, where your future mainly depends on how you do in your trial, a test you take when you reach 10 years old. so far in this story, the book has two main characters, Day and June, Where Day has escaped his death after failing his trial and became a criminal to save his family, and then we have June, A real-life prodigy after being the only person to earn a perfect score on her trial. These two were never really destined to meet each other until one day, Day got away with a robbery by killing Junes brother, Metias. Now that Metias is dead, June is now destined to kill Metias's killer, Day. So now it's a challenging game of tag or hides and seeks, Day now needs to get enough money to save his brother, Eden, against the plague cure, and we have June, who joined the Republic to help her find Day and kill him, But what they don't realize is that there's a real dark secret about the Republic and the plagues, And now after June figures out from Metias, who sent her a secret message before he died, Now it becomes a race against time; June is now trying to rescue Day from the Republic without giving away that shes trying to help day, and figures out the truth about what happened to Day during his trial. In a book about Action, suspense, and drama, this is one of the greatest books I've read yet and now I'm excited to read the sequel to this book, Prodigy.
              • icedragonman
                icedragonmanalmost 2 years55 stars
                If like> Dystopian, Action, and Mystery...... THEN YOU WILL LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!! Legend is a book about the two groups: Republic and the Patriots. I don't want to spoil too much but it a mystery about a girl trying to find her brother's murderer. She stumbles to find Day(who she thinks killed her brother) but then realized that he was not the murderer so the rest of the book is....Sorry!!!! I think you should read it for yourself!!!!!
                • damnijemimah
                  damnijemimahalmost 3 years55 stars
                  Just started reading it in class yesterday. the introduction is very interesting can't wait to go and finish it when we do. We have now finished the book and it is an amazing but somewhat dad her the and if it. I will not give you any ideas on what the book is about.
                  • layla1o13
                    layla1o13over 3 years55 stars
                    this book was the best! 5 stars all the way good action fighting parts and romantic parts read it it is one of my faviorites!
                    • ilovereading24
                      ilovereading24almost 4 years55 stars
                      Such a great read! Marie Lu brings her characters to life. Young readers really want to continue to read to find out what happens with Day and June. The characters are well rounded. Her writing provides the alternate viewpoints and insights into the characters.