Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.65487
Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahía de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahía de la Luna. Maya is determined to meet one, but Cat wants nothing to do with them. As the time of year when ghosts reunite with their loved ones approaches, Cat must figure out how to put aside her fears for her sister's sake -- and her own.

Raina Telgemeier has masterfully created a moving and insightful story about the power of family and friendship, and how it gives us the courage to do what we never thought possible.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540615
ISBN-13: 9780545540612
390 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • amisha640
    amisha640Tuesday, January 14, 2020 at 9:33 am55 stars
    this book is really good it ids an adventures book about a girl named catrina and her little sister one day they go on a path and meets carlos catrina has feelings for him but dosent show it.hope u like the book .i stopped here bc i dont want to spoil it for anywon
    • emilyyadron
      emilyyadronWednesday, January 8, 2020 at 6:31 am55 stars
      One day a girl and her sister were moving. When they got there they met a boy. They went on an avenger in a ghost toun. when they turned the corner they saw..... I gave this book a five-star rating because it had good dental and it was suspenseful.
      • stellaluna
        stellalunaTuesday, December 17, 2019 at 6:25 pm55 starsFeatured
        I will just tell you this:if you love ghosts, you will love it. This is not a scary book. It is actually about a girl named Katrina with a sister named Maya. Maya is suffering from Cystic Fibrosis, a lung and digestion disease that really has no cure. Maya's parents are very concerned and decide to move up north from the south. Of course, Katrina misses her old life, and thinks this one sucks. Kinda until she meets a boy, that she secretly likes, but shows nothing. Carlos, the boy, also known as ghost tour man, takes them on a tour of Bahia de la Luna, and Katrina is really scared. Maya on the other hand has many questions for them. Kat really has to get over her fears and grow up when Dia de Los Muertos begins (Day of the Dead) or she will be "weird". Can she get over her fears, and figure out where she belongs in the town? I highly recommend this book to all readers.
        • 299
          299Thursday, November 14, 2019 at 5:16 pm55 stars
          I love this book I was amazing I love how it showed some culture about the girl. it is wonderful that the little girl can still have fun.
          • sitra501
            sitra501Wednesday, November 6, 2019 at 4:15 pm55 stars
            OMG LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • setherboss1
              setherboss1Tuesday, October 22, 2019 at 10:27 am
              she has a super crazy life but i don't blame anyone because she was the one who made it that way.....
              • ahinoanime
                ahinoanimeFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:06 am55 stars
                I give this book a 5 star rating, because I do plan on reading all of Raina Telgemeier's graphic novels because of how interesting each graphic novel is. Some of her stories even connect to each other in a way.I really enjoyed reading this book for entertainment.
                • oceandragon
                  oceandragonWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 6:02 pm55 starsFeatured
                  If you love things to do with ghosts and the day of the dead fest+halloween, then you`re in for a treat! It is about a girl named Catrina, or Cat. Her younger sister Maya is suffering a sickness and that made the family move north. Catrina doesn't like that place and misses her friends, yet maya is perfectly fine with it. One day, Catrina and Maya was taking a stroll until Cat lost sight of Maya. She finds a place and meets a boy named Carlos and he is leading a "Ghost tour". Turns out, his family are one of cat's neighbors. Another time, Maya and Carlos left Cat and she didn't know where to go. She looks to find them and then found them in between many "ghosts". Turns out, the ghosts love this type of orange drink. If you share some of you, they can come and talk to you! Cat makes 2 new friends at her new school. For halloween, Cat dresses up as a Day of the dead icon, named Catrina! On the day of the dead, cat will finally notice how incredible the place actually is! Se had loads of fun with Carlos and met a ghost very similar to her grandma. Read the book, you'll love it! I recommend this book to everyone!
                  • marcela24
                    marcela24Wednesday, October 16, 2019 at 3:57 pm55 stars
                    this book is the best book I ever saw and read. it I love it. I recommend it to all my friends. love marcela24
                    • epicMonday, October 14, 2019 at 8:53 am
                      cool book 100%