Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts 1 & 2, Special Rehearsal Edition Script

Book 8 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 1 - 4n/a3.945268
"The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places."
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on July 31, 2016 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 1338099132
ISBN-13: 9781338099133
554 Book Reviews
  • zoeyyang
    zoeyyangFriday, July 23, 2021 at 4:51 am55 stars
    This is a great book! and I love Harry potter
    • hermione831
      hermione831Wednesday, July 21, 2021 at 11:04 am55 stars
      This is a great book! It takes place 19 years after the battle of Hogwarts. It is about Harry’s son, Albus, and Draco’s son, Scorpius. They are best friends. They meet a girl , who is a “Diggory”. They go back in time to save her “cousin”. She ends up not being a Diggory. She is just trying to to get her dad back. I won’t spoil who is her dad, but it is a great book. It is set up as a play, and that bothered my friend, but it didn’t bother me. It’s a awesome book. 5 stars for sure.
      • sreekar
        sreekarTuesday, June 15, 2021 at 1:11 pm55 stars
        "All was well". This was the end of book 7. But there was a new problem lurking. Albus Potter, Harry's son, got picked in Slytherin. He has a dark cloud above him. Harry thinks that Albus is cursed because of his friend, Scorpius Malfoy. Read what happens as this book is awesome!
        • girlycutiemello
          girlycutiemelloFriday, June 11, 2021 at 9:41 am55 stars
          Second Time read as all the others no spoilers! LOL I LOVE IT
          • fomaloso-156773974534
            fomaloso-156773974534Thursday, June 10, 2021 at 6:53 pm55 stars
            I am still shocked that Albus Potter was sorted into Slytherin! But it was still a good book.
            • hello_peoples
              hello_peoplesThursday, May 27, 2021 at 6:01 pm44 stars
              If you have already read the Harry Potter books 1-7 and you don't know what to read, then this is the book. It's the eighth Harry Potter book but written like a play. It's about Harry's kids, which are, James, Lily, and Albus Potter. One of the kids is different so he feels kind of different which makes the kid sad. So then he decides to try helping someone and finds himself in trouble. If you want to know what happens the please read the book. :)
              • mydohele-158463851817
                mydohele-158463851817Thursday, May 20, 2021 at 5:58 am
                I want to read it because it sounds fun
                • kittyluvskookie
                  kittyluvskookieFriday, April 30, 2021 at 1:17 pm
                  Wait... there's an 8th book?
                  • grimblo_shines
                    grimblo_shinesThursday, May 13, 2021 at 7:53 am
                    It is the script for the play so it is very different than the other books
                  • sneaky_spino
                    sneaky_spinoWednesday, March 17, 2021 at 6:18 am11 star
                    I'm sorry, this is not really my cup of tea. The book doesn't have a great flowing story. Things happen with no context. All of a sudden Draco's son is best friend with Albus, Harry's son. It's just, doesn't feel like a Harry Potter book. The books give charm, they have a flowing story and very vivid details, and this just doesn't feel like it. I refuse to believe this is canon. The villian doesn't make sense. Voldemort had a daughter? When did this happen? When did he have a daughter? These are questions unanswered. We thought the series ended. Maybe it was best JUST to leave it be.
                    • lilliahna13
                      lilliahna13Tuesday, March 2, 2021 at 9:11 am
                      i want to read this