Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a5.0106028

One choice can destroy you. Veronica Roth's second #1 New York Times bestseller continues the dystopian thrill ride that began in Divergent.

A hit with both teen and adult readers, Insurgent is the action-packed, emotional adventure that inspired the major motion picture starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, Ansel Elgort, and Octavia Spencer.

As war surges in the factions of dystopian Chicago all around her, Tris attempts to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Plus don't miss Veronica Roth’s thrilling novel Carve the Mark .

Hardcover, 544 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062024043
ISBN-13: 9780062024046
199 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nicegirl123
    nicegirl123Friday, July 10, 2020 at 7:31 pm55 stars
    I'm really lucky I had a chance to read this!! BEST book ever!!
    • girlpower4ever
      girlpower4everMonday, July 6, 2020 at 2:22 pm55 stars
      Beatrice, dubbed Tris, Prior's life is more dangerous than ever. While on the run from Jeanine Matthews and the rest of the power-hungrily ruthless Erudites, she and Four hurry to put together the pieces about the secret of Chicago. Why is Jeanine so desperate to protect the answer about the formation of the factions, to the extent that she would die for it to be kept secret? Dangerous scraps and bits about family, love, and creation fly as Tris throws herself into the middle of the action. This is a beautiful, fast-paced novel for anyone in the mood for an adventure, thriller, or romance - or maybe all three.
      • juniper01
        juniper01Wednesday, April 29, 2020 at 11:15 am
        I love this book because it has adventure and dangers and just keeps you wanting more and more.
        • invincikitty
          invincikittySaturday, December 7, 2019 at 1:53 pm55 stars
          I decided to read this book because I didn't have my mind made up, so you can say that I accidentally stumbled upon this book. I just loved this book because I am a great reader and I thought that this is a very good book. I enjoyed it very much. I hope you enjoy it the same.
          • Riva rocksSunday, October 13, 2019 at 1:08 pm
            I personally found this book pretty slow and not as interesting, it’s also pretty inappropriate tbh
            • shadow_shady
              shadow_shadySaturday, August 24, 2019 at 12:00 pm55 stars
              I prefer this to the first one, I don't know why, but I think this one was just fast and more interesting.
              • sylvie55555
                sylvie55555Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 2:35 pm55 stars
                This is the second book in the Divergent series and I highly recommend it. Tris's world is a mess and she and Four must work together and start to try and fix it. But when ever it seems like they have solved one thing another problem arrives. Will they be able to solve the problems? Read the book to find out!
                • ccplayzxd
                  ccplayzxdMonday, April 15, 2019 at 11:54 am55 stars
                  This is my second favorite book besides the first book divergent. So far I have loved this series and I'm falling for it even more!
                  • wonderwoman113
                    wonderwoman113Thursday, March 7, 2019 at 7:09 am55 stars
                    Best book ever!
                    • Yeet, Boi!Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 8:26 am
                      AMAZING!