Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V6.7106821

For twelve long years, the dread fortress of Azkaban held an infamous prisoner named Sirius Black. Convicted of killing thirteen people with a single curse, he was said to be the heir apparent to the Dark Lord, Voldemort.

Now he has escaped, leaving only two clues as to where he might be headed: Harry Potter's defeat of You-Know-Who was Black's downfall as well. And the Azkaban guards heard Black muttering in his sleep, "He's at Hogwarts . . . he's at Hogwarts."

Harry Potter isn't safe, not even within the walls of his magical school, surrounded by his friends. Because on top of it all, there may well be a traitor in their midst.

Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0329258400
ISBN-13: 9780329258405
451 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • warriorsgirl11
    warriorsgirl11Monday, June 29, 2020 at 5:09 pm55 stars
    Harry Potter's third year at Hogwarts starts off badly when he learns deranged killer Sirius Black has escaped from Azkaban prison and is bent on murdering the teenage wizard. While Hermione's cat torments Ron's sickly rat, causing a rift among the trio, a swarm of nasty Dementors is sent to protect the school from Black. A mysterious new teacher helps Harry learn to defend himself, but what is his secret tie to Sirius Black? I was really suspicious about Black.
    • ravenclaw12321
      ravenclaw12321Friday, June 26, 2020 at 10:00 am55 stars
      Harry Potter is going to his third year of Hogwarts, but something is stopping him, a murderer named Sirius Black has escaped and now Harry and everyone is in danger. Harry also gets to go to Hogsmeade, but Uncle Vernon would not let him. Vernon's sister Marge comes and leaves blowed up like a puffy balloon. Harry travels the knight bus which was not pleasant and more happens. They finally find the truth. Is Sirius Innocent or Not??
      • TahliyaFriday, June 26, 2020 at 9:04 am
        Wow it’s full of magic.
        • swirlycool
          swirlycoolMonday, June 22, 2020 at 2:39 pm55 stars
          Dementors have been added to Hogwarts to capture Sirius Black, who has escaped from the prison of Azkaban. Dementors feed on happiness. Harry Potter wants to learn how to fight these dementors. Meanwhile, Ron's rat has disappeared, and he has blamed Hermione's cat for his disappearance. Little do they know, Ron's rat is not really a rat. Hermione is also exhausted from attending classes, which to Harry and Ron's confusion occur at the same time. However, Hermione refuses to explain to their curiosity . Overall, this book is enjoyable, and I recommend it to people who enjoy the Percy Jackson series or the other books in the Harry Potter series. I rate this 5/5.
          • johnthesquid818
            johnthesquid818Thursday, June 4, 2020 at 6:41 am55 stars
            This book is a 5-star page-turner, and I've read the whole series I recommend it. I also recommend all the other books
            • girlpower4ever
              girlpower4everWednesday, June 3, 2020 at 9:41 am55 stars
              Harry Potter is the sole series that got me into reading chapter books. I seriously jumped from reading picture books to Harry Potter, and I loved every word of this series. This book did not disappoint one bit. In Harry Potter's third adventure, the stakes are higher than ever before. Upon overhearing that mass murderer Sirius Black has escaped the wizard prison Azkaban to kill him, Harry's nerves are strangely not jangled. But when the Fat Lady's portrait is slashed, Hermione's new cat acts oddly, and Sirius Black outsmarts the dementors by sneaking into Hogwarts multiple times, it's impossible for Harry not to be unnerved. Because Sirius Black has a secret. And perhaps Harry is courageous, but he cannot ignore the fact that this mass murderer is the one responsible for his parents' deaths.
              • lcake
                lcakeTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 12:10 pm55 stars
                I love the books and movies!!!
                • sgsansy108
                  sgsansy108Monday, June 1, 2020 at 10:23 am
                  This book doesn't have much action, it's more of like storytelling. BUT IT IS STILL AMAZING. MANY unexpected plot twists!
                  • bluedragon1
                    bluedragon1Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 10:36 am55 stars
                    As others know the Harry Potter series is amazing! It is full of magic that seems to pull you in. I highly suggest this book! Thx
                    • lizzzy_winkle
                      lizzzy_winkleThursday, May 28, 2020 at 7:19 pm55 stars
                      This is my favorite Harry Potter book.