Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 5n/a4.3127678

The first in New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant's breathtaking dystopian, sci-fi saga, Gone is a page-turning thriller that invokes the classic The Lord of the Flies along with the horror of Stephen King.

In the blink of an eye, everyone disappears. Gone. Except for the young.

There are teens, but not one single adult. Just as suddenly, there are no phones, no internet, no television. No way to get help. And no way to figure out what's happened.

Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents—unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers—that grow stronger by the day. It's a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen, a fight is shaping up. Townies against rich kids. Bullies against the weak. Powerful against powerless. And time is running out: On your birthday, you disappear just like everyone else...

Michael Grant's Gone as been praised for its compelling storytelling, multidimensional characters, and multiple points of view.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Hardcover, 576 pages
Published on June 24, 2008 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0061448761
ISBN-13: 9780061448768
41 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • fantasyreader65
    fantasyreader65Tuesday, December 1, 2020 at 4:51 pm22 stars
    Not as impressed by it as I thought I would be. We had to read this book for school and my group agrees with me. We had discussion questions with it and one of them was : How realistic is the situation in this book? Like duh!!!!! This could never happen. Ever. But for science fiction it is OK. It took my whole group two weeks to read it but that is reading only a couple chapters a day. But on the side note the author does not have good ways with teens in this book. Just sayin. Just so you know I am not shaming the author because he is a fantastic writer but still
    • ajg16
      ajg16Monday, July 22, 2019 at 5:19 pm55 stars
      I found this to be quite good, I read all 558 pages in about 2½ hours because I couldn't put it down! Anyways on to the review — All of a sudden with no warning every human 15 and up disappeared in a *poof* the blink of an eye leaving hundreds of kids of all different ages (14 and under) are suddenly alone... Gone with the phones, internet and T.v. Young teens find themselves choosing leaders, helping the young and helpless, and trying not to be scared themselves. Bullies begin to take over and some of the kids are beginning to find they have powers like Speed, laser hands, teleportation and many others. Join Sam and his friends as they try to figure out how to survive this new dystopia. AMazing book recommend to 13+ Thanks for reading -Ajg16's reviews
      • & EmmaThursday, July 11, 2019 at 1:00 pm
        I loved this book! I think the reading level needs to be higher though on here. I read the books and loved them. They are not for kids on under the age of 12. There is romance in some of the late books. I loved the series just it didn’t have the ending I thought was going to happen. Bottom line I recommend the books to anyone over the age of 12.
        • The ReviewerSaturday, May 18, 2019 at 5:09 am
          This series is my favourite. The first book (Gone)is okay about 10 plus but the second (Hunger)is sad terrifying and has quite a lot of swearing and disgusting violence. I would say it was about 12 plus. And it gets worse from there people are hung and killed. But these books are amazing I'd definitely read them.
          • devilsadvocateWednesday, March 20, 2019 at 9:29 pm
            I liked the book, but the plot was rather dull. It's kind of sexist, and i feel like it's too cliche and not really that creative. The initial idea is cool, and there's a lot of potential, but this book just doesn't really hit the mark.
            • ritlerbx
              ritlerbxTuesday, March 19, 2019 at 12:52 pm55 stars
              Great Book I Love This Series
              • QuinFriday, December 7, 2018 at 5:13 pm
                I loved these books when I read them a few years ago. Now I find out there is another series set in the aftermath! I've got to reread the whole thing now.
                • A book boiSunday, October 28, 2018 at 4:33 pm
                  One of the best books I have ever read. I got hooked on the first line. Definitely read this book.
                  • Polar BearThursday, May 10, 2018 at 9:30 am
                    Really good book, I recommend to all ages.
                    • JohnThursday, January 4, 2018 at 2:40 pm
                      There is what is being called season two ( Monster, Villain which is not ouy and hero which is not out. still reading plague and cant wait to get fear, light and season two. also fear, light and monster are all now on kindle.