Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.814140
Could an entire city really burn to the ground?

Oscar Starling never wanted to come to Chicago. But then Oscar finds himself not just in the heart of the big city, but in the middle of a terrible fire! No one knows exactly how it began, but one thing is clear: Chicago is like a giant powder keg about to explode.

An army of firemen is trying to help, but this fire is a ferocious beast that wants to devour everything in its path, including Oscar! Will Oscar survive one of the most famous and devastating fires in history?

Lauren Tarshis brings history's most exciting and terrifying events to life in this New York Times bestselling series. Readers will be transported by stories of amazing kids and how they survived!
Paperback, 112 pages
Published on February 24, 2015 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545658462
ISBN-13: 9780545658461
100 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pdogwar1821
    pdogwar1821Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 10:12 am
    this book rocks read it
    • sans yo!!!!!!Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 8:19 am
      cool book.
      • jross2006
        jross2006Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 1:51 pm55 stars
        When I was reading this book, it felt like I was there. My heart was beating so fast that I thought it was going to pop out!
        • armcginn
          armcginnSunday, May 21, 2017 at 10:39 am44 stars
          I don't know what to say other than that it was a good book appropriate for most age levels. It was very tense and dramatic.
          • nand
            nandWednesday, May 17, 2017 at 8:42 am55 stars
            Best book
            • hda
              hdaThursday, January 19, 2017 at 10:26 am55 stars
              I am reading the I SURVIVED is an amazing series it takes you on an adventure I am reading the I SURVIVED THE GREAT CHICAGO FIRE, 1871 the main character is a kid named Oscar Starling is he has to survive in chicago when there is a big fire my favorite part is when Oscar saves two kids from their burning house I would recommend this book for people who don’t really like to read.
              • cherrylips
                cherrylipsThursday, November 24, 2016 at 6:10 pm33 stars
                Oscar Starling never wanted to com to Chicago......but then he finds himself in a furious fire nobody know's how it started.
                • abhijay21
                  abhijay21Thursday, October 13, 2016 at 10:41 am
                  Scary
                  • khaidencey
                    khaidenceyThursday, October 6, 2016 at 8:21 am44 stars
                    I LOVE the seriesn!!!!!
                    • khaidencey
                      khaidenceyFriday, September 16, 2016 at 7:09 am44 stars
                      It is really tragic and scary I almost cried.