Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts 1 & 2, Special Rehearsal Edition Script

Book 8 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 1 - 4n/a3.945268
"The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places."
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on July 31, 2016 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 1338099132
ISBN-13: 9781338099133
502 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hermioneg22
    hermioneg22Wednesday, August 26, 2020 at 5:26 pm11 star
    I really do not recommend this book. The way it just moved from year to year did not have the magic of the last books. Then again the whole book wasn't written by J.K Rowling ...
    • bsc
      bscWednesday, June 24, 2020 at 5:53 pm55 stars
      I liked this book! It takes places 30 something years, after the battle of Hogwarts. Harry and his wife, Ginny have kids (James, Albus, and Lily) and they are at hogwarts.While the Potter kids get put in Gryffindor, Albus gets put in Slytherin. He is nothing like his dad, and is facing challenges of his ow. But when he finds out he can help restore someone, he is determined to help. This book will make you cry, and I loved the play. I give it 5 stars. Definitely a really good book. Just make sure you read the series first! Happy reading! -Bsc
      • ravenclaw12321
        ravenclaw12321Wednesday, June 24, 2020 at 9:23 am55 stars
        The cursed child is another Harry Potter book set nineteen years later when the Golden trio-Harry, Ron , and Hermione are older. Everything changed. Harry is the Head of Law Enforcement and has three kids along with his wife, Ginevra (Ginny) Weasley. Hermione is the new Minister of Magic and has two kids with Ronald or Ron Weasley. This story is focused on Harry's second child and second son-Albus Severus Potter who is unlike his older brother, James Sirius Potter and his younger sister, Lily Luna Potter. He gets his Hogwarts letter and keep thinking about getting in Slytherin. He wants to be in Gryffindor. When he gets on the Hogwarts Express, he meets Scorpius Malfoy, son of Draco Malfoy and Astoria Greengrass. Scorpius and Albus start getting close and are good friends. At Hogwarts, they are both in Slytherin. Albus doesn't talk to his cousins Rose Granger-Weasley or Hugo Granger-Weasley anymore. Albus progresses and meets Delphini Diggory who claims she is the niece of Amos Diggory. Is she? She manipulates them, acting similar her dark ancestor. She gets the time turner and she, along with Scorpius and Albus travel in time and try to fulfill the prophecy. They change the time around three times and they change everything. Suddenly, there is something called Voldemort day and Hermione and Ron were the most wanted. Meanwhile, there are strong rumors and mysteries along the way in the ministry. At the end, Delphini shows her real identity- Voldemort's daughter, who was born secretly before the battle of Hogwarts and was the only daughter, a dark half-blood born to Bellatrix Lestrange and Vodemort. She finally gets a taste of her own medicine and is finally sentenced to Askaban. Harry, meanwhile, has trouble with parenting and has trouble helping Albus. He also learns things that are important and finally fixes his mistakes. It is a wonderful book and I hope you enjoy this book review!
        • girlpower4ever
          girlpower4everTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 9:32 am55 stars
          Even in rehearsal script format, J. K. Rowling's writing is unbelievably fabulous. In this special edition of the 8th Harry Potter book set nineteen years after the seventh book, Harry believes that all is well. He and Ginny are a happy married couple with three children, James, Lily, and Albus. He is now an in-law with Ron and Hermione. What more could he want? Nothing. But trouble has a way of finding Harry Potter. So when hints of Voldemort's new regime are on the horizon, Harry's Parseltongue and previous encounters make him invaluable for stopping it. Despite the fact that Harry was done with being the Chosen One nineteen years ago, perhaps he isn't the Chosen One this time after all. Perhaps...and this is what frightens him...perhaps it is one of his children. "The Cursed Child" will have the whole world up on their feet with applause at J. K. Rowling's final addition to the complete Harry Potter series.
          • sirireads
            sirireadsTuesday, May 26, 2020 at 1:41 pm11 star
            Hate to be a buzzkill, but J.K. Rowling did not write this, nor does she approve of it being called the "8th" 🤮 book. It was, all in all, AWFUL. It made no sense, the authors, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne, must have had a few screws loose while writing this, because it is cray cray 🤯. NO ONE SHOULD READ THIS!!!!!!! It ruins the whole series.
            • princessreader1
              princessreader1Wednesday, June 3, 2020 at 8:16 am55 stars
              This book was a really good book. I respect your decision but you don't need to tell anyone that this book was the worst. There is a point it ruins the whole series as it is the last book! I loved this book so yeah don't try and make other people hate it. Like I said I respect your decision. Bye
            • minecrafter6898
              minecrafter6898Thursday, May 14, 2020 at 5:46 am55 stars
              I just love how Rowling made it, two enemys are now friends.
              • EggMayo Wednesday, May 13, 2020 at 4:25 am
                I LOVE this book poor Albus I cannot believe that Harry and Draco made friends it is crazy I recomend this book to everyone who has not read it
                • PotterHeadTuesday, March 24, 2020 at 12:50 pm
                  I promise there are no spoilers here. I love this book! I have read all the Harry Potter series and this book almost 10 times. I never liked movies/plays. Then I read this book and it changed EVERYTHING. I am also going to see the play over the summer. No sadness, happiness only. If you never read any other books, don't read this book. It only makes sense if you know all the other information from all the other books. And that goes for all the books. They all are REALLY, REALLY connected with all the information and details. One of the best books, and compared to all the rest, not emotional at all. Interesting book for kids of all ages but it uses play references so you can see all the things that the original cast for the play did for the first time. Sorry this is so long, but in conclusion REALLY good book.
                  • kaylaa_misch22
                    kaylaa_misch22Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 7:10 pm44 stars
                    19 years after the battle of Hogwarts everyone is grown up, Harry, Ron, Hermonie all have children attending Hogwarts. But when Harry and Ginny's son Albus is sorted into Slytherin a whole new wave of chaos comes for everyone. I can connect this to any of the Harry Potter books basically. It's just a sequel to what happens after everyone gets old. I give this three stars because first off it was a screenplay so some things were hard to understand, but it was pretty goofy so that made it ok.
                    • breathofthewild
                      breathofthewildMonday, March 9, 2020 at 9:39 am55 stars
                      I love it so far! It has a lot of drama, like any good play script, And it has some new characters, the kids of the main ones. Albus is the main character in this story. His siblings are James and Lily potter. I definitely recommend for anyone who loves the Harry Potter series!