Goodbye Stranger (Boston Globe-Horn Book Honors (Awards))

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z3.953669
This brilliant, New York Times bestselling novel from the author of the Newbery Medal winner When You Reach Me explores multiple perspectives on the bonds and limits of friendship.

Long ago, best friends Bridge, Emily, and Tab made a pact: no fighting. But it’s the start of seventh grade, and everything is changing. Emily’s new curves are attracting attention, and Tab is suddenly a member of the Human Rights Club. And then there’s Bridge. She’s started wearing cat ears and is the only one who’s still tempted to draw funny cartoons on her homework.

It’s also the beginning of seventh grade for Sherm Russo. He wonders: what does it mean to fall for a girl—as a friend?

By the time Valentine’s Day approaches, the girls have begun to question the bonds—and the limits—of friendship. Can they grow up without growing apart?

“Sensitively explores togetherness, aloneness, betrayal and love.” —The New York Times

A Boston Globe–Horn Book Honor Book for Fiction
Named a Best Book of the Year by The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, NPR, and more!

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on August 4, 2015 by Wendy Lamb Books
ISBN-10: 0385743173
ISBN-13: 9780385743174
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Bookexplorer Saturday, June 27, 2020 at 1:50 pm
    I liked the book Goodbye Stranger. It is was little hard to understand at the beginning, but I caught on pretty well. One thing that makes this story unique and awesome is that it is told from different characters’ points of view. I had heard that this book is a good intro to middle school, and I think they are right. It introduces you to high school as well. This book is not really adventurous, but it is definitely very sweet, interesting, and amazing. I recommend you read this book, it’s worth it!
    • roxanne3
      roxanne3Monday, May 4, 2020 at 4:16 pm44 stars
      I really like this book too, I already said how much I love Rebecca Stead and this is probably my second favorite of her books. I love the characters, though part of it was kind of confusing for me. I really loved Sherm, I think he is a great guy for Bridge. The whole Emily-Patrick thing was really weird, but I'm sure stuff like that does happen and this book has great advice for how to stop it. Again, I love all of Rebecca Stead's books and recommend them to anyone who loves a short book that makes you think.
      • applemango
        applemangoThursday, June 13, 2019 at 11:29 pm44 stars
        This is a book about Bridge and she is a person that has survived a car crash, perfectly normal. She starts wearing cat ears to her outfit and she likes them. She has to write about What is love? And that it involves music, that's what her mom says. He mom is a cello player. Bridge has best friends Em and Tab. There is this whole drama about Em sending her personal pictures to a boy she likes Patrick and Patrick sends her his personal pictures too. Then somehow that picture spreads on the internet and Em is banned from the talent show and Tab is too because she was trying to pay back to Patrick because she suspects he sent it out and Tab gets in trouble too. Meanwhile Bridge is developing a friendship with Sherm and she befriended him when she joined the tech crew. It is incredibly fun and they are doing a Apollo moon theme for a little show....
        • e06
          e06Sunday, January 6, 2019 at 12:08 am55 stars
          This is such a good book, in fact i actually won this from dogo books freebies! I love how they alternate perspectives. I have heard so much hype about it and didn't realize how good the book is until i finished. Definitely a must read!!!!
          • purple_bookworm
            purple_bookwormThursday, June 22, 2017 at 5:47 am55 stars
            This book was amazing! I loved how the characters' relationships developed and I liked how they resolved their conflicts.
            • ryleyWednesday, May 24, 2017 at 10:09 am
              five stars i just read it so cool
              • coderme7330
                coderme7330Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 7:28 am
                five stars, at least for the sample
                • JCWednesday, May 10, 2017 at 7:03 am
                  Omg this is like the best book ever. Ful of action and suspense. A healthy blend of friendship and love. A must read for every one
                  • demosthenes
                    demosthenesThursday, April 6, 2017 at 8:56 pm55 stars
                    AND! Que Rebecca Stead with another perfect novel about friendship and connection! This books was surprisingly pleasant to just fall into the complex drama of Goodbye Stranger and get wrapped into it's entertainment. Every time a character went through a high or a low, the reader wants to clap or mourn for them! Rebecca Stead's style is so captivating as if every sentence is supposed to be a mystery! I recommend this book to every brave reader!
                    • Glittersnow98Friday, February 17, 2017 at 7:45 am
                      I only got to read the prolouge and Chapter 1 bt it was still so good i'd give it five stars.