Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V6.7106821

For twelve long years, the dread fortress of Azkaban held an infamous prisoner named Sirius Black. Convicted of killing thirteen people with a single curse, he was said to be the heir apparent to the Dark Lord, Voldemort.

Now he has escaped, leaving only two clues as to where he might be headed: Harry Potter's defeat of You-Know-Who was Black's downfall as well. And the Azkaban guards heard Black muttering in his sleep, "He's at Hogwarts . . . he's at Hogwarts."

Harry Potter isn't safe, not even within the walls of his magical school, surrounded by his friends. Because on top of it all, there may well be a traitor in their midst.

Paperback, 448 pages
Published on October 1, 2001 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0439136369
ISBN-13: 9780439136365
455 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ohiost8
    ohiost8Wednesday, October 21, 2020 at 3:57 am55 stars
    This is such a great book and you should really read it. I would really recommend this to anyone 7+
    • indigotheiris
      indigotheirisWednesday, September 16, 2020 at 10:46 am55 stars
      BEST BOOK EVER
      • beaners18
        beaners18Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 11:49 am55 stars
        ATTENTION! THIS IS A SPOILER! There is a killer on the lose and he is coming after Harry! Harry and his friends Hermione and Ron will discover the mystery again. Ron's rat Scabers......
        • boddi
          boddiTuesday, September 1, 2020 at 2:21 pm55 stars
          it is amazing
          • warriorsgirl11
            warriorsgirl11Monday, June 29, 2020 at 5:09 pm55 stars
            Harry Potter's third year at Hogwarts starts off badly when he learns deranged killer Sirius Black has escaped from Azkaban prison and is bent on murdering the teenage wizard. While Hermione's cat torments Ron's sickly rat, causing a rift among the trio, a swarm of nasty Dementors is sent to protect the school from Black. A mysterious new teacher helps Harry learn to defend himself, but what is his secret tie to Sirius Black? I was really suspicious about Black.
            • ravenclaw12321
              ravenclaw12321Friday, June 26, 2020 at 10:00 am55 stars
              Harry Potter is going to his third year of Hogwarts, but something is stopping him, a murderer named Sirius Black has escaped and now Harry and everyone is in danger. Harry also gets to go to Hogsmeade, but Uncle Vernon would not let him. Vernon's sister Marge comes and leaves blowed up like a puffy balloon. Harry travels the knight bus which was not pleasant and more happens. They finally find the truth. Is Sirius Innocent or Not??
              • TahliyaFriday, June 26, 2020 at 9:04 am
                Wow it’s full of magic.
                • swirlycool
                  swirlycoolMonday, June 22, 2020 at 2:39 pm55 stars
                  Dementors have been added to Hogwarts to capture Sirius Black, who has escaped from the prison of Azkaban. Dementors feed on happiness. Harry Potter wants to learn how to fight these dementors. Meanwhile, Ron's rat has disappeared, and he has blamed Hermione's cat for his disappearance. Little do they know, Ron's rat is not really a rat. Hermione is also exhausted from attending classes, which to Harry and Ron's confusion occur at the same time. However, Hermione refuses to explain to their curiosity . Overall, this book is enjoyable, and I recommend it to people who enjoy the Percy Jackson series or the other books in the Harry Potter series. I rate this 5/5.
                  • johnthesquid818
                    johnthesquid818Thursday, June 4, 2020 at 6:41 am55 stars
                    This book is a 5-star page-turner, and I've read the whole series I recommend it. I also recommend all the other books
                    • girlpower4ever
                      girlpower4everWednesday, June 3, 2020 at 9:41 am55 stars
                      Harry Potter is the sole series that got me into reading chapter books. I seriously jumped from reading picture books to Harry Potter, and I loved every word of this series. This book did not disappoint one bit. In Harry Potter's third adventure, the stakes are higher than ever before. Upon overhearing that mass murderer Sirius Black has escaped the wizard prison Azkaban to kill him, Harry's nerves are strangely not jangled. But when the Fat Lady's portrait is slashed, Hermione's new cat acts oddly, and Sirius Black outsmarts the dementors by sneaking into Hogwarts multiple times, it's impossible for Harry not to be unnerved. Because Sirius Black has a secret. And perhaps Harry is courageous, but he cannot ignore the fact that this mass murderer is the one responsible for his parents' deaths.