Into the Lion's Den (Devlin Quick Mysteries, The)

Book 1 of 2 in the Devlin Quick Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.157675
Watch out, Nancy Drew—Devlin Quick is smart, strong, and she will DEFINITELY close the case in this thrilling new mystery series for girls and boys from New York Times bestselling author Linda Fairstein

Someone has stolen a page from a rare book in the New York Public Library. At least, that’s what Devlin’s friend Liza thinks she’s seen, but she can’t be sure. Any other kid might not see a crime here, but Devlin Quick is courageous and confident, and she knows she has to bring this man to justice—even if it means breathlessly racing around the city to collect evidence. But who is this thief? And what could the page—an old map—possibly lead to? With her wits, persistence, and the help of New York City’s finest (and, okay, a little bit of help from her police commissioner mother, too), Dev and her friends piece the clues together to uncover a mystery that’s bigger than anyone expected—and more fun, too.

With all of the heart-pounding excitement that made her internationally bestselling Alexandra Cooper series a hit, Linda Fairstein paves the way for another unstoppable heroine . . . even if she is only twelve.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on November 15, 2016 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0399186433
ISBN-13: 9780399186431
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • boomzoom
    boomzoomFriday, April 14, 2017 at 8:53 am
    Thanks Coco. I agree! This book is really exciting and you feel like you're apart of the story!
    • CocoMonday, April 10, 2017 at 6:56 pm
      This book is really awesome. It seems so real when you read the book, it feels like you are actually part of it. This book is a great read.
      • dylhou1617
        dylhou1617Thursday, December 1, 2016 at 3:45 pm
        Devlin Quick will solve the missing page. But her evidence seems its not on track. Their was a tall suspicious man that dropped a knife.this was a great book, I would recommend this book to anyone.
        • cuddlepuddlepup
          cuddlepuddlepupWednesday, November 30, 2016 at 4:56 pm
          this book sounds intersting
          • jeffdaboss
            jeffdabossTuesday, November 8, 2016 at 8:51 am55 starsFeatured
            Devlin Quick will solve the case of the missing page of the vandalized book at the library. But her evidence seems unreliable. Liza, her friend, only noticed a tall, suspicious man accidentally drop a knife on the floor and stuff a page from a rare book in his jacket. But she doesn't know which book it was, what page it was, and nobody except Devlin and her friend Booker believe her. It's a good thing that Devlin has used her skills she learned from her Police Commissioner mom and her friend detective to help her solve the case. The book gives interesting glimpses in the life of detectives while keeping it appropriate for kids. It touches on traits like moral courage and friendship. I give this book 5 stars.
            • cuddlepuddlepup
              cuddlepuddlepupWednesday, November 30, 2016 at 4:57 pm
              what do you think about this book?
            • snicker9
              snicker9Monday, October 31, 2016 at 1:01 pm
              It all starts when Delvin Quick's new friend Liza witnesses a robbery. Liza and Devlin are at the New York Public Library when Liza sees someone steal a page from a rare book-at least that what she thinks she sees. Devlin and Liza chase the thief but soon lose him in the crowds. But Devlin isn't ready to give up. Unfortunately, not many people believe them. And even though Devlin's mom is Police Commissioner, one possibly stolen page isn't the top priority. So, with the help of her friends(and some top-notch equipment at headquarters), Devlin begins an adventure in New York as she tries to solve this mystery. She is ready to prove that she has what it takes to be a real detective. I liked that since part of the story is that Liza has come to the Quick's home to live with them for a month, we get to know Devlin and her family in a way that we wouldn't if no new people were introduced. This is a difficult book to recommend to a certain age group. I feel like most of it is written for younger grades, but there are some high-tension scenes that may not be appropriate. So I would recommend this book to middle school students. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.

              Recent Kids Book Reviews

              maria12345
              maria12345 wrote:

              i love this book and now i am lo...
              Trivia: The Lost Symbol by Dan B...

              barty101
              barty101 wrote:

              My friend (shes next to me) (its...
              Wonder

              barty101
              barty101 wrote:

              Isnt this a TV show??? well i th...
              Hidden Figures Young Readers' Ed...

              barty101
              barty101 wrote:

              I love Chronicles of Narnia Its ...
              The Complete Chronicles of Narni...