Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.598578

In this riveting debut, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world—before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. And Sophie has a secret—she’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and almost instantly she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.
But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on October 2, 2012 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442445939
ISBN-13: 9781442445932
108 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • WutSaturday, June 22, 2019 at 10:53 pm
    Team Foster-Keefe !!!!! The ship has officially set sail!
    • kgautam
      kgautamFriday, May 31, 2019 at 9:51 am55 stars
      shannon messenger is just so talented with words, and i cannot wait for the next book! i love sophie and her character (sophitzzzzzz) and how she can play such a powerful part in her world.
      • lunalovegood8
        lunalovegood8Sunday, May 26, 2019 at 10:50 am55 stars
        This book was great!! I loved it because the characters were fun and exciting. The story was also interesting, and I really liked the school, Foxfire Academy. This is a great book.
        • bibliophile3
          bibliophile3Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 9:18 am55 stars
          This book is amazing.The locations are creative and breathtaking.The characters are amazing and have struggles instead of being cardboard cutouts.The characters were super entertaining to read about especially Keefe. This was also filled with action and suspense.The book had a bit of cliches but it was still good.It feels like a mix of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson.Would definitely recommend
          • bibliophile3
            bibliophile3Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 9:01 am55 starsFeatured
            This book was amazing..It felt kind of like Harry Potter and Percy Jackson.The locations in this book are so creative .It was also full of amazing action.The characters were amazing,especially Keefe. The plot was a bit of a cliche but I don't really mind.I love this book.This is a great introduction to a great series.Would definitely recommend.I give this book 5 stars
            • TDestroyer91Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 1:19 pm
              I love this book it was the only Book that provided any fun for me!
              • glitterclaws
                glitterclawsFriday, May 10, 2019 at 6:24 pm55 stars
                I have read all the books can't wait for the next book to come out its my favorite series i l love them.
                • nac
                  nacThursday, May 9, 2019 at 1:57 pm55 stars
                  I have read the first chapter online and I am dying to read more. It is so good. I wanted to enter the contest but I missed it.
                  • dancindolphin
                    dancindolphinWednesday, May 8, 2019 at 5:48 am55 stars
                    I first noticed that others in my class were reading it and liked it, so I looked into it. It had (and still has) everything a good book needs: action, bit o' magic, teamwork, and unusual circumstances. This girl LOVED it!♡☺
                    • catSunday, May 5, 2019 at 7:49 am
                      an asome book srese