Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 7Z+5.245910
Ray Bradbury's internationally acclaimed novel "Fahrenheit 451"is a masterwork of twentieth-century literature set in a bleak, dystopian future.

Guy Montag is a fireman. In his world, where television rules and literature is on the brink of extinction, firemen start fires rather than put them out. His job is to destroy the most illegal of commodities, the printed book, along with the houses in which they are hidden.

Montag never questions the destruction and ruin his actions produce, returning each day to his bland life and wife, Mildred, who spends all day with her television "family." But then he meets an eccentric young neighbor, Clarisse, who introduces him to a past where people didn't live in fear and to a present where one sees the world through the ideas in books instead of the mindless chatter of television.

When Mildred attempts suicide and Clarisse suddenly disappears, Montag begins to question everything he has ever known. He starts hiding books in his home, and when his pilfering is discovered, the fireman has to run for his life.

Library Binding, 159 pages
Published on January 10, 2012 by Perfection Learning
ISBN-10: 1613832494
ISBN-13: 9781613832493
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nnenna
    nnennaThursday, March 12, 2020 at 6:15 pm44 stars
    I think that this was a great book. It is about a firefighter named Guy Montag; he is forced to burn books as a job. He starts to read books and likes them. He is forced to run because of his boss and finds other people like him who like reading books. He starts a new life with them. I relate to this story; it reminds me of how I may be different but there are people out in the world who are just like me. I give a 4 star because I wish the ending was a little more joyous.
    • elle_0724
      elle_0724Wednesday, February 19, 2020 at 7:24 am
      In my opinion, this book wasn't that interesting. It seemed to drag on and on until it got really boring. It starts with Guy Montag who is a fire fighter. This is the future, so a firefighter is not what you think. Instead of putting out fires, Montag burns book (Because books are illegal.) His wife is very immature and ignorant which makes Montag unhappy. Eventually, one day he gets curious and steals a bible from a house. He hides it under his pillow and reads it. Him and his friend meet up every so often and read books together. Finally Montag's wife's friend reports Montag. From then on Montag is on the run. I would rate this book a 2 star because it dragged on for too long. That is what I thought of Fahrenheit 451.
      • bournethisway
        bournethiswayTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 11:33 am55 starsFeatured
        Fahrenheit 451 was written over 60 years ago by Ray Bradbury which makes it even more impressive how well it has stood the test of time being relatable to the age we're living in today. But basically, the government has enlisted the help of "firefighters" whose job is actually to do just the opposite. Burn all of the books and the homes that house them. Guy Montag, is one such firefighter who meets a very odd peculiar girl named Clarisse. They actually become great friends despite their very distinct lifestyle differences. Clarisse asks very interpersonal, even intimate questions at times which starts causing Guy Montag to ask questions about his own life. As I went on, I was pleasantly surprised. It is one of those books that you could read time and time again and notice something new each and every time. Faber has to be one of my favorite characters. From what I’ve read, he has no ulterior motive and seems fully focused on preserving literature in such a broken world. My image of Faber actually lies in the basis of the kind, very wise grandfather figure many people have in their lives. Someone who has seen it all done it all for you to confide in. I really see this at work assessing Guy Montag’s attachment to Faber. At the moment, Montag is desperately trying to reach Faber with a crippled body that was a result of a standoff with Captain Beatty that actually resulted in his death! Now, Montag on the run makes it to Faber's home is able to throw his scent off in order to escape from the hound, an automaton robot dog that is described with spider legs and a needle housed in its neck that kills upon contact. Montag ends up with a group of homeless folk who protect the memory of literature in their heads. Each one of them has memorized a piece of literature they believed needed to be reserved. What you don't really take note of during all of the action of Montag escaping from the authorities and the dreadful hound is that in the midst of all of this, a war has begun. However, set in the future, we forget that war has a totally different meaning. War meant weapons of mass destruction which therefore means massive collateral damage. In the aftermath of a nuclear attack that leveled the city, Bradbury describes the legend of the Phoenix dying and rising from the ashes. Similar to the Phoneix, humanity would rise again from the ashes of destruction again and again and again. All in all, Fahrenheit 451 is a thought provking, moving story that I highly, highly reccomend!
        • celcius233
          celcius233Saturday, May 23, 2015 at 10:42 am55 stars
          Ray Bradbury is the best writer I've ever encountered, and if you haven't read one of his books DO IT NOW! Farenheit 451 subtly examined and picked apart a plethora of ideas without seeming overwhelming, and I always felt emotionally engaged, even with subjects that otherwise might seem dry.
          • ninja062
            ninja062Tuesday, January 27, 2015 at 2:32 pm22 stars
            I didn't really want to read the book. It was assigned to the class by my english teacher. At first I thought it would be boring, but it turned out to be really interesting later.
            • heavenly123
              heavenly123Tuesday, November 18, 2014 at 3:38 pm55 stars
              Montag is boss!!! loved the plot twist
              • cerulian
                cerulianSaturday, September 13, 2014 at 5:52 pm
                This book is so cool. I read it in school with my class. The plot is so interesting and unique.
                • tim0706
                  tim0706Wednesday, September 10, 2014 at 6:43 pm
                  Nice review
                  • kelvin
                    kelvinWednesday, September 10, 2014 at 4:56 pm
                    oooh nice work ikyra_marie
                    • tim0706
                      tim0706Thursday, September 11, 2014 at 4:04 pm
                      Like this comment if bibliophile's review is the best.
                      • ikyra_marie
                        ikyra_marieThursday, September 11, 2014 at 8:36 pm
                        I liked it already :)
                      • tim0706
                        tim0706Wednesday, September 10, 2014 at 6:40 pm
                        Why nice work to ikyra_marie?
                        • tim0706
                          tim0706Thursday, September 11, 2014 at 4:07 pm
                          isn't it to bibliophile
                          • ikyra_marie
                            ikyra_marieThursday, September 11, 2014 at 3:29 pm
                            Lol
                        • turtlenicole
                          turtlenicoleTuesday, September 9, 2014 at 6:40 pm
                          great review, bibliophile!
                          • spinnypeeps
                            spinnypeepsWednesday, September 10, 2014 at 12:50 pm
                            Yeah all of hers are, duh. ( Just teasing. But they really are good though!)
                            • ikyra_marie
                              ikyra_marieWednesday, September 10, 2014 at 3:14 pm
                              Lol so true
                              • bibliophile
                                bibliophileWednesday, September 10, 2014 at 4:10 pm
                                I'm like blushing right now (just kidding), all of your guys reviews are soooooooo awesome... kudos for all of us who writes in Dogobooks/movies/news!!!