Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.368742
Newbery Medal winner Kelly Barnhill spins a wondrously different kind of fairy-tale: In most fairy tales, princesses are beautiful, dragons are terrifying, and stories are harmless. But this isn't most fairy tales...

Princess Violet is plain, reckless, and quite possibly too clever for her own good. Particularly when it comes to telling stories. One day she and her best friend, Demetrius, stumble upon a hidden room and find a peculiar book. A forbidden book. It tells a story of an evil being, called the Nybbas, imprisoned in their world. The story cannot be true--not really. But then the whispers start. Violet and Demetrius, along with an ancient, scarred dragon-the last dragon in existence, in fact-may hold the key to the Nybbas's triumph or its demise. It all depends on how they tell the story. After all, stories make their own rules.

Iron Hearted Violet is a story about the power of stories, our belief in them, and how one enchanted tale changed the course of an entire kingdom.

A 2012 Andre Norton Award Finalist
A Parents' Choice Gold Award Winner
Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on October 9, 2012 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316056731
ISBN-13: 9780316056731
78 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • zozeez
    zozeezFriday, January 16, 2015 at 3:24 pm55 stars
    Quirky and Creative. This book is not to be missed. With it's contrasting characters, this story is one of a story gone wrong. Yes - a story about a story. Sort of. Violet is a princess. Not a perfect looking princess at all. With her mis-matched eyes, chipped tooth and unruly hair, she is the hero (or downfall!) of her kingdom. Alongside an old scarred, one eyed dragon, she fights to save her people from an evil (not to mention vain) god called the Nybbas. Join Violet in her adventure to save the mirrored world!
    • gtaylor505
      gtaylor505Wednesday, May 1, 2013 at 3:50 pm44 stars
      Iron Hearted Violet is a fun and creative story about the last dragon in the universe, and an evil being no one dares speak of…and can one unique princess and her fiend defeat it? Find out in this book!
      • pearlisha
        pearlishaThursday, March 28, 2013 at 9:39 am44 stars
        this is fun to read
        • athenaMonday, October 29, 2012 at 4:57 pm
          sounds like i good book
          • cahill74
            cahill74Thursday, October 25, 2012 at 9:24 pm
            many people have told me it is a really good book! i will trust their opinion and i hope i will win!
            • mmsrulesThursday, October 25, 2012 at 5:39 pm
              This isn't your regular, everyday princess fairy tale. There is some aspects that can catch you by surprise. Like how a painting can control you. Also, this princess isn't beautiful and doesn't have a million guys chasing after her. She has one friend. His name is Demetrius. They are good friends and one day, while exploring the castle, they come upon a mysterious room. It has a painting, and a mysterious feel to it. They find a book. The book is written in a mysterious language that neither Demetrius nor Violet can decipher. Some how, Violet becomes attracted to the book. It calls to her. Suddenly, Demetrius has the urge to leave the room. But Violet doesn't want to leave. And that is how the story starts. If you don't like the straight up cute fairy tales then this is the book for you. If I had to give it a rating, it would be a 4.5 out of 5. It was really interesting and keeps you on the edge of your seat.
              • dolphinusername
                dolphinusernameTuesday, October 23, 2012 at 6:59 am
                I really want to read this book it adds a feeling inside my heart that makes me want to find out what happens over and over and over again. I really want this book so much I can images me in the settings it's awesome READ IT
                • djgirl0329
                  djgirl0329Monday, October 22, 2012 at 4:23 pm
                  I think that maybe it is intersting because it has a princess in it I can tell it is going to be awesome
                  • piperiscool
                    piperiscoolMonday, October 22, 2012 at 3:16 pm55 stars
                    this looks like a great book cant wait to read it
                    • sweetsammy
                      sweetsammySunday, October 21, 2012 at 8:17 pm55 stars
                      I can see that this book is very interesting and the characters personalities, i bet this will of the best book i ever read.