How to Make Friends and Monsters (A Howard Boward Book)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.867792

Some Friends Are Just Worth Making

For Howard Boward, science genius, making friends in middle school is hard. The other kids have more fun creatively expanding Howard’s name than actually hanging out, as in How-weird or How-Lame. . So, why not actually make a friend? A little wonder putty, some DNA, a few accidentally spilled chemicals and―boom!―instant friend. Monster friend, that is. Franklin ends up being cool in middle school, and he helps Howard climb the uber-popular ladder, becoming How-Cool. But the new fame and friendship isn’t exactly everything Howard hoped. Turns out real friendship might not be so simple, even when you create your own friends from scratch.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on July 28, 2013 by Zonderkidz
ISBN-10: 0310736072
ISBN-13: 9780310736073
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mosea1234
    mosea1234Monday, September 29, 2014 at 8:48 pm11 star
    I finished this book but I didn't really like it. It was a different style of writing that I don't get that well. It was okay in the beginning but, it got very dull throughout the middle and end.
    • asma234
      asma234Saturday, September 27, 2014 at 1:17 pm33 stars
      This book is really about how to make friends with monsters.Howard is pretty much a teenage genius.Who think's he's the best at everything which causes him not to have many friends.That soon changes when he meets Franklin (the monster).Not all monsters are nice like Franklin of coarse.It's just like all teenage kids some are nice and then some aren't.So Howard has to stop the bad monsters.It's a cool,fun,and interesting book for 3-6th graders in my opinion.
      • nyanchica
        nyanchicaFriday, September 19, 2014 at 11:41 pm55 stars
        Howard is just another typical teenage boy who thinks he is better than everyone else. But wouldn’t he? After all, he is a boy genius. He doesn’t have any friends, and , when an accident happens during a science experiment, he finds himself looking straight into the eyes of his new best friend…a monster named Franklin. Because Howard thinks Franklin is so awesome, he decides to make more monster friends by using the DNA from kids at school. What Howard and Franklin soon find out is that not all monsters are friendly, and he must somehow figure out a way to get rid of all of the monsters. Of course, that won’t be easy. “‘Foreign exchange student? From where? Mars?’ Uncle Ben said, looking at the tail sticking out of the baggy, oversized shorts.” Howard taught me that it’s not okay to think you are better than you probably are, especially if it means you are driving away everyone. Sometimes, it is best to be your true self and to accept others equally. In the end, you will find what true friendship is. The font is this book was so easy to read, and I wish more books would use it. I was so glad to add this book to my bookshelf! (I reviewed this book for City Book Reviews)
        • kimsam123
          kimsam123Tuesday, September 16, 2014 at 9:55 pm33 stars
          Just like the title says... How to make friends with monsters. This book is hilarious and literally tells you how to make friends. And the fact that his name is Howard Boward... ;)
          • sweetheart352
            sweetheart352Tuesday, September 9, 2014 at 6:01 pm44 stars
            My younger sister just got this book last week. She told me that she really liked reading it. I think it sounds like a fun book.
            • tim0706
              tim0706Thursday, August 21, 2014 at 6:13 pm55 stars
              How to make friends and monsters is the best book I read.It is really humorous and is amazing. It is a easy read and it made me laugh a lot.
              • tim0706
                tim0706Thursday, August 14, 2014 at 12:12 pm55 stars
                How to make friends and monsters is the best book I read.It is really humorous and is amazing. It is a easy read and it made me laugh a lot.
                • slappy
                  slappySaturday, July 19, 2014 at 9:09 am44 stars
                  A very... interesting book about a loner named Howard Boward who has no friends, so he decides to make them in a way thats a little out of the ordinary. He physically MAKES one! This"monster becomes his only friend, but what goes up...
                  • bibliophile
                    bibliophileThursday, July 17, 2014 at 9:46 am33 stars
                    I really enjoyed this book. It brought a smile to my face and had me laughing the whole time. Howard Boward is a 13 year old nerd who wear thick nerd glasses and braces. He is usually known as how lame or how weird. He dent really know how to make friendship and wants to so he actually makes a friend. And it turned out to be named Franklin. This was a clever, funny, and quick read about a nerd who learns what you have to do make friends (and yes some parts with making friends are with a monster).
                    • loveeangelina
                      loveeangelinaWednesday, July 16, 2014 at 12:04 am44 stars
                      I really loved this little book. Bates is a great writer. He's extremely witty and funny, and I laughed at this book a lot. Bates effortlessly gets his themes across without being heavy handed (surprising for a middle school book), discussing the ideas of loneliness and fitting in