Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a5.0106028

One choice can destroy you. Veronica Roth's second #1 New York Times bestseller continues the dystopian thrill ride that began in Divergent.

A hit with both teen and adult readers, Insurgent is the action-packed, emotional adventure that inspired the major motion picture starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, Ansel Elgort, and Octavia Spencer.

As war surges in the factions of dystopian Chicago all around her, Tris attempts to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Plus don't miss Veronica Roth’s thrilling novel Carve the Mark .

Hardcover, 544 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062024043
ISBN-13: 9780062024046
196 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • invincikitty
    invincikittySaturday, December 7, 2019 at 1:53 pm55 stars
    I decided to read this book because I didn't have my mind made up, so you can say that I accidentally stumbled upon this book. I just loved this book because I am a great reader and I thought that this is a very good book. I enjoyed it very much. I hope you enjoy it the same.
    • Riva rocksSunday, October 13, 2019 at 1:08 pm
      I personally found this book pretty slow and not as interesting, it’s also pretty inappropriate tbh
      • shadow_shady
        shadow_shadySaturday, August 24, 2019 at 12:00 pm55 stars
        I prefer this to the first one, I don't know why, but I think this one was just fast and more interesting.
        • sylvie55555
          sylvie55555Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 2:35 pm55 stars
          This is the second book in the Divergent series and I highly recommend it. Tris's world is a mess and she and Four must work together and start to try and fix it. But when ever it seems like they have solved one thing another problem arrives. Will they be able to solve the problems? Read the book to find out!
          • ccplayzxd
            ccplayzxdMonday, April 15, 2019 at 11:54 am55 stars
            This is my second favorite book besides the first book divergent. So far I have loved this series and I'm falling for it even more!
            • wonderwoman113
              wonderwoman113Thursday, March 7, 2019 at 7:09 am55 stars
              Best book ever!
              • Yeet, Boi!Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 8:26 am
                AMAZING!
                • shawty2233
                  shawty2233Tuesday, December 18, 2018 at 11:53 am
                  i love this book omg i love them all
                  • olliebob
                    olliebobTuesday, October 16, 2018 at 12:00 pm55 stars
                    This sequel to Divergent is so amazing. It reminds a lot of The Hunger Games, as far as similarities in action, romance, and plot. You know, society separated into several parts, an overthrow of government, they even take over minds like the tracker jacker venom did to Peeta. I like the way that there is no gap in time between the books. Anyway, those Dauntless who did not betray their faction are now on the run, refugees in their own society. Meanwhile, guilt eats away at Tris about killing her friend. She hasn't told anyone yet and she is scared that they will treat her differently. So finally, when she is forced to take truth serum and tells everyone about what happened, they feel angry and disappointed with her. Her relationship with Tobias is at a standstill and they don't trust each other, which is sad because they are SUCH a great couple! The Dauntless join the factionless and plan to attack the Erudite, while Tris is busy making her own plans. She's working with Tobias' abusive father, Marcus. Not because she want's to, but because she needs to know the truth about what's "outside the fence". What's in the outside world and why was it hidden, and, will Tris get to Jeanine in time to get the information?
                    • supTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 6:06 pm
                      OMG the worlds best book