Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.4146809
From the author of the sensational New York Times best-seller THE THIEF LORD comes a thrilling new adventure about magic and self-discovery.

Cornelia Funke, the enormously talented author of the international best-seller THE THIEF LORD, brings readers another spellbinding tale of adventure and magic.
Meggie lives a quiet life alone with her father, a book-binder. But her father has a deep secret-- he posseses an extraordinary magical power. One day a mysterious stranger arrives who seems linked to her father's past. Who is this sinister character and what does he want? Suddenly Meggie is involved in a breathless game of escape and intrigue as her father's life is put in danger. Will she be able to save him in time?
Hardcover, 544 pages
Published on October 1, 2003 by Chicken House
ISBN-10: 0439531640
ISBN-13: 9780439531641
59 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • peachescreamla3
    peachescreamla3Tuesday, March 17, 2020 at 1:25 pm55 stars
    Amazing read!so glad I found this in the library
    • peachescreamla3
      peachescreamla3Tuesday, March 17, 2020 at 12:56 pm55 stars
      Amazing tale of bravery and courage.sharing books is even better when you share books about sharing books. Amazing read! Really enjoyed it and you might too. The author is Cornelia Funke.
      • Yelda22Wednesday, November 27, 2019 at 5:02 pm
        I flew through this book and couldn't put it down! I immediately read the other books. You should defiantly read this book. I would think that you could do it from 3rd grade to 8th! One of my 3 FAVORITE books ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        • rylan99
          rylan99Monday, August 5, 2019 at 4:40 pm55 stars
          best book this summer i read
          • manahilali
            manahilaliFriday, April 26, 2019 at 6:57 am55 stars
            BEST BOOK EVER! Loved it. I would highly recommend it to adolescents. It is the first of the series. the other two books are Inkspell and Inkdeath. You will love them all.
            • remusfan12
              remusfan12Monday, March 18, 2019 at 7:50 am55 stars
              I really want to read the next two books i'm so excited.
              • remusfan12
                remusfan12Monday, March 18, 2019 at 7:47 am55 stars
                my mom used to read this book to me every night and I would literally scream at her until she read more. I decided to re read this book and i can't wait to finish. I love books almost as much as meggie does and this is one of my favorites
                • mathboy123
                  mathboy123Wednesday, February 27, 2019 at 2:20 pm55 stars
                  this book is awesome. It is filled with rich scenes as well as many plot twists. very good, i would recommend it to someone
                  • A Human BeingThursday, January 24, 2019 at 10:34 am
                    This book is awful. It is a dull landslide that calls itself a book, with boring, one-dimensional characters that are written terribly, and a plot like, " And then this happened. " So bad I could hardly read it. Don't waste your time with this one.
                    • remusfan12
                      remusfan12Monday, March 18, 2019 at 7:48 am55 stars
                      Well, I liked it Books are cool
                    • wiccanbat666
                      wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 11:26 am55 stars
                      I got this series for Christmas a few years ago and fell in love with the writing. The authour does not disappoint with amazing powers, thought provoking scenes and characters that you fall in love with. This book is great.