Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.4146809
From the author of the sensational New York Times best-seller THE THIEF LORD comes a thrilling new adventure about magic and self-discovery.

Cornelia Funke, the enormously talented author of the international best-seller THE THIEF LORD, brings readers another spellbinding tale of adventure and magic.
Meggie lives a quiet life alone with her father, a book-binder. But her father has a deep secret-- he posseses an extraordinary magical power. One day a mysterious stranger arrives who seems linked to her father's past. Who is this sinister character and what does he want? Suddenly Meggie is involved in a breathless game of escape and intrigue as her father's life is put in danger. Will she be able to save him in time?
Hardcover, 544 pages
Published on October 1, 2003 by Chicken House
ISBN-10: 0439531640
ISBN-13: 9780439531641
61 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gaytoastyb0i
    gaytoastyb0iMonday, October 19, 2020 at 6:37 pm55 stars
    The book is amazing, imagine reading your favorite book out loud to somene and the characters just pop out in exchange for something in your world. This is what happened to meggie the character. when she was young her father accadentally did it to her mother. This is just an amazing book and i think alot of people would like it
    • tnieves21
      tnieves21Monday, September 14, 2020 at 7:18 pm44 stars
      This has been a great read so far and if you like some mystery and action you will love this book (If the book and movies ending are the same then there is a happy ending). I first saw the movie about a year ago and I thought it was great than about a week ago I saw the book and I had to read it!
      • peachescreamla3
        peachescreamla3Tuesday, March 17, 2020 at 1:25 pm55 stars
        Amazing read!so glad I found this in the library
        • peachescreamla3
          peachescreamla3Tuesday, March 17, 2020 at 12:56 pm55 stars
          Amazing tale of bravery and courage.sharing books is even better when you share books about sharing books. Amazing read! Really enjoyed it and you might too. The author is Cornelia Funke.
          • Yelda22Wednesday, November 27, 2019 at 5:02 pm
            I flew through this book and couldn't put it down! I immediately read the other books. You should defiantly read this book. I would think that you could do it from 3rd grade to 8th! One of my 3 FAVORITE books ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • rylan99
              rylan99Monday, August 5, 2019 at 4:40 pm55 stars
              best book this summer i read
              • manahilali
                manahilaliFriday, April 26, 2019 at 6:57 am55 stars
                BEST BOOK EVER! Loved it. I would highly recommend it to adolescents. It is the first of the series. the other two books are Inkspell and Inkdeath. You will love them all.
                • remusfan12
                  remusfan12Monday, March 18, 2019 at 7:50 am55 stars
                  I really want to read the next two books i'm so excited.
                  • remusfan12
                    remusfan12Monday, March 18, 2019 at 7:47 am55 stars
                    my mom used to read this book to me every night and I would literally scream at her until she read more. I decided to re read this book and i can't wait to finish. I love books almost as much as meggie does and this is one of my favorites
                    • mathboy123
                      mathboy123Wednesday, February 27, 2019 at 2:20 pm55 stars
                      this book is awesome. It is filled with rich scenes as well as many plot twists. very good, i would recommend it to someone