Kid Authors: True Tales of Childhood from Famous Writers (Kid Legends)

Book 3 of 4 in the Kids Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7n/an/an/an/a

The series that includes Kid Presidents, Kid Artists, and Kid Athletes now chronicles the lives of Kid Authors! Here are true tales of famous writers, from long before they were famous—or even old enough to drive. Did you know:

Sam Clemens (aka Mark Twain) loved to skip school and make mischief, with his best friend Tom, of course!
• A young J. R. R. Tolkien was bitten by a huge tarantula—or as he called it, “a spider as big as a dragon.”
• Toddler Zora Neale Hurston took her first steps when a wild hog entered her house and started chasing her!

The diverse and inclusive cast includes Roald Dahl, Beverly Cleary, J. K. Rowling, Langston Hughes, Jules Verne, Lewis Carroll, Stan Lee, and many more.

Educator resources:

Download Kid Authors Educator's Guide 

 

Enter Your Class in the Kid Authors Writing Contest  

 

 

Hardcover, 200 pages
Published on October 10, 2017 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594749876
ISBN-13: 9781594749872
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • pizzagirl7
    pizzagirl7Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 1:48 pm
    I won this yaaaaaayyyyyyyy😀😀😀😀😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻
    • ajg15
      ajg15Thursday, November 30, 2017 at 9:20 am
      I'll defiantly have to borrow this book from my sister who just won this lol
      • 123west
        123westSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 12:01 pm44 stars
        Every famous author was once a kid. This is a book about famous authors that are adults now. When they were kids, these had the same problems as some kids do. Some grew up to be storytellers and others did not share their imaginative stories with other people. For example, Langston Hughes had a to deal with divorce and J.K. Rowling had to fight bullies at her school. These people are some examples of author's childhoods. They were a kid at one point, just like you! Overall I enjoyed the illustrations and learned a lot about my favorite authors.
        • Adorkable <3Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 1:48 pm
          I need this book it is AMAZING !!
          • hiThursday, November 9, 2017 at 6:00 am
            I want this book.
            • evelyn21
              evelyn21Monday, November 6, 2017 at 5:20 pm55 stars
              This book sounds amazingly good!!
              • evelyn21
                evelyn21Monday, November 6, 2017 at 5:16 pm55 stars
                This book sounds really gooD!!
                • JusticeMonday, November 6, 2017 at 9:10 am
                  This book looks interesting I hope I can get a copy of it soon! PLZ
                  • 1234512345Monday, November 6, 2017 at 8:06 am
                    Its amazing
                    • minersteph117
                      minersteph117Saturday, November 4, 2017 at 12:09 pm
                      I would love to win a copy of Kid Authors: True Tales of Childhood from Famous Writers (Kid Legends). I’ve read books by some of the authors and have only heard of some. I have written to J.K. Rowling for a class project. I know Stan Lee is famous for all the Marvel superheroes. I love writing my own stories and hope to write a book when I grow up that someone on here might win to read someday. I would love to read stories about them as kids for more inspiration.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mar char wrote:

                      I AM almost done with the book o...
                      Wonder

                      mar char wrote:

                      I LOVE MAGIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                      The Magic Thief

                      yebuku57
                      yebuku57 wrote:

                      I read the whole series and its ...
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      misstan2003

                      im reading this book in class it...
                      Black and White