Kid Authors: True Tales of Childhood from Famous Writers (Kid Legends)

Book 3 of 6 in the Kids Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7n/an/an/an/a

The series that includes Kid Presidents, Kid Artists, and Kid Athletes now chronicles the lives of Kid Authors! Here are true tales of famous writers, from long before they were famous—or even old enough to drive. Did you know:

Sam Clemens (aka Mark Twain) loved to skip school and make mischief, with his best friend Tom, of course!
• A young J. R. R. Tolkien was bitten by a huge tarantula—or as he called it, “a spider as big as a dragon.”
• Toddler Zora Neale Hurston took her first steps when a wild hog entered her house and started chasing her!

The diverse and inclusive cast includes Roald Dahl, Beverly Cleary, J. K. Rowling, Langston Hughes, Jules Verne, Lewis Carroll, Stan Lee, and many more.

Educator resources:

Download Kid Authors Educator's Guide 

 

Enter Your Class in the Kid Authors Writing Contest  

 

 

Hardcover, 200 pages
Published on October 10, 2017 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594749876
ISBN-13: 9781594749872
30 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • moongirl1579
    moongirl1579Sunday, October 13, 2019 at 11:43 am55 stars
    This is THE BOOK for me because I'm writing a story and my friends say its really good. Im going to enter it in the NaNoWriMo ywp contest for young writers.
    • owl5day
      owl5dayFriday, September 27, 2019 at 10:53 am55 stars
      i really want to read this book because i have read 2 other books in the series . right now i am reading some animal rescue books which i might review later .
      • watercolrwonder
        watercolrwonderFriday, June 7, 2019 at 7:57 am44 stars
        If you want to be an author, this book is a good place to start. Each amazing author that everyone knows the name of was a kid once, with their own dreams and hopes. It is a good reminder that no matter where you are now, you can become something amazing!
        • beyourself
          beyourselfSunday, January 20, 2019 at 12:38 pm55 stars
          I recently got this book after purchasing Kid Scientists, and I LOVE both of them. The illustrations and witty and detailed, and the writing was descriptive and captivating. Definitely NOT your typical biography of an author!
          • pizzagirl7
            pizzagirl7Thursday, August 16, 2018 at 11:03 am55 stars
            This book is very good and inspiring I love it and I rate it 5,stars it is a great book for everyone!
            • luna83281
              luna83281Monday, January 22, 2018 at 9:38 am55 stars
              i llllooovee this book and i thank dogo books for picking me.i feel inspired with a pencil and notepad in my hand.
              • sports_star
                sports_starThursday, January 11, 2018 at 7:19 am44 stars
                (Thanks DOGObooks for choosing me to win this book [REALLY. This is great]) This book is really cool. Like all of the books in the kid authors series, Famous Authors is about authors - when they were kids! That's really what sets this book apart. All of the other books about authors are about their adulthood. But this one isn't. And it's the best one yet! For instance, did you know that when she was a kid J. K. Rowling played wizards with an Ian Potter? And that her chemistry teacher in school was the model for Snape? There are many other fun facts in this handy little book, so.... Read it! -UniPuppy reviews OUT
                • grapefruit
                  grapefruitSunday, December 17, 2017 at 1:42 am55 stars
                  Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Harry Potter, Marvel...who could ever put down these good books! And we can never stop thinking of how these authors get their inspiration. Here's the amazing truth: Roald Dahl was the sweet tooth kid, J.K. Rowling was the quiet girl, Stan Lee was the daydreamer...reading this book will let you understand the childhoods of all our fave authors! Please read this, it is an amazing book!
                  • pizzagirl7
                    pizzagirl7Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 1:48 pm55 stars
                    I won this yaaaaaayyyyyyyy😀😀😀😀😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻
                    • ajg16
                      ajg16Thursday, November 30, 2017 at 9:20 am
                      I'll defiantly have to borrow this book from my sister who just won this lol