I Survived the Great Chicago Fire, 1871 (I Survived #11)

Book 11 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.814140
Could an entire city really burn to the ground?

Oscar Starling never wanted to come to Chicago. But then Oscar finds himself not just in the heart of the big city, but in the middle of a terrible fire! No one knows exactly how it began, but one thing is clear: Chicago is like a giant powder keg about to explode.

An army of firemen is trying to help, but this fire is a ferocious beast that wants to devour everything in its path, including Oscar! Will Oscar survive one of the most famous and devastating fires in history?

Lauren Tarshis brings history's most exciting and terrifying events to life in this New York Times bestselling series. Readers will be transported by stories of amazing kids and how they survived!
Paperback, 112 pages
Published on February 24, 2015 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545658462
ISBN-13: 9780545658461
102 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • princessari
    princessariFriday, October 11, 2019 at 2:45 pm44 stars
    This is a really interesting book. It is historical fiction and it comes in a series called I survived. This is a true story Chicago was actually on fire and the fires were rapidly spreading everywhere causing the big city to be destroyed. No one knows what actually happened for the fires to start there are difffrent types of stories. This was one of the most famous and devasating fires in history. To find out what happens read I Survived the Great Chicago fire.
    • ball_is_life_14
      ball_is_life_14Thursday, October 10, 2019 at 6:53 pm55 stars
      I loved this book so much. It is about a boy named Oscar Starling. His father died in a car crash while he was living in Minnesota. When his mother decides to remarry, he is forced to move into Chicago. When he arrives he finds himself in a huge fire. I cannot really relate to the main character, but he still inspires me.
      • pdogwar1821
        pdogwar1821Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 10:12 am
        this book rocks read it
        • sans yo!!!!!!Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 8:19 am
          cool book.
          • jross2006
            jross2006Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 1:51 pm55 stars
            When I was reading this book, it felt like I was there. My heart was beating so fast that I thought it was going to pop out!
            • armcginn
              armcginnSunday, May 21, 2017 at 10:39 am44 stars
              I don't know what to say other than that it was a good book appropriate for most age levels. It was very tense and dramatic.
              • nand
                nandWednesday, May 17, 2017 at 8:42 am55 stars
                Best book
                • hda
                  hdaThursday, January 19, 2017 at 10:26 am55 stars
                  I am reading the I SURVIVED is an amazing series it takes you on an adventure I am reading the I SURVIVED THE GREAT CHICAGO FIRE, 1871 the main character is a kid named Oscar Starling is he has to survive in chicago when there is a big fire my favorite part is when Oscar saves two kids from their burning house I would recommend this book for people who don’t really like to read.
                  • cherrylips
                    cherrylipsThursday, November 24, 2016 at 6:10 pm33 stars
                    Oscar Starling never wanted to com to Chicago......but then he finds himself in a furious fire nobody know's how it started.
                    • abhijay21
                      abhijay21Thursday, October 13, 2016 at 10:41 am
                      Scary