Harry Potter and the Cursed Child , Parts I & II

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 12n/an/an/an/a
The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on July 31, 2016 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 1338099132
ISBN-13: 9781338099133
365 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • kkuhy
    kkuhyTuesday, April 18, 2017 at 8:21 am55 stars
    The best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • That one haterWednesday, April 12, 2017 at 10:34 am
      Didn't like it. I mean it's my opinion. Also many things are inaccurate. For example every time they went back into time would have affected Harry before he had kids. Like in Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban. To make matters worse their was no Teddy Lupin. Also Rose Weasley was quite rude to Scorpius and Scorpius adored her. In other news they made Ron look like a total fool. So I didn't like it. Voldemort could never have a child either, except with maybe Bellatrix but she's dead.
      • daughterofzeus
        daughterofzeusWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 6:02 am
        Two words: LOVE IT!! I also love how this book is written in script format!!!
        • joejoebro
          joejoebroTuesday, April 4, 2017 at 3:59 pm33 stars
          I had mixed feelings after I read this book. Seriously. I mean, I know it's not an actual book, as it's just a play script turned book. There are so many problems with this book that make it average. Seriously, they should have never brought Time Turners back. It made the book all based around Time Travel, and it feels like there are so many plot holes. The story is mainly focused around Albus Severus Potter and Scorpius Malfoy, two Slytherin studends who think there lives both suck. Albus, because he can't live up to his fathers name, and Scropius, who is getting bullied for being the so called Voldermort's Child, as for his family's dark past. And so far through the first few scenes, we are able to learn about and adjust to their character. The main plot is about Amos Diggory, who wants Harry Potter (Now a 37 Year Old Man), to get him a Time Turner so he can bring his son Cedric Diggory, back to the futere. However, Harry refuses. And because Albus thinks he is nothing compared to his father, he wants to prove himself better by going back in time to save Cedric, and steal a Time Turner from Hermione's (The New Minister of Magic) Office. So Scorpius and Albus go to meet up with Amos, and his supposed nephew Delphi, wants to help. The two boys travel back in time to 1994, but they are only able to travel five minutes back, and then return to the present. But the Boys fix the past in a bad way, and then change up reality to make a changed universe. The excitement of these scenes really were not there, and the ending was just rushed. And seriously, why would Harry want to watch his parents die before him? I don't really know what was going on with everything in this plot. But the ending scene was nice, sort of... However I do think this book should have been made and I enjoyed reading it.
          • @honest y'allTuesday, April 4, 2017 at 2:56 pm
            Who was freaking out about it?! god
            • tomo
              tomoTuesday, April 4, 2017 at 10:16 am
              I read it and it was pretty easy for a book. I love the time when harry is married to ginny and Hermione married to ron.
              • peters_881349
                peters_881349Tuesday, April 4, 2017 at 6:39 am
                I want to read this
                • brain2145
                  brain2145Monday, April 3, 2017 at 7:00 pm55 stars
                  This book is a dream come true for those die-hard Harry Potter fans who have been hungry for more since they read The Deathly Hallows. Harry Potter is an overworked Ministry man. Albus Severus Potter (Harry and Ginny Potter's second child) is precisely what his father isn't; sorted into Slytherin, rubbish on a broom and his only friend Scorpius Malfoy (yes he is Draco's son). Albus is forced to hide in the shadow of his father's achievements. The only thing I would change is that how hard it is to review without spoiling the book (Which I hopefully achieved)!
                  • fatcatsMonday, April 3, 2017 at 10:51 am
                    good book i like page 134
                    • LoverMonday, April 3, 2017 at 9:52 am
                      I REALLY loved this book at first I wasn't sure cuz I thought it had not much of Harry in it but it did! And I just got sucked into this book and was so sad when it was over. I told my family about this book and they started loving it so I had to tell them all what happened after I was done reading a chapter!😂😜❤️

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mayyeda wrote:

                      I like this book
                      Dogs

                      maddyp18
                      maddyp18 wrote:

                      This is one of my new all-time f...
                      The Uncommoners #1: The Crooked ...

                      gosinandhghg cu wrote:

                      i am a butterfly
                      Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's St...

                      hamiltonlover56

                      Great book! Roald Dahl is a grea...
                      The BFG