I Survived the Battle of D-Day, 1944 (I Survived #18)

Book 18 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 2 - 5n/an/an/an/a

In commemoration of the 75th anniversary of D-Day, Lauren Tarshis shines a spotlight on the story of the Normandy landings, the largest seaborne invasion in history and foundation for the Allied victory in World War II.

Kindle Edition, 149 pages
Published on January 29, 2019 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 1338317407
ISBN-13: 9781338317404
46 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bjmo
    bjmoFriday, March 13, 2020 at 8:14 am44 stars
    This book is about when Nazis were trying to get control of WW2 and was talking about how these soldiers where getting prepared and what they were going to do to able to win this war.There was a kid named Victor who was a trooper.And was trying to find different ways to be able to control this war.But when the war came nothing was like it was said.Over 600,000 people died in this war,And over 1,000 people were injured.But eventully the Nazis had lost the war.I give this book a 4 because i like how they gave me information about who was trying to plan this out and was trying to fix the problem they were having.But the only thing i wish they done to this book is to make it longer to give me more info about the people who had died and survied ww2.
    • Nuno Sunday, March 1, 2020 at 6:59 am
      I liked the book
      • nick21dogdo
        nick21dogdoTuesday, February 18, 2020 at 5:16 pm55 starsFeatured
        I think that I Survived: The Battle of D-Day by Lauren Tarshis is a great book in my opinion and I recommend this book to people in fourth grade and above. I really like the way the author shows how life was like during World War 2 in a village in which Nazis have control of it. The story follows Paul who lives in Le Roc (a fictional village) which is controlled by the Nazis and is trying to get a gift for his Mom’s birthday. As the story continues, Paul rescues an American paratrooper named Victor. Then, Paul unravels many secrets after Victor tells him that he is part of the resistance. After, Paul gets in the middle of a deadly, bloody battle on the beaches of Normandy known as D-Day. I really like how the author Lauren Tarshis flash-forwards to a cliffhanger involving Paul in the first chapter. The genre of this book is historical fiction and I would definitely recommend this book to people who love the I Survived series and historical fiction books.
        • riley_108
          riley_108Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 9:33 pm44 stars
          If you like nonfiction books I would recommend this book you because all the information in this book is facts, because the Allied Forces of Britain American, Candana they all attacked the German Forces because... read this book to find out more information about that Battle of D-Day.
          • CA Hockey101Friday, January 3, 2020 at 8:52 am
            I Recommend this to anyone
            • reiley628576
              reiley628576Thursday, December 19, 2019 at 12:43 pm44 stars
              This book is a good book to read if you like history.I didn't really connect with this book because nothing has happened to me like this.I really like this book and I think you should read it.
              • FlamingoWednesday, September 18, 2019 at 7:02 pm
                This used to be one of my favorites 🥰
                • MY NAME IS JEFFTuesday, May 7, 2019 at 9:16 am
                  awesome
                  • Maxwell MaximusSaturday, March 23, 2019 at 2:39 pm
                    I'm impressed I'm not sure about the book but I'm impressed. But how just how?
                    • defaulti boiiiiThursday, March 21, 2019 at 11:20 am
                      this book is to good