Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10W7.2257154
A special new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, with a stunning new cover illustration by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick.

There is a door at the end of a silent corridor. And it's haunting Harry Potter's dreams. Why else would he be waking in the middle of the night, screaming in terror?

It's not just the upcoming O.W.L. exams; a new teacher with a personality like poisoned honey; a venomous, disgruntled house-elf; or even the growing threat of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. Now Harry Potter is faced with the unreliability of the very government of the magical world and the impotence of the authorities at Hogwarts.

Despite this (or perhaps because of it), he finds depth and strength in his friends, beyond what even he knew; boundless loyalty; and unbearable sacrifice.

This gorgeous new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone features a newly designed cover illustrated by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick, as well as the beloved original interior decorations by Mary GrandPré.
Hardcover, 870 pages
Published on July 1, 2003 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 0747551006
ISBN-13: 9780439358064
325 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • iM aLiEn QuEenWednesday, March 3, 2021 at 11:33 am
    i LiKe It!
    • kittycatqueen3
      kittycatqueen3Monday, February 22, 2021 at 7:56 am55 stars
      Its very interesting and has much more detail than the movies, i suggest you read all of the books because they are great.
      • Violin 1213Tuesday, January 19, 2021 at 10:51 am
        It was a really good book but I was so sad when Sirius died considering he was one of my favorite characters. But overall it was a really suspenseful and a really good . I would recomend this book for anyone who loves harry potter and loves books that keep u on the edge of your seat!
        • kynsleighMonday, January 11, 2021 at 7:22 am
          the book is cool
          • deathly_hallows
            deathly_hallowsSunday, January 10, 2021 at 6:09 pm44 stars
            out of all the harry potter books this is the ONLY one i am rating it lower than 5 stars, being honest, it was a bit too long, and i prefer the movie better... but this books is still good, i love how it shows Cornius Fudge's true colors, DESPRET FOR POWER and UMBRIDGE is the most ANNOYING charater in HISTORY OF BOOKS
            • artsysunflower3
              artsysunflower3Friday, January 8, 2021 at 12:26 pm44 stars
              Okay, I am only giving this one 4 stars because first of all, Sirius Dies (srry 4 the spoiler) and Harry is always annoyed in this one.
              • babyyodafan1
                babyyodafan1Tuesday, January 5, 2021 at 3:03 pm55 stars
                This book is the longest HP book at 870 pages and 257,154 pages. It's really interesting and a fun read.
                • nessr12345
                  nessr12345Tuesday, November 17, 2020 at 6:58 am44 stars
                  I am reading the whole series so had to read this one! You should too! If you want to, you know!
                  • balloragirl
                    balloragirlTuesday, November 10, 2020 at 7:48 am55 stars
                    I really recommend these books! I have finished reading them and moved on but I can say they were awesome! Pls read them it is like a whole movie in your head! In fact they are movies!!! So watch them! If you didn't picture the stuff all correct you can watch and see what it really is like! Can't write much but I can write that this is a awesomeee bookkkk!!!
                    • deathly_hallows
                      deathly_hallowsTuesday, November 3, 2020 at 7:23 am44 stars
                      this book is probaley the most underated book out of the whole series but i thinks it's super good it also starts harry's love life