Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahía de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahía de la Luna. Maya is determined to meet one, but Cat wants nothing to do with them. As the time of year when ghosts reunite with their loved ones approaches, Cat must figure out how to put aside her fears for her sister's sake -- and her own.

Raina Telgemeier has masterfully created a moving and insightful story about the power of family and friendship, and how it gives us the courage to do what we never thought possible.
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540615
ISBN-13: 9780545540612
229 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • danipuppygirl
    danipuppygirlSunday, July 23, 2017 at 3:58 pm44 stars
    My older sister let me use her book. She liked it. When i read it I liked it too. The art work was awesome. This book was about remembering those who have died and help us remember good things.
    • howlergirl
      howlergirlSaturday, July 22, 2017 at 7:17 pm55 stars
      I love Raina Telgemeier and her books, they are just amazing! This book is about a girl named Cat, and her little sister Maya. In this book, they move to California and Cat doesn't like hearing that the town is full of ghosts and that on one special day, the day of the dead, ghosts come and reunite with their loved ones. At the end of the book, Cat and Maya discover that ghosts really do exist!
      • momoko12
        momoko12Wednesday, July 19, 2017 at 10:43 pm55 stars
        I loved this book so much. Raina Telgemeier makes some of the best graphic novels, her work is a big inspiration to me. Ghosts is a graphic novel that deals with a lot of hard topics like making new friends, sickness, death . The are work is beautiful and the story telling is amazing, I also really like how she incorporates The Day of the Dead and Spanish culture.
        • jo13
          jo13Tuesday, July 18, 2017 at 9:17 am22 stars
          Not the best book by Raina Telgemeir, but it was pretty good. Its about this girl who has to move due to her younger sister's breathing problems and she meets ghosts inside of the book. I didn't really like it but the drawings were good! :) I also liked the phone that the girl used inside of it lol cuz I'm such a tech freak.
          • hon99Monday, July 17, 2017 at 5:29 pm
            I love this book
            • kgautam
              kgautamMonday, July 17, 2017 at 1:14 pm44 stars
              Ghosts is a great book! This book shows the true meaning of friendship and family. I would reccomend it to kids who like graphic novels and Raina Telgemeier's books
              • wiseowlbookworm
                wiseowlbookwormSunday, July 16, 2017 at 9:16 am55 stars
                This book is about Kat (Katherine) and her sister Maya. Maya has breathing issues, so they have to move. Now in the new town Kat learns that ghosts are for real. This is a true master piece by Raina Telegemeier. This book is great book for all ages.
                • wiseowlbookworm
                  wiseowlbookwormSunday, July 16, 2017 at 9:01 am55 stars
                  This book is about Kat (Katherine) and her sister Maya. They have to move because Kat's sister has breathing issues. The new town they live in believe in ghosts. This is a true master piece by Raina Telegemeier. This book is great book for all ages.
                  • thekid1
                    thekid1Friday, July 14, 2017 at 10:23 am
                    Uoi're going love the characters Maya, the boy and Maya's older sister. The book is about their new neighbor (the boy) who invites the girls to go on a ghost tour. It's a litle scary (but not too much) there are ghosts in here after all! Raina Telegemeier is one of my favorites and she delivers another knockout here!
                    • yoshanna
                      yoshannaThursday, July 13, 2017 at 12:16 pm
                      I love this book because of all it's illustration and detail. It is also a fun book to read!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Nikki. She ha...
                      Dork Diaries 10: Tales from a No...

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Raina. She kn...
                      Smile

                      Unicorn wrote:

                      Love the storyline but wish it w...
                      Sticks & Stones (Upside-Down Mag...

                      r.w wrote:

                      great book.so awesome
                      Tomorrow, When the War Began (Th...