Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.067774
'If an Outsider wields the blade, the House of Koronos burns...' Hylas is only a boy but he knows three things: The Gods exist. Magic is real. Somebody wants him dead. Hunted and alone, Hylas is desperate to find his missing sister. His quest takes him across the hostile mountains and treacherous seas of Ancient Greece. His only friend is a girl on the run. His only guide is a wild dolphin. And his murderous enemies are closing in... 'Electrifying' - Independent on Sunday 'The reader's attention is caught from the first line...spellbinding' - Telegraph 'Set to become another children's classic' - Books for Keeps Michelle Paver was born in Malawi in 1960 and moved to England when she was three. After gaining a degree in biochemistry from Oxford, she became a partner in a City law firm, but gave that up to write full-time. To research her stories about animals and the distant past, she has travelled in the Arctic, the Mediterranean and Egypt, swum with dolphins and killer whales, and encountered bears, boars and wolves. She is the author of the internationally bestselling Chronicles of Ancient Darkness, the final book of which won the 2010 Guardian Children's Fiction Prize.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on September 4, 2012 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803738773
ISBN-13: 9780803738775
78 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • natasha_y
    natasha_ySunday, January 24, 2016 at 6:47 am22 stars
    Gods and Warriors is a book packed with action and adventures. It also includes the customs and religions of the different clans. The book tells where the main character Hylas gets separated with his sister and goes on a journey full of danger and mystery to find her back. I really admire the bravery and love of Hylas, because he goes on a journey he knows nothing about to find his beloved sister, Issi, and he would not stop until he finds her, this also shows great love of Issi from Hylas. I recommend this book to Percy Jackson lovers and people who like books with action and adventure.
    • Awesome is meMonday, March 23, 2015 at 4:12 pm
      I loved this book sooooooo much. It was confusing at first but then it got way better!!!!!! I rate it ***** stars
      • happypug12
        happypug12Saturday, January 17, 2015 at 1:58 pm44 stars
        From the first moment I read this, I was hooked. Although this book isn't for the faint of heart or squeamish, I still really enjoyed it and journeyed on to the 2nd book.
        • kyle tsangFriday, November 30, 2012 at 8:40 pm
          Is this book about the god
          • maddyrocks13
            maddyrocks13Tuesday, November 27, 2012 at 7:32 pm44 stars
            This book is a little confusing in the beginning but it all straightens out and creates a masterpiece of a story.
            • JulesMonday, October 8, 2012 at 7:31 pm
              Gods and Warriors was a very intriguing, quick paced book. It had refrences to customs and religions of the clans that were hard to get at first, but then the book explained it. With action and suspense, I think that it was an extremely good read.
              • DanWednesday, September 26, 2012 at 7:09 am
                It Rools dude
                • edsheeran13Tuesday, September 25, 2012 at 6:20 pmFeatured
                  I really enjoyed reading Gods and Warriors because it's action-packed twists and breath-taking cliffhangers keep you on the edge of your seat. This book is about a young Outsiders named Hylas who when surprised by the Crows, fierce warriors who armor is as black as their soul, is separated from his younger sister Issi and sets off on a journey full of mystery and danger to get her back. I highly recomend this book for action fans and historians alike, along with lovers of Percy Jackson. Beautiful language, vivid imagery and a stunning setting equal an amazing book all in all.
                  • cahill74
                    cahill74Monday, September 24, 2012 at 6:49 pm
                    i loved the percy jackson series! i hope i win, and will love this too!
                    • aharcrow
                      aharcrowSunday, September 23, 2012 at 6:16 pm
                      I think it is a great book read it!!!