Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10W7.2257154
A special new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, with a stunning new cover illustration by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick.

There is a door at the end of a silent corridor. And it's haunting Harry Potter's dreams. Why else would he be waking in the middle of the night, screaming in terror?

It's not just the upcoming O.W.L. exams; a new teacher with a personality like poisoned honey; a venomous, disgruntled house-elf; or even the growing threat of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. Now Harry Potter is faced with the unreliability of the very government of the magical world and the impotence of the authorities at Hogwarts.

Despite this (or perhaps because of it), he finds depth and strength in his friends, beyond what even he knew; boundless loyalty; and unbearable sacrifice.

This gorgeous new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone features a newly designed cover illustrated by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick, as well as the beloved original interior decorations by Mary GrandPré.
Hardcover, 870 pages
Published on July 1, 2003 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 0747551006
ISBN-13: 9780439358064
274 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lawalex
    lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 11:21 am55 stars
    This book, although slow at the start, is a great part of the Harry Potter saga. Lord Voldemort is rising, and battle is coming opon the wizarding world. Their only hope is the Order of the Phoenix.
    • sansasunlsans
      sansasunlsansTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 7:22 am55 stars
      10 out of 10
      • brawlstarschamp
        brawlstarschampMonday, May 27, 2019 at 4:28 pm55 stars
        This is the longest book in the "Harry Potter" series. Harry learns about the Order of the Phoenix. Also, Harry, Ron and Hermione have to take their O.W.L.S. If you can't imagine, there is a new "Defense Against the Dark Arts" teacher. Enjoy!
        • katherina_8268
          katherina_8268Friday, April 5, 2019 at 4:20 pm55 stars
          This is my FAVORITE book in the whole Harry Potter series! However, I do suggest you read the first couple of books. LUNA LOVEGOOD IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE CHARACTERS!
          • haydenFriday, February 15, 2019 at 7:20 am
            i love this book
            • Potterhead Friday, February 15, 2019 at 6:24 am
              I love and just looooooooove the book it is the best best ever apart from the other Harry Potters but just if you could add a quiz that would be great here is a picture of me or at least how me friends describe me 🤓 Harry Potter for All!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • winterlynx
                winterlynxSaturday, February 9, 2019 at 4:54 pm55 stars
                I decided to read this book Because I love magic and I had already started reading the series so I wanted to finish it. It is not two hard to read and is not to complicated like some other books for example war and peace. J.K. Rowling wrote it very well so well that you can feel strong emotions towards some of the characters....
                • reddragon1
                  reddragon1Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 1:06 pm44 stars
                  it is the longest in the series! it took me two whole days to finish it! joking, it took me a week.
                  • reddragon1
                    reddragon1Monday, December 3, 2018 at 11:18 pm44 stars
                    it is the longest in the series! it took me two whole days to finish it!
                    • dachosen1
                      dachosen1Monday, December 3, 2018 at 4:48 pm55 stars
                      There is a door at the end of a silent hallway at the Ministry of Magic and it is haunting Harry's dreams. Not only that, but there is a cruel new teacher at Hogwarts who is taking over the school. Harry is seeing visions from Voldemort's mind, and once he sees something that scares him more than anything ever before, he has to find out what is behind that door...