Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts 1 & 2, Special Rehearsal Edition Script

Book 8 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 1 - 4n/a3.945268
"The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places."
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on July 31, 2016 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 1338099132
ISBN-13: 9781338099133
393 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • xiu
    xiuSunday, October 22, 2017 at 6:39 pm22 stars
    I love anything related to harry potter, but that's probably the only reason that I bothered to actually read this. It honestly felt like it was a fan-fiction or something like that which really dissapoints me. But I guess not every book can be perfect, right? J.K Rowling has really lost her touch which makes me super sad. But once again, sometimes we need something completely horrible to make us really appreciate the good. It's just REALLY dissapointing that this is how things had to be. The book cursed me with it's terrible plot. (Pun intended)
    • horsegirl2017
      horsegirl2017Saturday, October 21, 2017 at 1:18 pm33 stars
      It isn't as good as the others but it isn't the worst book ever
      • kolaveri_telugu
        kolaveri_teluguTuesday, October 17, 2017 at 11:23 am33 stars
        Also, the plot was pretty hard to follow, and a huge number of unlikely surprises kept hitting me. It was so weird.
        • kolaveri_telugu
          kolaveri_teluguTuesday, October 17, 2017 at 11:21 am33 stars
          I like the story arc, but it really doesn't have the same taste you get when you leave another Harry Potter book, because J.K. Rowling didn't even write this. Otherwise, I guess it was okay. The plot was pretty good, it would make you want to read the next book. But it's just not like the original Harry Potter. If you find it in a library, read it. But it's just not worth the $30. I got it for a thousand rupees, it wasn't really worth it in the end. I give this book about three stars.
          • mrmeowomg
            mrmeowomgTuesday, October 17, 2017 at 6:20 am55 stars
            It sounds sooooooo cool! I cannot wait to read it!
            • mrmeowomg
              mrmeowomgThursday, October 12, 2017 at 5:15 am55 stars
              This sounds so awesome! cant wait to read it.
              • Captain WafflezWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 6:14 am
                I love this book and it is quality. J.K Rowling is an amazing author, I read all of the books and I'm in 5th grade. I expected this book to be amazing, and I knew my favorite author wouldn't let me down. This book is lit. CALL THE FIRE DEPARTMENT, DIS BOOK IS ON FIRE. <3 5 STARS AUTOMATIC FIVE STARS. Welp, time to visit my therapist.
                • cat_master22
                  cat_master22Thursday, October 5, 2017 at 12:11 pm11 star
                  This book was a pretty big disappointment. I waited a year to read it, and i didn't enjoy it. I thought it would be AMAZING... but it wasn't that good. The first 7 books were better and this is my least favorite one in the series.
                  • girlpower4ever
                    girlpower4everMonday, October 2, 2017 at 5:34 pm55 stars
                    I love Harry Potter and the Cursed Child!! The acting script format is so cool, and I think all the drama, magic, and hardship in this book helps with the whole theme a lot. I highly recommend this book, and if you've read any other Harry Potter books, you should totally read this one with Harry Potter being the dad!
                    • kittylover8786
                      kittylover8786Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 1:33 pm55 stars
                      I loved it once I finished reading 7 and it had that super cool and they dropped the, "There is going to be another book," bomb I was like Sqeeeeeeeeeee and it was a really good book and I would so recommend it.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      parkorcheeta

                      i love this book it is vary hear...
                      Counting by 7s

                      parkorcheeta

                      this book is the best book i hav...
                      Wonder

                      readingtwinsies

                      This book is about a girl whose ...
                      Wish

                      barisaxisbeast

                      I think the is very sad but some...
                      Among the Hidden (Shadow Childre...