Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10W7.2257154
A special new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, with a stunning new cover illustration by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick.

There is a door at the end of a silent corridor. And it's haunting Harry Potter's dreams. Why else would he be waking in the middle of the night, screaming in terror?

It's not just the upcoming O.W.L. exams; a new teacher with a personality like poisoned honey; a venomous, disgruntled house-elf; or even the growing threat of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. Now Harry Potter is faced with the unreliability of the very government of the magical world and the impotence of the authorities at Hogwarts.

Despite this (or perhaps because of it), he finds depth and strength in his friends, beyond what even he knew; boundless loyalty; and unbearable sacrifice.

This gorgeous new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone features a newly designed cover illustrated by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick, as well as the beloved original interior decorations by Mary GrandPré.
Hardcover, 870 pages
Published on July 1, 2003 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 0747551006
ISBN-13: 9780439358064
279 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookwormgmes
    bookwormgmesFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:59 am55 stars
    I loved this book so much! It is unlike the other Harry Potter books because it has great suspense and action that not all of the books have. It also describes Harry's feelings and emotions so well, that I was feeling them too. I recommend this book not just to all Harry Potter fans, but to people who like action, humor, and suspense. I would absolutely read this again, and I am sure that people who have already read it would, too.
    • hermionekarisma
      hermionekarismaMonday, September 23, 2019 at 8:32 am55 stars
      100 out of ten!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! luv this book- definitley reccomend it.
      • sav11_11
        sav11_11Friday, September 20, 2019 at 8:34 am55 stars
        I absolutely love the Harry Potter universe!!!!! I read Book 1,2,3,4 and now I'm reading book 5. I totally recommend this book to anyone who loves magic, fantasy, and adventure!! If you have never read Harry Potter at least give it a try, this might just be your new favorite book!
        • avacadosmoothie
          avacadosmoothieTuesday, September 3, 2019 at 4:18 pm33 stars
          Harry Potter: Probably one of the most popular book series. Here's why I recommend it. This book is perfect for anyone who LOVES fantasy because it has a lot of fictional concepts in it. Even if you don't like fantasy (like me) it doesn't hurt to give this a try. The only reason why I gave this book three stars is because it's very long and it's not your typical chapter book.
          • cubanito
            cubanitoSaturday, August 10, 2019 at 12:15 pm55 stars
            Loved it. Will read all the books.
            • rina123aaa
              rina123aaaThursday, July 11, 2019 at 12:03 pm33 stars
              I only recommend this book because it is part of a series. The action parts are fairly interesting, and the book itself is fun, but there is a bit too much dialogue. this makes it boring to me. The way it is so mysterious adds some frizzle to it and I liked the tricks that Voldemort played on Harry.
              • hedgeguin2
                hedgeguin2Wednesday, July 10, 2019 at 6:08 pm44 stars
                This book is full of detail and makes you seem you are right in the action. It’s about Harry, and the new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher, Professor Umbridge, who they all hate and wants her to leave. Harry starts a club, Dumbledore’s Army, but Umbridge will do anything to stop him! Along the way, Harry encounters many challenges, but that isn’t going to stop him!
                • lawalex
                  lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 11:21 am55 stars
                  This book, although slow at the start, is a great part of the Harry Potter saga. Lord Voldemort is rising, and battle is coming opon the wizarding world. Their only hope is the Order of the Phoenix.
                  • sansasunlsans
                    sansasunlsansTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 7:22 am55 stars
                    10 out of 10
                    • brawlstarschamp
                      brawlstarschampMonday, May 27, 2019 at 4:28 pm55 stars
                      This is the longest book in the "Harry Potter" series. Harry learns about the Order of the Phoenix. Also, Harry, Ron and Hermione have to take their O.W.L.S. If you can't imagine, there is a new "Defense Against the Dark Arts" teacher. Enjoy!