Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10W7.2257154
A special new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, with a stunning new cover illustration by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick.

There is a door at the end of a silent corridor. And it's haunting Harry Potter's dreams. Why else would he be waking in the middle of the night, screaming in terror?

It's not just the upcoming O.W.L. exams; a new teacher with a personality like poisoned honey; a venomous, disgruntled house-elf; or even the growing threat of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. Now Harry Potter is faced with the unreliability of the very government of the magical world and the impotence of the authorities at Hogwarts.

Despite this (or perhaps because of it), he finds depth and strength in his friends, beyond what even he knew; boundless loyalty; and unbearable sacrifice.

This gorgeous new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone features a newly designed cover illustrated by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick, as well as the beloved original interior decorations by Mary GrandPré.
Hardcover, 870 pages
Published on July 1, 2003 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 0747551006
ISBN-13: 9780439358064
308 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Rachel TaylorFriday, July 24, 2020 at 5:17 am
    I really like all of the Harry Potter books but th Order of the Phoenix is the best one
    • Luna lovegood Saturday, July 18, 2020 at 3:44 am
      Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is a astonishing book. I am on chapter nineteen and I love the book so far it is amazing. The story takes place at the dursley and Hogwarts school of witchcraft and wizardry. Ron becomes a seeker and Hermione and Ron become prefects and the book is so good. I am guessing u already know by this little chunk of word describing the book so far that I am a potter head and I am I am also a overall geek I like star wars and Harry Potter and lot or lord of the rings I am a dork and a geek and I am proud of it . Come on you can't rate a Harry Potter book under a five star can u.
      • warriorsgirl11
        warriorsgirl11Thursday, July 9, 2020 at 4:47 pm55 stars
        Hogwarts's Biggest Crisis He's back! Harry Potter (Daniel Radcliffe) waiting for the fifth year of the Hogwarts School of Magic on a long and boring summer day. I'm tired of living with Aunt Dusley's family, and I don't get a letter from my friends Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson). Meanwhile, an unexpected letter arrives. It was news that Harry was expelled from Hogwarts School of Magic at Little Winning outside school because he used magic to prevent the attack of the mentors in front of Muggle's cousin Dudley, Muggle. Harry has a dark front. Suddenly, Dark Wizard auras appear and take Harry to the secret place of the Order of the Phoenix. The fate of the Dumbledore army and the knights of the Phoenix Knights is in their hands! Harry, who met the Phoenix Knights, including Sirius (Gary Oldman), learned of his parents' past, gained strength and expelled himself. Hardy) is put in court, but he is found innocent thanks to the mediation of Principal Dumbledore (Sir Michael Bolbol), but the Prophet Ilbo accuses Harry of the return of Voldemort (Ralph Pines) for accusing him of being a red lie, and students suspect Harry. Out of place. Besides, even Dumbledore, the principal who helped him when he was in the most difficult situation, kept Harry away for no reason... On the other hand, Dumbledore was unsatisfactory, but when Harry's expulsion became reckless, the Minister of Magic appointed Dolores Umbridge (Imelda Stirton) as a professor in the'Dark Magic Defense' course. However, Umbudji's magic defense class puts students in trouble rather than defending themselves from the power of darkness. Here comes the knights who will face the strongest magic confrontation of darkness! Hermione and Ron form a secret organization that believes in Harry's abilities and dubbed "Dumbledore's Army." Harry teaches students how to defend themselves against the magic of darkness, and prepares them for the upcoming battle. However, Harry suffers from a nightmare that predicts an ominous event every night. Now, you'll feel that the battle with Voldemort is not long before, and with the nightmare of Sirius being attacked, Harry heads for the room of prophecy in the Mystery Department of the Magic Department with the Dumbledore army. And those who eat the death that followed... The sparkling confrontation between the magic of light and the magic of darkness Harry Potter, the Order of the Phoenix, the fate of Hogwarts is up to them! Long but good, I loved this book!
        • h_v2009
          h_v2009Thursday, July 9, 2020 at 7:12 am55 stars
          Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is a book filled with thrill and adventure. Harry goes on an adventure with his fellow classmates to find something that is not letting him think. Harry knows that his Godfather, Sirius Black is danger from the Dark Lord because he got a vision so he decides to save him and that will involve the MInistry of Magic. Join Harry and his friends on this adventure!
          • ravenclaw12321
            ravenclaw12321Friday, June 26, 2020 at 1:01 pm55 stars
            Harry walks in a long and dark corridor. " Wait? What does that locked door open to??" Harry Potter, book 5 is mainly about Harry Potter and Neville Longbottom and the prophecy. Harry wants to open the door. He finally does it at last at the end of the book to reveal the department of mysteries where a battle begins. Follow Harry's Journey in Book 5!
            • galaxy52
              galaxy52Saturday, June 6, 2020 at 7:24 am55 stars
              I love this book so much! I would give it a 10/10. You get to meet the Order of the Phoenix,, a secret organization founded by Dumbledore, to take down Voldemort. Meanwhile, at Hogwarts, the "old hag", Delores Umbridge, isn't teaching DADA so well. Hermione gets an idea: what if Harry teaches kids DADA himself, and form an "army", or, Dumbledore's Army, just as the Ministry feared?
              • harrypotter2021
                harrypotter2021Friday, June 5, 2020 at 8:28 am55 stars
                Sirius Black is Arthur Beasley second cousin once removed
                • johnthesquid818
                  johnthesquid818Thursday, June 4, 2020 at 6:42 am55 stars
                  This book is a 5-star page-turner, and I've read the whole series I recommend it. I also recommend all the other books
                  • girlpower4ever
                    girlpower4everWednesday, June 3, 2020 at 10:32 am55 starsFeatured
                    It is impossible to rate a Harry Potter book less than five stars, and in this particular 800-page book, it is doubly unimaginable. The longest Harry Potter book ever published, "The Order of the Phoenix" features Harry's thrilling fifth adventure. Harry Potter is back at Hogwarts with Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger - but not before a dementor attack, immense trouble with the Dursleys, indefinite expulsion from Hogwarts due to underage magic, Ministry trial, shun from Albus Dumbledore, finding out about a secret Wizarding society, and a yelling fight with Harry and his best friends. Just a typical summer vacation, right? Only for Harry Potter. Even within the walls of Hogwarts, Harry is driven insane. An absolutely poisonous teacher and Albus Dumbledore's leave from the school makes Harry wonder why he was glad to come back to Hogwarts. But despite the educational troubles in Hogwarts, Lord Voldemort has risen again, and he is ready to come back with a vengeance like never before.
                    • gryffindor7
                      gryffindor7Sunday, May 17, 2020 at 9:25 am55 stars
                      There is no quiz, but this is fun.