Kid Activists: True Tales of Childhood from Champions of Change (Kid Legends)

Book 6 of 6 in the Kids Series

Moving, funny, and totally true childhood biographies of Martin Luther King Jr., Susan B. Anthony, Helen Keller, Malala Yousafzai, and 12 other inspiring activists.

Every activist started out as a kid—and in some cases they were kids when their activism began! But even the world’s greatest champions of civil liberties had relatable problems, often in the middle of extraordinary circumstances. Kid Activists tells their childhood stories through kid-friendly texts and full-color cartoon illustrations on nearly every page. The diverse and inclusive group encompasses Susan B. Anthony, James Baldwin, Ruby Bridges, Frederick Douglass, Alexander Hamilton, Dolores Huerta, Helen Keller, Martin Luther King Jr., Nelson Mandela, Iqbal Masih, Harvey Milk, Janet Mock, Rosa Parks, Autumn Peltier, Emma Watson, and Malala Yousafzai.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 24, 2019 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1683691415
ISBN-13: 9781683691419
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Eva Friday, December 20, 2019 at 9:30 am
    The computer has not changed since the last time I was Jack white in a video game that has no idea how much of it was going to make a phone or phone or on college or just one day atv and I am going for it to a second day in iPad pro for the first day in my life and my phone is going on the phone I TO TV wheel drive to make sure that I am a fan so I'm still a bit more likely than my first da Vinci to be the best in my life as well but it iPad is the only one of my heart to make this movie a bit better than I did on a day in a year with no one else in iPad and I would have been a phone manager and Tim is the only guy that can tell you what to make of it and I am very proud that it is the first thing that has ever been done by my life I have a phone call and it has
    • frankie!Wednesday, December 18, 2019 at 8:31 am
      It was okay.
      • llpanda
        llpandaMonday, August 5, 2019 at 10:12 am33 stars
        Just like the other great books in this series, Kid Activists reminds us that we don't have to be a somebody to make a difference in the world. This book contains stories of some important and influential activists when they were kids. You'll enjoy learning about the small differences they made as kids that later turned out to make a huge difference in their world. I like some of the other books in this series better than this one but that doesn't mean that this one is good too.
        • selina
          selinaSunday, August 4, 2019 at 10:26 am55 stars
          This book is the most inspiring book I have ever read. The tells the story of people who faced many hardships since they were children. It shows how they fought against what they were forced to do. And in the end they did succeed. This book should be read by people of all ages because they will get the same will power that these activist had since childhood. I believe that once the reader finishes this book, they will surely fell very motivated to do the same for them and the people around them.
          • pikachu1228
            pikachu1228Friday, August 2, 2019 at 11:01 am55 stars
            Awesome just like the previous books in the Kids Series!!! This book is great because you learn about so many amazing people who started out as a kid just like all of us. This book inspires you to think if Emma Watson could become a movie star then why not follow your dreams? You also learn about people from different decades and different nationalities which is pretty cool. So many fun facts in one book and some funny parts too! I really enjoyed it!
            • isabellagamerab
              isabellagamerabFriday, July 26, 2019 at 1:18 am55 stars
              I love this book so munch its the best i think we should make more books
              • readingkendal
                readingkendalMonday, July 22, 2019 at 3:34 pm55 stars
                Before every great activist can start playing their role they all start out as the same thing, a Kid. The stories of famous activists such as Rosa Parks who before refusing to give up her seat to a white man, she was memorizing bible verses like any other kid. And before Iqbal Malish could work to end child slavery, he was being took care of by his older sisters. And that is just the start! Kid Activists: True Tales of Childhood from Champions of Change tells the true childhood stories of Well-Known activists. Learn about how Alexander Hamilton got into the love of reading, how MLK JR rebellled against his dad by not becoming a preacher and becoming a lawyer instead. Out of all the Kid Legends books I have read, this is one of my favorites! Recommended to any Kid Legend book and story lovers!
                • hummingbird1
                  hummingbird1Saturday, July 20, 2019 at 6:59 pm44 starsFeatured
                  There are many people who have helped shape our world and society into the place it is today. You might recognize Helen Keller, who was blind and deaf but fought for the rights of disabled people. You might also know Martin Luther King Jr. who wanted equal rights for everyone. When you look back on these people, it seems like they were special and we could never do what they did. However, Kid Activists tells how these incredible people started out as regular, fun loving kids, just like you and me. In Kid Activists, you will hear the journey of the men and women that paved the way for our rights from the day they were born until their last breath. You will learn their interests as a kid, their strengths and weaknesses, and what they did to shape our world. I loved hearing the encouragement that someone like me could do something big like them. I definitely recommend Kid Activists to any kid, and I hope inspires you the way it inspired me.
                  • jeffdaboss
                    jeffdabossFriday, July 19, 2019 at 1:46 pm44 stars
                    Kid Activists is another good book in the Kid Legends series. It's about popular activists in their childhood. It covers a variety of activists, some of which I have never heard of, like Dolores Huerta. It discusses activists who ended up helping abolish slavery, like Alexander Hamilton and Rosa Parks. It presents activists who were born recently, like Emma Watson and Malala Yousafzai. It even features activists who became popular activists as a child, like Iqbal Masih and Autumn Peltier. This book encompasses a range of people who used their voices and experiences to change the world. This book is great for many because it inspires kids to use their voice, just like these kid activists.
                    • ajg16
                      ajg16Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 6:42 pm55 stars
                      Almost every person in history who have changed the world started out as a kid who didn't think they could accomplish what they did in there life times. Read about Malala Yousafzai who stood up for her rights as a girl to go to school, or about Martin Luther king Jr. Who stood up for people's rights and got the ball rolling for ending segregation. I could go on and on about the amazing people in this book, but all I know is this is an absolute must read! I learned many things about history I didn't know about before. I would recommend this for ages 11+ Thanks for reading -Ajg16's reviews