Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7n/an/an/an/a

The series that includes Kid Presidents, Kid Artists, and Kid Athletes now chronicles the lives of Kid Authors! Here are true tales of famous writers, from long before they were famous—or even old enough to drive. Did you know:

Sam Clemens (aka Mark Twain) loved to skip school and make mischief, with his best friend Tom, of course!
• A young J. R. R. Tolkien was bitten by a huge tarantula—or as he called it, “a spider as big as a dragon.”
• Toddler Zora Neale Hurston took her first steps when a wild hog entered her house and started chasing her!

The diverse and inclusive cast includes Roald Dahl, Beverly Cleary, J. K. Rowling, Langston Hughes, Jules Verne, Lewis Carroll, Stan Lee, and many more.

Educator resources:

Download Kid Authors Educator's Guide 

 

Enter Your Class in the Kid Authors Writing Contest  

 

 

Hardcover, 200 pages
Published on October 10, 2017 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594749876
ISBN-13: 9781594749872
28 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • luna83281
    luna83281Monday, January 22, 2018 at 9:38 am55 stars
    i llllooovee this book and i thank dogo books for picking me.i feel inspired with a pencil and notepad in my hand.
    • sports_star
      sports_starThursday, January 11, 2018 at 7:19 am44 stars
      (Thanks DOGObooks for choosing me to win this book [REALLY. This is great]) This book is really cool. Like all of the books in the kid authors series, Famous Authors is about authors - when they were kids! That's really what sets this book apart. All of the other books about authors are about their adulthood. But this one isn't. And it's the best one yet! For instance, did you know that when she was a kid J. K. Rowling played wizards with an Ian Potter? And that her chemistry teacher in school was the model for Snape? There are many other fun facts in this handy little book, so.... Read it! -UniPuppy reviews OUT
      • grapefruit
        grapefruitSunday, December 17, 2017 at 1:42 am55 stars
        Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Harry Potter, Marvel...who could ever put down these good books! And we can never stop thinking of how these authors get their inspiration. Here's the amazing truth: Roald Dahl was the sweet tooth kid, J.K. Rowling was the quiet girl, Stan Lee was the daydreamer...reading this book will let you understand the childhoods of all our fave authors! Please read this, it is an amazing book!
        • pizzagirl7
          pizzagirl7Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 1:48 pm
          I won this yaaaaaayyyyyyyy😀😀😀😀😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻
          • ajg15
            ajg15Thursday, November 30, 2017 at 9:20 am
            I'll defiantly have to borrow this book from my sister who just won this lol
            • 123west
              123westSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 12:01 pm44 stars
              Every famous author was once a kid. This is a book about famous authors that are adults now. When they were kids, these had the same problems as some kids do. Some grew up to be storytellers and others did not share their imaginative stories with other people. For example, Langston Hughes had a to deal with divorce and J.K. Rowling had to fight bullies at her school. These people are some examples of author's childhoods. They were a kid at one point, just like you! Overall I enjoyed the illustrations and learned a lot about my favorite authors.
              • Adorkable <3Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 1:48 pm
                I need this book it is AMAZING !!
                • hiThursday, November 9, 2017 at 6:00 am
                  I want this book.
                  • elisa45
                    elisa45Monday, November 6, 2017 at 5:20 pm55 stars
                    This book sounds amazingly good!!
                    • elisa45
                      elisa45Monday, November 6, 2017 at 5:16 pm55 stars
                      This book sounds really gooD!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      inc1boy
                      inc1boy wrote:

                      This book was the funniest book ...
                      Bird & Squirrel on the Edge!

                      muddpuddle
                      muddpuddle wrote:

                      I really enjoy this book in whic...
                      Around the World in 80 Days

                      bunny_ball
                      bunny_ball wrote:

                      I recommend this book. It is ab...
                      Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane G...

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      This book wasn't really good. It...
                      Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane G...