Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grade 6n/a5.389881
While on a run one day, Maise gets into a terrible accident. A hot-burning electrical fire consumes her, destroying her face. Where her nose, cheeks, and chin used to be, now there is . . . nothing.

She is lucky enough to qualify for a face transplant. But with someone else's features staring back at her in the mirror, Maise looks -- and feels -- like a stranger. The doctors promised that the transplant was her chance to live a normal life again, but nothing feels normal anymore. Before, she knew who she was -- a regular girl who ran track and got good grades, who loved her boyfriend and her best friend. Now, she can't even recognize herself.

From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes a gripping and gorgeously written tale of identity and love. This is a story of losing yourself, and the long, hard fight to find your way back.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on September 29, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545676010
ISBN-13: 9780545676014
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • SingingstarFriday, June 14, 2019 at 8:33 pm
    Sounds so sad....but I think I want to read it...is that bad.
    • AjSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 10:04 am
      Its sad but i like it
      • aaliyaah
        aaliyaahSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 1:20 am
        I really want to read this book!! It sounds very interesting from some of the reviews. I just dont know where to get it from.....
        • AjFriday, May 24, 2019 at 4:29 pm
          I like it i recommend u guys to read it (:
          • alpha_wolf_lulu
            alpha_wolf_luluFriday, May 17, 2019 at 8:53 am44 stars
            i think it looks interesting to me but, human eyes are better!
            • aly_spoon675
              aly_spoon675Thursday, May 9, 2019 at 7:10 pm
              This looks SO interesting, I'm going to try to read this book ASAP!!!
              • swirlycool
                swirlycoolSunday, April 28, 2019 at 7:43 pm
                This seems like an interesting book! How convenient that the reading level is my grade haha. I might try out this book! Has anyone else read it? If so, how was it?
                • LizaMonday, April 22, 2019 at 11:42 am
                  This seems good I'll try it
                  • 8th graderFriday, April 12, 2019 at 8:37 am
                    faceless is a really good book i like how they put the details of how they put the words when the characters talk
                    • eighth graderThursday, January 17, 2019 at 6:17 pm
                      Faceless is a really good book that keeps you hooked from the moment you pick it up. I recommend you read it if you are okay with reading about medical treatments and details about them. Besides that I highly recommended it for everyone.