Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.598578

In this riveting debut, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world—before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. And Sophie has a secret—she’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and almost instantly she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.
But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on October 2, 2012 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442445939
ISBN-13: 9781442445932
198 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • menaz_ace
    menaz_aceWednesday, February 17, 2021 at 7:25 am55 stars
    the first book is awesome and I like the covers of all the books
    • violetbutterfly
      violetbutterflyTuesday, January 26, 2021 at 2:43 pm55 stars
      I LOVE this book and series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is about a girl named Sophie Foster who is a Telepath, which means she can hear other people's thoughts. On a class trip, a boy named Fitz finds her and brings her to the elven world. Sophie is an elf, but when she is tested by the Councillors of their world, they discover nobody can hear Sophie's thoughts. This, and many other abilities link her to a mystery involving the white hot and sweet-smelling fires burning around her San Diego home and Sophie's mysterious talents.
      • live1357
        live1357Monday, January 25, 2021 at 1:32 pm55 stars
        Keepers of the lost cities is a must read book because it talks about a girl named Sophie, that she is an Telepath, and a elf. She realizes that she can't stay with her normal family, so she is taken to stay with her relatives in the lost cities. Sophie has an amazing adventure while learning new things along the way. This is why you should read this book.
        • sydney_zepp
          sydney_zeppSaturday, January 16, 2021 at 2:02 pm55 stars
          Okay,so, I have seen these books for a while now, but I never really knew if I did or didn't wanted to read them, and I didn't realize it was a whole series, so I was going to read one that was in the middle of the series, but didn't have time with school and everything. But anyways, I saw @teagytornado101 giving it a 5 star review, so I decided to see if I could find the first, and I did! I'm on chapter 4 and it took me like 10 minutes to read up to there because it has already been soooo good! I think Fitz is my fav character so far, but I can definitely relate to Sophie in a way. but yeah, I don't want to give you any spoilers at all, and you guys should definitely read it! It's an awesome book, and I will definitely be reading more! Update: it just keeps getting better! I haven't had much time to read it (I have to do my school, I have to feed goats, and I have to train my border collie puppy Dixie, and I have to practice my instruments and singing (it's my choice to pplaylay them all, but still. )😬) but I will definitely finish it within the next week and leave a full review.
          • bookfanatic
            bookfanaticFriday, January 15, 2021 at 5:51 pm
            This book was amazing it had a world of what they call animals, but we call them fantasy creatures what is fantasy to us is just regular life to them from the light leaping to the elves with the ability to glimmer and in the book we can watch Sophie transfer from thinking she was human and heard voices to being known as project moonlark and being one of the most powerful telepaths/ Elves ever.
            • teagytornado101
              teagytornado101Wednesday, January 13, 2021 at 7:04 am55 stars
              This book was awesome! Sophie foster is by far my favorite Character. And I have read books 1-5 and there are a lot of good characters. I rate this book 5 stars for sure!
              • lovelyappleblos
                lovelyappleblosSaturday, January 2, 2021 at 7:08 pm55 stars
                This book was the best book I have ever read. The plotline is so interesting a suspenseful. This is a 100% recommended book for everyone, especially the ones who like adventure and suspense. I truly think this is a really good book. I also really liked the ending. It was the best possible way to wrap up the book. I liked that they explained most of the loose ends of the book while leaving the perfect things a mystery for the next book. When I started reading this book because my friend recommended it, I thought it would be boring. But when I started reading I could not put this book down. Trust me you will love this book. Definitely check this book out. Also Don't let all the pages fool you because when you reach the end you will want more.
                • SOMEONEMonday, November 30, 2020 at 11:10 am
                  I am in 4th grade and it is one of the best book i have ever read in my life!!! I highly recommend it. Also, the next book 8.5 does have some reading parts.
                  • chloele
                    chloeleThursday, November 26, 2020 at 7:16 pm55 stars
                    I randomly read this book, but found this quite thrilling. It was all so full of action!
                    • daniellee
                      danielleeWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:17 pm55 stars
                      I love this book! I read the whole series!