Kid Authors: True Tales of Childhood from Famous Writers (Kid Legends)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7n/an/an/an/a

The series that includes Kid Presidents, Kid Artists, and Kid Athletes now chronicles the lives of Kid Authors! Here are true tales of famous writers, from long before they were famous—or even old enough to drive. Did you know:

Sam Clemens (aka Mark Twain) loved to skip school and make mischief, with his best friend Tom, of course!
• A young J. R. R. Tolkien was bitten by a huge tarantula—or as he called it, “a spider as big as a dragon.”
• Toddler Zora Neale Hurston took her first steps when a wild hog entered her house and started chasing her!

The diverse and inclusive cast includes Roald Dahl, Beverly Cleary, J. K. Rowling, Langston Hughes, Jules Verne, Lewis Carroll, Stan Lee, and many more.

Educator resources:

Download Kid Authors Educator's Guide 

 

Enter Your Class in the Kid Authors Writing Contest  

 

 

Hardcover, 200 pages
Published on October 10, 2017 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594749876
ISBN-13: 9781594749872
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • penguin313
    penguin313Tuesday, October 17, 2017 at 2:27 pm55 stars
    This book was awesome! It tells the stories of many famous authors such as Edgar Allan Poe, Mark Twain, Roald Dahl and more! The book also tells the stories of some authors you may not have heard of who wrote famous or classic adult books, and possibly introduce you to their books. Kid Authors continues the Kid series which tells childhood stories as well as fun facts and quotes.
    • maddyp18
      maddyp18Thursday, October 12, 2017 at 7:48 pm55 starsFeatured
      If you like to learn about the authors that wrote some of our favorite books, in an interesting way, this is the book for you. This Kid Authors book is all about the childhood of some of the authors we know and love, told in an interesting way. For instance, did you know that Jeff Kinney (he wrote Diary of a Wimpy Kid), based his books off of read life experience being the middle child? Also, did you know that Beverly Cleary struggled to read growing up? Roald Dahl even based his book "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" off his love and fascination of candy as a child. There are so many interesting facts in this book, and many exciting stories, too. With great illustrations and funny quips, this fiction book is a must-read!
      • eggyolk128
        eggyolk128Monday, October 9, 2017 at 1:26 pm55 stars
        This was a wonderful and I liked the drawings and the pictures.The famous authors were very interesting because some of them didn't like to read.The authors all had struggles in their lives. The book was interesting because they faced their fears and some of the authors even had siblings. Even though in the story it didn't look like they were going to become authors, they really did become authors. Some of the author's parents had diseases and some of the authors had diseases. I would recommend reading this book to third and forth graders. I read 20 pages each day and it was really long and took me over a week to finish reading it. I liked it and I enjoyed reading it everyday. In the beginning J.R.R.Tolkien was bitten by a Hercules baboon tarantula with was very fascinating because it was the size of a dinner plate.Some of the authors like Roald Dahl or Jeff Kinney I've heard of because I have read some of their books. I liked it when Mark Twain wore a suit that didn't fit then he had to tie the pants to his ears to make them short enough.
        • callie_b
          callie_bMonday, October 9, 2017 at 7:03 am55 starsFeatured
          Ever wondered about your favorite authors' childhoods? Kid Authors tells the incredible and inspiring true tales of authors through the ages, authors that you may have heard of, and other authors that you'll enjoy learning about! Some of the authors had problems like mean teachers and bullies, while others faced family issues. J. K. Rowling, who wrote the Harry Potter series, had a horribly mean teacher who labeled J. K. as one of the "stupid children!" But by 8th grade, she was considered one of the smartest and most capable students in the school! Some of the authors in this book based their best-selling stories and poems on their exciting or scary childhood experiences, like J. R. R. Tolkien, who wrote The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. Read about when he was young and faced a monkey intrusion, a kidnapping, and a deadly encounter with a venomous baboon spider! I was shocked and amazed by these awesome stories that I shared with my family. I learned a lot from these fun-to-read stories, and I recommend this book to anybody who loves to read and write. You never know, someday your stories from your childhood may be in a book just like this one!
          • jeffdaboss
            jeffdabossTuesday, October 3, 2017 at 3:58 pm55 starsFeatured
            Another great book in the funny and inspiring Kid Legends series. Just like the other books, readers can learn about legendary people in various careers. Now, we're learning about the authors you AND your parents know. Like the average kid, they too struggled with family, bullies, school, and much more. Jeff Kinney based his "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" series off of his crazy childhood experiences with his three siblings. Mark Twain was a wild child, just like his most famous character, Tom Sawyer. J.K. Rowling based Harry Potter's attire on her neighborhood friend whose last name was Potter. Some of Langston Hughes' poems came from the African American history his grandmother told him about. This book is uplifting because it shows that not everyone successful started out perfect. I strongly advise getting the whole series, even if being a well-known author or a world-class athlete isn't something you want to be.
            • snicker9
              snicker9Sunday, October 1, 2017 at 3:43 pm44 starsFeatured
              Kid Authors is the next book is the "Kid" series. It tells stories of famous writers from when they were children. Each story was slightly different. Some were about their family, and childhood experiences. Others were about their inspiration for their stories and how/when they began to write. One of my favorite stories was about Roald Dahl, and how he drew some of his stories from his childhood experiences. For example, he was inspired by a local candy shop he passed everyday as a boy, and later wrote Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I liked that this book was written in a narrative format, instead of straight facts about the author's life. It was a nice quick read. I recommend this book for elementary and middle school kids, especially those who like writing. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
              • llpanda
                llpandaFriday, September 29, 2017 at 1:15 pm55 stars
                In the continuation of the "Kid --- " series is Kid Authors. This book is really cool it tells all about famous authors when they were kids and the hard things they faced. My personal favorite part of this book was the back where it contained fun facts about many different authors. I would recommend this book to anyone especially who likes writing or reading.

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                sassymuffin

                I love the whole series. It is s...
                Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows

                sassymuffin

                I love the whole series. It is s...
                Harry Potter and the Half-Blood ...

                sassymuffin

                I love the whole series. It is s...
                Harry Potter and the Order of th...

                sassymuffin

                I love the whole series. It is s...
                Harry Potter And The Goblet Of F...