Kid Activists: True Tales of Childhood from Champions of Change (Kid Legends)

Book 6 of 6 in the Kids Series

Moving, funny, and totally true childhood biographies of Martin Luther King Jr., Susan B. Anthony, Helen Keller, Malala Yousafzai, and 12 other inspiring activists.

Every activist started out as a kid—and in some cases they were kids when their activism began! But even the world’s greatest champions of civil liberties had relatable problems, often in the middle of extraordinary circumstances. Kid Activists tells their childhood stories through kid-friendly texts and full-color cartoon illustrations on nearly every page. The diverse and inclusive group encompasses Susan B. Anthony, James Baldwin, Ruby Bridges, Frederick Douglass, Alexander Hamilton, Dolores Huerta, Helen Keller, Martin Luther King Jr., Nelson Mandela, Iqbal Masih, Harvey Milk, Janet Mock, Rosa Parks, Autumn Peltier, Emma Watson, and Malala Yousafzai.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 24, 2019 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1683691415
ISBN-13: 9781683691419
65 Book Reviews
  • animal_love
    animal_loveMonday, February 15, 2021 at 12:07 pm55 stars
    I LOVE this book because it told all about activists and it was so interesting. I recommend this book to everyone that is looking for a book about activists. :)
    • crazber
      crazberThursday, February 4, 2021 at 1:42 pm55 stars
      This book is really cool. It has a lot of diversity, there are people that come from different countries, and have different views. I like this book a lot.
      • unicorn87
        unicorn87Thursday, February 4, 2021 at 1:25 pm55 stars
        this is such a great book. KIDS RULE THE WORLD!!!!
        • kcloveballet
          kcloveballetTuesday, November 24, 2020 at 12:56 pm55 stars
          This is a good book
          • jkbear
            jkbearTuesday, November 17, 2020 at 3:43 pm55 stars
            This is a really good book!
            • blossomreader
              blossomreaderTuesday, November 17, 2020 at 1:55 pm55 starsFeatured
              I received this book from DOGO as part of Summer Reading, so Thank you DOGO! I hope I wrote a good review of this book! So many kids think that they can't change the world, that they are too young. Well, they are wrong because all these kids, from even as young as 10 years old can become a change for the better of this world. A young girl, Autumn Peltier stood up for her hometown's clean water rights at a super young age! Martin Luther played tricks on his poor piano teacher and took after his dad in standing up for what's right. Malala went as far as being shot in the head, and still, she stood up for girls' education even now. If you want to be inspired and know you can change the world, read this book, Kid Activists. It will show you that kids can make a difference, so if you have something you can stand up for, go for it! I loved this book so much, and I'll bet you will too! I give this book a five-star!
              • phantasticgus
                phantasticgusSunday, October 11, 2020 at 10:05 am44 stars
                Did you know that Martin Luther King Jr. played pranks on his piano teacher when he was a child? Have you ever heard of Autumn Peltier, who became an activist for water at age ten? If you’re already excited to read this book, Kid Activists is for you! You will definitely find out cool facts about some of the most amazing rebels of all time, from Malala Yousafzai to Alexander Hamilton. Get ready to read—get ready to meet amazing people in Kid Activists!
                • jkbear
                  jkbearTuesday, November 17, 2020 at 3:43 pm55 stars
                  thx. I really want to read it
                • willow123goma
                  willow123gomaThursday, October 1, 2020 at 3:48 pm55 stars
                  I received this book as a prize. This is a book about historical activists when they were a kid, just like you and me! This book not only informed me about many activists' lives, but taught me a great lesson. "You don't have to be a adult to cause good change for the world. You have to start somewhere, so do what is possible in your ability." I definitely recommend this book!
                  • prettychick
                    prettychickSunday, August 30, 2020 at 11:34 am55 stars
                    Very amazing book!!
                    • hermioneg22
                      hermioneg22Wednesday, August 26, 2020 at 4:52 pm55 stars
                      I read this and it's awesome!!!!!!!!!!!